Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oceanside CA

Close to beach. Great restaurant and pool

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Nice staff and the poolside movie on Saturday was fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Good hotel! They don't tell you about a $15 a day resort fee on top of $20 a day for parking. Make sure you factor that in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut , Ca

My Experience at the Hilton Carlsbad

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, the laid back atmosphere, no traffic, the seclusion, the non crowded beach, all the fire pits and sitting areas in the relaxing courtyard
Cons: Maybe have some breakfast muffins, pastries or cookies with the lobby coffee in the morning would be a nice touch
Location: It is a perfect location to be close to LEGOLAND and San Diego without having to put up with all the traffic and noise.
This Hotel is absolutely amazing from the staff, valet, room service ,rooms, amazing pool, food and the incredible view of the Pacific Ocean along with the fire pits to sit around and watch the sunset set over the ocean. The place is absolutely the most relaxing hotel I have ever stayed at. I highly recommend it just be ready to spend some bucks. It is worth it though !! The movie at poolside on Saturday was a nice touch also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Carlsbad

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: the restaurant and pool area were wonderful.
Cons: hidden fees at check out
Very nice hotel. The restaurant has great food. Very clean and great atmosphere! The only thing I can complain about is the "hidden fee" - parking and resort fee. This added some extra cost onto the stay that I was not aware of until check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Very Nice and Wonderful Location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The room was nice. It was not fantastic. The view of the ocean was wonderful, but you could not keep your door open at night because of the traffic noise on Highway 101 and safety issues. The room felt cramped for 2 adults and 1 child. Very little drawer space to put clothes. The restaurant had really delicious food, but was quite expensive. Definitely not a hamburger/hot dog menu, high-end food would be my opinion. I loved the location to the beach and ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

right on the beach

Posted Aug 12, 2014
just not close enough to walk to restaurants or shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute gem

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Two days before we booked this hotel and we were very pleased. The staff and facilities were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Nice hotel close to beach with nice views. Hotel staff was super nice and helpful. Hotel restaurant was very good as well. Away from San Diego's local attractions...helpful to get a rental car to partake in those activities. Limited area for hotel shuttle. Overall that area was very nice and quiet close to a quaint beach front community!!! Loved it!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Quality hotel across from the beach.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Overall experience was good.
Cons: Lower price of drinks, better basic breakfast instead of high priced buffet.
Location: Close to many things with a 30-60 min drive. 5 minute walk to each. Many places to walk or bike.
Overall a good experience. Good location across from state beach. Area and hotel very clean, people friendly, room was clean and functional, quiet most of the time except for an occasional run through the hall by an excited kid, but nothing to really detract from our enjoyment. Close to grocery store and Starbucks, so you can get all the essentials to make it through the day. Hotel pool very nice, most days no issues getting a chair, but to be sure, get there early to stake your claim. In house work out room nice, go early morning or mid morning to avoid the rush. Walking in the area is excellent, with paths or sidewalks in most areas. Parking is convenient and close behind the hotel. Close to the Coaster train station for getting into San Diego. Only complaint is the price of drinks, which are high even for a "full service" hotel in my opinion - $8 for a domestic beer, $12 for a basic drink. On the plus side, it kept us from much at all! The crusted chicken dinner, although expensive in my opinion at $24, was most excellent. We don't the ice cream sandwich for dessert, instead head to the state park store a block away for shaved or ice cream, hours 1-6 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, AZ

Best resort in Carlsbad with stunning beach views

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: I liked that the staff went above and BEYOND to make our stay special, and liked the onsite restaurant.
Cons: The pool looked green, and the jacuzzi was a playground for children, so we never got to utilize either amenity.
Location: The beach is literally across the street. If you head north a couple of miles, you will find shopping, food and entertainment.
We decided to try a new hotel each night during a week long stay in San Diego. This hotel was our first night, and we loved it the most. Great ocean views, clean hotel, the staff takes care of you, there are restaurants onsite with great ocean views as well. Our room was very clean and cozy, and updated. And oh my goodness - the bed and bedding were so comfortable. The location is perfect as your across the street from the beach, and it's quaint and quiet....But if you drive north a couple miles, you got shopping and food and more. We will definitely stay at this hotel on our next San Diego trip. The staff really went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy.