Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA.

A little disappointed

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Room was average, maybe needed some more "eye" appeal.
Location: Across the street from the ocean and on the main street through Carlsbad. Only 10 minutes into Carlsbad Village, which was very quaint.
The hotel was fairly new. Looked nice from the exterior. Our room over looked the parking lot. Quite a disappointment when we were across the street from the ocean and it had a court-yard pool! The room was average. We expected more from Hilton. Might stay there again only for the convenience of the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and good location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location: Legoland, Carlsbad and oceanside
Location was great; close to Carlsbad, Oceanside and legoland. Staff was friendly and solved the minor problems we had at the beginning with the room. On Friday evening there was a free film evening for the kids, they loved it. Food was good too! Overall, a very pleasant stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken ac broken door cracked tile in bathroom

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Not good everything in the Hotel room was broken. Staff wasn't very good either. Never coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Hotel was right across from beach.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Main reason for Carlsbad visit was Legoland. Too far of a walk to Legoland but, nice that hotel was right across from the beach. Hotel was nice. Our bed sunk in the middle. No other complaints. My son liked that it had a 24 hr gym located in hotel. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Great hotel near Legoland

Posted Aug 14, 2014
We enjoyed our relaxing stay after action packed days at legoland. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. The pool was warm, the hot tub was hot and everything was very clean. The kids loved the afternoon cookies! It was a short drive to downtown Carlsbad. We had great meals at Las Olas and Blue Ocean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kirkland washington

would never go back

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The food was great
Cons: The air conditioning units needs a better drip hose. Need more towels at the pool.
Location: THe location was good. the village was fun great restaurants lots of shopping.
The staff was friendly. the rooms were clean bed nice the air conditioning drip hose leaked down in our bathroom leaving our bathroom floor with water so bad we had to change rooms. our next room the carpet was very wet and the cleaning people had to try and dry the carpet room smelled really bad. to get to the beach we had to go down a cliff. we will never go back.:(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Family friendly accommodations and service

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Cons: You rent beach towels with a beach bag, you might also rent balls for the grass area.
Location: Our destination was Legoland. The beach was a great one for children and lifeguards are on duty.
As a grandmother with 2 boys, nine and twelve, the Hilton Garden Inn was a great choice. The hotel is not adjacent to a commercial area and without an automobile, we were limited to the hotel when we were not at Legoland or the beach. The food was surprisingly good: a varied choice, very well prepared, adult and kid friendly and nutritious. We only became aware on our last day that the hotel shuttle could have given us a ride to Carlsbad center. The service to and from Legoland was great -- even if you have a car this way you can avoid the parking hassle. The pool area was comfortable and easily accessible. The beach is across the street, but access is a ten minute walk, but well worth the exercise. All the staff were very understanding and interested in my two very active boys. They spent a lot of energy on the grass area and played ping-pong for the first time. We all enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel, and very clean too

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Nothing, it was all wonderful.
Location: The beach and legoland, also a field where you were able to pick stawberries.
My experience at this hotel was very pleasing and it was clean and the staff was very friendly, the only thing I did not like was the shallowness of their pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Great Location right across from the Ocean Beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: See my main comments
Location: LEGOLAND is very close. The outlet malls are walking distance just East of the property. Beaches are all up and down the coast from this location.
My experience was just OK for this recent stay. For the price I was paying I expected a better experience. The staff was not very friendly. They told me check in was at 3:00pm and I arrived at 4:00pm. I was told my room was not ready due to the previous person having a "late" check out. They offered me some water and told me I needed to wait 15 minutes. About 35 minutes later the room was finally available. Once in the room, its a typical hotel room you would find in most places. However, this place was charging much more per night. Granted it is the location they are charging for. The beds were horrible. The hotel staff did not tell us the beds were "adjustable". The first night was not comfortable until I found the selectable dial under the sheets. Even after making the adjustments, the comfort was average at best. During one of the days, we saw the shuttle driver and asked for a ride to a different beach. She told us we had to ask inside first. As I waited in line to ask, the shuttle driver came in and interrupted the clerk we were waiting for to tell them she was going to leave to go pick up another customer. The clerk specifically asked her if she had any other stops or people and she said no. By the time it was my turn to ask for a ride the driver was gone and I now have to wait 25-30 minutes. She knew we wanted a ride that could have easily been done on the way to her next pick up. They just did not get service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from az

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Very pleasant! Friendly and helpful staff. Great ocean view! Will definately come back.