Ratings based on 859 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hungary

Easy to reach the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Polite staff, clean room, good location, easy to find, good restaurants on the beach (try the shrimp, because it's fine). The breakfast is limited, be fast!!! It was a good stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st charles il

Handicap room

Posted Sep 8, 2014
No parking. Good thing it was there on holiday weekend or my rental car would have been ticketed. The handicap room I was put in was out of date and uncomfortable. Hotels needs a extreme overhaul!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

I'm cheap so you are bound to get what you pay for

Posted Aug 25, 2014
A tiny room the first night but a larger room the last two nights and that's all we needed for our stay in San Diego the room was clean and the staff was friendly. Next time we go to San Diego I certainly will stay in a nicer place. Of course that will cost more money. My wife is 1/2 Italian so we stayed in Little Italy so she could eat pasta pasta pasta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Staff friendly. Hotel has good access to restaurants, shopping and freeways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Convenient location to downtown and the airport. Hotel is clean and staff are friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"No frills", good location, parking is problematic

Posted Aug 14, 2014
This hotel is conveniently located just outside of Little Italy. Freewats are close and short distance to Sea World, Zoo, and downtown. Definite "no frills" hotel, with small rooms & bathrooms. although was surprised how nice the towels were. The parking situation is a joke. Very small lot, difficult to get in & out with a truck or SUV. If you don;t get back to the hotel early enough, you get to park on the street & run out to move your car by 8 in the morning! The clerk was nice enough to let me print out some emails on his front desk computer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena CA

Budget hotel good location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The location is good. "Little Italy" is an interesting area. One mile to the "Midway Museum" and 2 miles to "Old Town."
Cons: Rooms could use updated drapes and the window sills should be cleaned more often.
Location: Please refer to above comments
Good location near "Little Italy" with many good restaurants. Hotel is on the corner of two busy streets and is very noisy all night long. A/c was also noisy so we opened the windows. Hotel is on the landing path for the airport and added to the noise although was quite interesting. Room was clean, fresh paint, bathroom clean and good shower head with lots of hot water available. But furniture and drapes very worn. 32 " TV worked well. Our queen bedded room suitable for no more then two people. The continental breakfast very modest and served in the small lobby, some people ate out on the sidewalk. There are only 10 or so parking spaces behind the hotel so if you go out at night there may not be a space available when you return. The desk person said if that happenedhe would help. Fortunately not necessary. This hotel would be okay for young people traveling on a budget. Although the $89.00/rate, I think is too expensive for the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Borrego Springs, CA

Awful!!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Do not know.
I picked this hotel because of its proximity to the airport and that it had "onsite parking". Onsite parking consisted of 20 spaces, all were taken except one handicapped spot. I took it for the brief check in process, using my husband handicap placard. When I asked where the other parking was, the comment was "on the street, wherever you can find". This is downtown San Diego, there was nothing within two blocks. It was already well past 9 pm and I needed to be up and gone by 4 am so I just stayed. When I got to my truck in the morning, there was someone parked in the end of the parking lot blocking everyone from leaving. I needed to go back to the office, wake up the front desk clerk to get the vehicle moved, in a neighborhood that made me nervous!! There was no air conditioning in the office, so I asked the clerk about my room, and she assured me each room had an AC unit, however, it was not turned on. It was well past 9 pm and the room was on the 4th floor. It was hot and musty smelling and it never cooled or quit smelling bad all night!!! Needless to say I did not get very good rest that night. I will never stay there again or recommend this hotel to anyone. It cost $122.00, not worth $20. I am questioning ever using Expedia again. If this is considered a 3 star hotel, the rating system is messed up!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ARIZONA

NICE HISTORIC HOTEL

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: HISTORIC, CLEAN, GREAT BEDS AND FRIENDLY STAFF AND OWNERS. AND QUIET. NO NOISE FROM THE HALLWAY.
Cons: THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO ALLOWING THE OWNERS TO UPGRADE THE WINDOWS AND PROVIDE HANDICAPP ACCESS FROM THE EXISTING ROOMS THAT HAVE DOORS AT GROUND LEVEL.
Location: WONDERFUL LOCAL 3 BLOCKS FROM "LITTLE ITALY". WHICH IS SEVERAL BLOCKS OF WONDERFUL ITALIAN RESTAURANTS, COFFEE SHOPS, SHOPS. ALSO WALK TO THE BEACH.
i believe it is important to include in the listing, this is a HISTORIC HOTEL! yes it is old, but this is what give it character. The owners have done all that the city of San Diego will allow to modernize the hotel. Baring that, the rooms have been updated. Wonderful beds, new and clean carpet, fresh pain, remodeled bathrooms. Clean and comfortable and a homey feel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Nice hotel close to the harbor.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Nice hotel, rooms are quiet. Bed was comfortable. The contintal breakfast needs major improvement.