Ratings based on 1,113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: insulate the walls
Location: Mission Bay, San Diego, golf all close by
Stayed one night. Nice hotel location, great customer service and close to a golf course. The room walls are thin and we could hear our neighbors talking and laughing. Luckily they left the room around midnight so we could get some sleep. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2015
It was wonderful! Great place to stay. Very clean and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Awesome!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Everything !!!!
Cons: Not needed!
Location: Great location and many pleasant Art, music, and get out and enjoy.
The front desk was very pleasant and respectful to all guests that I witnessed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom So Cal

Comfortable hotel with incredibly wonderful staff

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: extremely clean room; very friendly staff. Nice clean and large pool.
Location: 10-15 min drive to downtown San Diego or the zoo or Seaworld.
We spent two nights this past week-end. The room was small and that's the only reason I gave room comfort a 4 not 5. The staff at Handerlay was incredible. Not only did they answer our questions, but carried on friendly conversations about our stay as well. They really seemed to appreciate our business. We were going to the zoo, and I'd forgotten to bring sunblock. When I asked a manager if they sold it there, she said no, but she thought she might have some in her "toolbox" that we could borrrow, and not to worry if it didn't get returned. Sure enough, we were sent off with sun screen, and made sure to return it the following day. We will definitely stay here next time we visit San Diego!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UT

Okay but we had some issues. Hospitality lacking.

Posted Feb 12, 2015
The hotel was okay but not as nice as the pictures led it to be. Our bathtub drained very slowly, and the water pressure left something to be desired. Also the shower head leaked and looked like it had been poorly repaired. My biggest disappointment was the restaurant manager. I am a nursing mother and I travel often and pump breast milk to ensure my baby has something to eat. I've never encountered any problems with this from any other hotel. I asked if the hotel could freeze my milk, the restaurant manager said no. The rest of the staff was very accomidating and assisted me. He didn't understand the importance of such a request. He was polite however. Needless to say, I was unhappy with his resilience to be hospitable. In the end, I believe he had the matter explained to him by other female members of the staff and eventually was accomidating. I would not recommend this hotel for any one with a special request or need.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonds

Best part was the shuttle service to site seeing,

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: We loved Jeff the shuttle driver to site seeing locations, he was great! Pool was very nice, and hot tub.
Cons: Yes, the mattresses need to be replaced, and front facing staff need to be more engaged. Restaurant menu needs to be improved.
Location: The location is great to most site seeing .
Disappointed in the room location, at the end of the parking lot, lots of noise from people coming and going. Booked far enough in advance I was expecting better. There was one night of disturbance where local officials came to quiet the group down. Also disappointed they didn't have airport to hotel accommodations. Only 1 restaurant was open and food was mediocre. Older complex in need of some updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Jan 27, 2015
There was a lot of noise from the hallways and our toilet didn't work. It wasn't the worst stay I've ever had but there are so many hotels in the area that I can't say I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good hotel if you need to stay in Hotel Circle

Posted Jan 17, 2015
I stayed at this hotel to attend a conference in the neighboring Town and Country Resort. The Handlery was an easy walk to the conference center and trolley. Although it is very close to the interstate, the rooms are well insulated from outside noise and are clean. The free wireless was good for the most part although signal was low in the edges of the property and the wireless was slow at times. The hotel bar and restaurant were reasonable options if you do not feel like venturing out into San Diego. I did not use most of the other hotel facilities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2015
everywhere black spots on the floor. sheets were not clean. had to tool my 6 bags from staircase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel 10 mins from Gaslamp

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Stayed at this hotel for nye because it was reasonably priced and only about 10 minutes from downtown. Staff was very friendly, room was small but really all you need. No complaints really would stay here again.