Ratings based on 1,374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in downtown close to everything

Posted Oct 20, 2014
We stayed 4 days 3 nights and whole experience was good! Only downfall is prices but that came with all of San Diego so to be expected on vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Awesome as always We stay here often & will be back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wi

Nice hotel, but not worth the money.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Ideal location for visiting restaurants/bars at the Gas Lamp.
Stayed for four nights. Rooms were nice, but the layout of the bathroom was odd. Did not like the fact that we were charged a cover to get into the clubs that were located inside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel BUT pool waitresses are TERRIBLE

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Everything, but the pool service
Cons: Management making sure that the pool servers are actually serving & diligently. I don't feel that is a lot to ask when they are hired to do just that.
Go the San Diego all of the time and so much that we have a corporate account with the Hard Rock. Every time I've spent part of my day trying to relax at the pool I end up at one point or another having to go to the bar to get my own drink, order food, etc. I am definitely fine not being served, but the problem is that there is a waitress there that is there specifically as a pool server. Knowing that is someones job of course it's then expected that you'll be served and tip accordingly. I could understand if she was swamped, but when me or any of my travelers are there it's during the week, not busy AT ALL, and you end up watching the server stand at the bar not even looking your direction while your holding your empty cup or don't even have a drink yet. The worst is when you first get there and then she finally comes to take drink orders and ends up helping people that came in after you because she wasn't paying attention. I've honestly never been one to write reviews and never want to come off as a mistreated patron that expects too much. This is just a reoccurring problem that not only I have noticed, but also my travelers (*I am a travel agent and mainly book at the Hard Rock as I know the service & amenities are great! - except the pool service ;) Don't get me wrong….bar service(sitting at the bar) at the pool is and always has been great. Never a complaint regarding the bartenders anywhere on the property. Nobu is fantastic! Great service! 207 club/lounge is the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Enjoyed my stay. Food and drink within the hotel is expensive especially in room - $10 bottles of water and such. Also they don't restock your fridge. Those are the negatives. Positives pool area is posh, hotel is trendy, nightclub is top notch, rooms are modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Adjacent to Gas Lamp District...Bars and dining

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, especially VIP, front desk. This is a VIP/expedia gold member hotel so ask for room update...we were put in a 2Q suite!
Cons: Access to pool and hot tub, we never got to use this facility.
Location: Loved the Fish Market restaurant by the navy ship. Stay away from Searsucker, the doorman was taking money from young men just to get in!
4 stars because the roof top pool was closed on Sunday for a special event ie: $25.00 charge PP for DJ show. No No. Hotel guest should always be allowed to use pool and hot tub. Fee for guests should be waived or no special events-period.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angdles

Cool hotel but...

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Overpriced! Not at all like Hard Rock in Vegas. However, really vlose to Petco
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN. STAFF WAS VERY FREINDLY AND HELPFUL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Great Place to Stay in the Gaslamp District

Posted Sep 23, 2014
We stayed two night to attend Padres/Giants games at Petco Park. Walking distance to Park & to lots of places to eat & drink. Room was clean & comfortable. We had our two small kids with us, not exactly a small kid friendly hotel as the room is modern with lots of sharp edge furniture, but our kids still loved it. A great party hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

I like to be spoiled

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The location is beautiful. Very centralized to restaurants, bars, and the stadium. Walking distance to everything we needed.
Cons: People & pillows.
Location: Everything is nearby and walkable. We went to a Padres game, starbucks a few times, restaurants, and just took a stroll around town. Very nice!
Parking at this location is confusing, so we opted for valet at $40 a night (but you can leave and return as many times as you want - that's a plus) But to my surprise, when we left our vehicle with valet... no one came out to help us with our bags. While checking in we were asked what kind of music we'd like in our rooms. While my colleague was pleased that her selection played when she went into her room... I got the incorrect selection.. and couldnt figure our how to change it... so I shut everything off and enjoyed the silence at the Hard Rock cafe hotel instead. My only other dissapointment was the pillow. Not comfortable at all. :( woke up with a neck pain because of them. :(