Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: its just minutes away to restaurants and shopping/mall areas. they also have movie night for kids.
Cons: package deal/promo to offer... there was no breakfast included...
Location: its minutes away to: Carlsbad premium outlet, restaurants, Costco, etc
overall the stay was okay. nice room and ambiance. far from the beach but few minutes away from the restaurants, outlets and other places (LEGOLAND).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom needs fans and slip proof shower floors.
Location: Prefect location if going to Legoland and or the beach !
We had a good experience and would probably stay here again ! The check in desk person, girl, made us feel special and important.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlsbad, san diego

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Everything was nice and beautiful except there's no free breakfast nor free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Nice hotel but no direct beach access

Posted May 20, 2015
The hotel was very nice and we had a beautiful view of the ocean. I called to ask about beach access. I was told their was a walking path worn down by other guests but it would be hard for senior citzens to navigate. There is no such path unless you consider a 30 ft cliff filled with cacti a path. Very disappointing . We did find access about a half mile walk down the running/biking path. I would opt for a stay at Carlsbad village instead. Beautiful beach with easy access and lifeguards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Awesome hotel; excellent care and customer service

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly and accommodating staff, cleanliness, nice size pool
Location: Very close to ocean/beach, 1-3 miles to LEGOLAND, downtown Carlsbad (quaint shops, local eateries), premium outlet shops
My 2 1/2 year old daughter just returned from a vacation at the Hilton Garden Inn in Carlsbad and our stay was simply perfect. Everyone at the front desk was extremely pleasant and accommodating. The hotel was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, the grounds were immaculate and the location is just a quick walk to the ocean/beach. There are so many fun and exciting things to do that were within 1-5 miles of the hotel's location, and the hotel shuttle is readily available to drive you to the destination. My daughter had so much fun that she, literally, did not want to leave. For her first "real" vacation, I consider our stay to be perfect--nothing short of a "10". I am planning a trip back to the same hotel next year, and every year after. Great find and great staff! Would recommend to any family member or friend, without a doubt!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great family getaway!!

Posted May 9, 2015
I've never written a review but we had such a good stay at the hotel. My kids loved the pool and the view of the ocean right across the street. I really enjoyed the proximity to legoland and the outlet mall. Good restaurants near by as well. Negatives were how expensive the breakfast was 14.95 for adults and 9.95 for kids which my kid eats like a bird so we ended up only eating at the buffet twice. Also it's wasnt great access to the beach below, which was kind if a bummer. Besides that great hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima, WA

Close to the beach with highway in between

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Room was basic "ok"....nothing special
Cons: Better information when making reservations on what you can expect...I would have just stayed at the Sheraton Harbor Island for the entire stay.
Location: Not much unless you are driving...they also offer the hotel van for close by travel
When making my reservation I was under the impression the room was "right on the beach"...not having to cross a road/highway. rather noisy road conditions especially when your room is on what they call the "view room" where you look out over a parking lot and road...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2015
we had reserved a room with ocean view but did not get on because there was no rooms available. Also the hotel restaurant was not clean. Breakfast buffet is not recommended. the hairdryer was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The view is Awesome! The hotel was clean, the people and service were Great and it is close to Legoland
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Very nice hotel close to the ocean

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The fireplace outside was great, as was the patio.
Cons: A bigger gym would be nice. I wouldn't claim that rooms have an "ocean view" if the view is so small. It lets the guests down.
Location: Very close to downtown Carlsbad. Easy to get to the beach, too.
My room was a two queen bed setup with an ocean view. The term "ocean view" is very subjective, and I could hardly see the ocean. If you really want an ocean view, ask for a room closest to the ocean. The gym was very tiny. Breakfast was fantastic but overpriced. The grounds were well kept and contained beautiful flowers. Breakfast on the patio is definitely a must-do. Lounging by the fire next to the pool is also a must-do. It's a fantastic hotel for the price.