Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Bill from Poulsbo, WA

Charged $10 a day for parking-No Warning

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The facilities were OK. There was a $10 a day parking charge added to the bill, without any notice either before or after. Very poor sneaking that in. I will not go there again, even though we have Hilton Honors Silver membership.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael will

Great beach hotel by Legoland and the Flower Flds

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Our family had a wonderful stay this weekend. There were movies on the lawn Friday and Saturday nights and the location is stunning. We thought it would be very basic based on price but it was fantastic with exceptional service.
2 out of 5
by NP from Seattle, WA

Okay, there are better alternatives

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Okay experience- we( family of 4 with 2 kids stayed here for 5 nights); the room was clean, beds were comfortable. however we think there are better alternatives at this price point. The rating for this hotel is 4.4 - however we did not experience that level of service. I would rate my experience at 2.5 We like the movie screenings on Friday and Saturday evening: kids enjoyed those movies. Location is great- pretty close to the beach and lot of options for food within 5 mile radius. The rest - meets expectations or a notch below expectations. Importantly- few staff members did not meet my expectations- They were not as much helpful as I expected them to be. 1. Did not elaborate the options on food joints or alternate ways to get to the beach(es) with kids b. had to wait for 10+ minutes for help with printing ( 2 page )- problem was a.lack of training/awareness among the staff on how should one release the print jobs( it's a simple thing, but only one person knows the stuff) b. more importantly- indifferent /insensitivity/ignorance/no sense of urgency to provide the service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from New England

Really enjoyed my stay!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Free coffee in the morning and cookies later in the day! The property grounds were well maintained. Having the option of the free shuttle is great.
Cons: Would like the option of a firmer pillow! Little better "gift shop". From the picture on the website I thought the fitness room would be bigger
The location was perfect for me since I didn't want to be right in the middle of the action. I was able to walk the beach everyday (access is not directly across from the hotel so it required a little walking just to get down to it, but wow when you did). Had a partial ocean view but was pretty obstructed by the trees but it was there. I loved the outdoor patio, fireplace and tables- had them to myself a few times. The pool is usually pretty busy with kids. I felt quite comfortable eating by myself in the bar area outside, they even turned the heaters on for me! Every time I passed an employee in the hall or outside, they greeted me so sincerely ~ didn't feel like they were made to but wanted to be friendly. I'm sure at some point they need to renovate the bathtubs but it wasn't really a big deal since they were clean enough. Most mornings you can hear the water from showers in other rooms so a little more soundproofing would help if they do reno. Overall, absolutely loved Carlsbad and this hotel worked out great for me
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and well maintained physical plant.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location, views, and access to the beach (notwithstanding the crossing of a busy street and a steep descent to the beach.
Cons: Staff awareness and location.
Location: We enjoyed the Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch, the restaurants and shopping in Carlsbad, and the beach.
Staff could be more aware and communicative of the things that guest need to know. When a local power outage (replacing a transformer) rendered the elevators unusable, none of the staff I talked to could direct me to the only staircase accessible from outside the hotel.
2 out of 5
by Simone from Los Angeles, CA

Great staff, terrible beds

Posted Apr 7, 2014
4 nights, 2 different rooms, 3 visits from the engineer to fix the mattrasses. Hilton Garden Inns all have the 'revolutionary' mattrasses, adjustable to each guest's preference. Unfortunately the what are they called "blisters" (air pockets) keep popping which means you'll be sleeping in a giant hole. It's really unfortunate because we really liked everything about the hotel: location, rooms, pool and very friendly staff but we will not returning. Our backs are still hurting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enough, close to the beach.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
We checked in at 4:00 and our room was ready. No upgrades were available and we were in the very back of the hotel. We were surprised when we got to our room and discovered we had been given a wheelchair accessible room. (Because there weren't other rooms available I didn't bother calling the front desk.) we had a nice view of the pool, which is small but adequate for the kids. We did enjoy the late afternoon hours by the pool with gracious bar service. Overall it was a quick 1 night stay without much hoopla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tana from Calgary

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at the Garden Inn. The location is a bit deceiving as the beach is across the street but it is down a sandy cliff! You can walk about 500m up the road for a flatter access point or scale the cliffs which we did and it was fun. The rooms were a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Our family of 6 fit nicely in a Deluxe view room with two queen beds and a pull out sofa. The location is fantastic for Legoland and the Outlet mall, but is driving distance from the village centre of Carlsbad. The buffet breakfast was good but limited if you are on a gluten free diet. The omelette station was excellent and we really enjoyed the service provided be Kevin each morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ejf416

Nice place with ocean view. Lovely courtyard/ pool

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Had a nice stay, enjoyed the pool and ocean view, clean and comfortable room as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay by the beach and close to everything!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Great place, clean and close to everything. They have movies playing on the weekends, great for kids!