Ratings based on 914 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great Location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: reasonable rate
Cons: better shower water pressure would be nice
Location: very close to main attraction of San Diego
Hotel was adequate and clean. Good value for the price. Great location near the main attractions of San Diego. Very easy to get to Seaport Village, Coronado, and Zoo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice middle of the road hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly & helpful staff We had a nice balcony that faced the pool - which they shutdown promptly at 10 PM Show movies in the pool area Great locat
Cons: Valet
Location: We went to Comic-Con and I went to a day spa
Pros: Friendly & helpful staff We had a nice balcony that faced the pool - which they shutdown promptly at 10 PM Show movies in the pool area Great location Easy freeway access Cons: No valet No elevator for the floor we were on
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tucson, az

Good access to the freeways!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: What we liked about it was the accessibility to the freeways.
Cons: ...all the things mentioned above...
Location: Located near a mall (if malls are your thing to do on vacations)...
Double beds were disappointingly too small, needed a better selection of TV channels (where was PBS?!), bathroom needed a ventilation system, and don't take any rooms by the outside entry ways - no noise buffer, got very loud in our room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better this time

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Last time we stayed here we had an issue with our neighbors being loud. We booked this stay on expedia and we're disappointed upon arriving to the,place we had problems we didn't remember the name. I mentioned this upon check in at the front desk and Chariti was very helpful. Gave us a room by the pool for the kids and reassured us that we could change rooms should anything arise,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to The Zoo , Sea World and the Beach

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Service from all staff, poolside room excellent and the location to all activities that San Diego offers were so close! So glad I chose the hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pomona, CA

Needs better customer service

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location and proximity to Sea World and the freeway.
Cons: Refer to the review title
The price was decent, but I don't know if I would return here if I had to do it over again. I called a few days ahead of checking in to see if we could go from 2 double beds to 2 kings. They couldn't, but said they could provide 1 king and 1 roll-away double, which I was ok with. Then, during check-in, they were almost going to charge me extra for the roll-away, even though I had asked if there would be any extra charges for the switch and the rep on the phone told me no. Strike two occurred when we were ready to take our baths. We couldn't, only showers, because the valve to switch from shower to faucet didn't work. Not sure if this was by design or not. Strike three is when we tried to call customer service to ask for a shower cap. No answer. Phone kept ringing. We did find a complimentary cap, so it all worked out. I'm not even going to mention the bug crawling in the bathroom when I went in the middle of the night, because that would be strike 4.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Great area for a hotel.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
the price does not reflect quality that can be found elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Very nice hotel with very helpful & friendly staff

Posted Jul 13, 2014
On the way to San Diego ended up on a toll road with no manned kiosks.Teresa on the front desk went online and help me pay the toll before I got a fine.greatly appreciated also the free hotel shuttles were great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jersey

Less than I expected

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pool is AWESOME. However just about everything else was less than I expected. Room was small and not very clean. Tub had hair in it when we got there and around the toilet was dirty. The staff was very nice(except the old man on the overnights, I think we bothered him by bringing an issue to his attention) The hotel restaurant was way over priced. Though the lounge in the back was ran by a nice guy. Kicker is they put us in a front facing room knowing they were gonna be doing roadwork the entire week. When I brought it up FINALLY after a few days of being woken up every night. I was told "and youre just bringing this up now"... I said you knew before you put me in there they were gonna be working my entire stay and put me there anyway. I kept thinking it wasnt gonna be every night. Ugh To top it it off they tried to make me pay for parking when it was included in my trip... Tried to make me pay for a meal we didnt eat because someone charged my room and tried to charge me for local calls.... All of which were argued away. Seriously the pool was great as was the entire city of san Diego. This hotel though should think more of the people staying there. We went to 3 different hotel restaurants less than a mile away! I think maybe I seen 2 people eat in there restaurant the entire week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Average place for decent price

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Probably needs a fresh re-do, but you can't do much about the old architecture style.
Location: Close to Balboa and downtown San Diego, but only be vehicle.
Hotels can be very expensive in San Diego, so I was not surprised that this was an average hotel for a decent price. It was clean, but definitely older and a little worn. I don't spend much time in my room, though, so no big deal. It was easy to navigate to sights and downtown by car, but would not recommend this hotel (or any others on Hotel Circle) unless you have a vehicle. It is not walking distance to anything.