Ratings based on 1,106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Winchester, MA

Hilton Torrey Pines and Golf School-Perfect

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location to Torrey Pines-next door. Clean and inviting. Good food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Golf and beautiful beaches.
We arrived early, before our half day golf school at Torrey Pines. The reservation desk welcomed us saying our room was ready for early check-in and would we enjoy a better view of the golf course? We enjoyed every moment of our 24 hour stay at the Hilton overlooking Torrey Pines Golf Club. Delicious dinner and friendly staff. We are back to home in Boston now and still talking about our time at the Hilton and Torrey Pines.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Az.

Tired and worn, needs a refurbishment

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Room was just ok. Paint peeling from closet doors, chips out of furniture, fixtures very loose in the bathroom, faucet comes away from wall when turning on. Bad experience in the restaurant first night which meant we never returned. Steak sent back twice as not cooked properly and side dishes were not present as asked. Eventually just had it taken off the bill and I didn't eat as my husband was long finished. Chef was obviously very angry which didn't encourage us to stay. We did talk to the manager who assured us this wasn't the norm but for a $37 6oz steak, I expect it to be cooked properly and not have the chef behave so unprofessionally. Front desk staff were pleasant and sociable and housekeeping were unobtrusive and lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel good location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
It was a great experience to stay there. My family stayed whole day at San Diego and went there totally exhausted. Staff was nice and room was excellent. If I have a chance to visit near San Diego, I will book this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Samira, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review and we are happy your family enjoyed their time with us. See you next time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Needs renovation

Posted Sep 29, 2014
The Hotel needs a renovation. The rooms are spacious. Great location & friendly staff. The pictures look better in the website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2014 by Katie, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing location and that you found the staff friendly and accomodating. I am sorry tp hear that you felt the hotel wasn't quite what you hoped it would be , however we did recetly renovate all our guest rooms last year giving them a fresh and modern look and feel. I do hope we see you again for a future stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

Very good hotel overlooking golf course

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Good facilities and food together with very helpful staff
Location: Location overlooks the Torrey Pines golf course and the adjacent driving range. There are a couple of beaches nearby and San Diego is close
We stayed 4 nights at the end of a trip down the coast and really enjoyed the hotel and the area. We used it to chill out after sightseeing in San Francisco and Yosemite so we were ready to relax and use the tennis and pool facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2014 by Katie, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip down the California coast. I'm happy to know that you enoyed the hotel and surrounding area and that you appreciated the amenities we offer our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Samira, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are happy you found our hotel relaxing and you enjoyed our tennis court and pool. See you next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Very nice hotel in La Jolla with ocean view.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and efficient. The restaurants serve excellent food.
Location: The location is right on the beach and a golf course. It is very close to world-class shopping and find restaurants in the village of La Jolla
Very nice stay I was there on business but felt like I was on vacation I enjoyed a fabulous dinner overlooking the pool watching the sunset.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2014 by Samira, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed the views from our hotel while dining with us. See you next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view even from the least expensive rooms

Posted Sep 26, 2014
I stayed here when traveling for work, and due to the limited trip budget, had to stay in one of the least expensive rooms available. It was pretty out of the way (a long walk to the pool and golf course), but still had a lovely view of the course and ocean from a very cozy balcony. And it was quite spacious. I travel quite a bit for work, and this was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in. My only two complaints were 1) no bathtub, only a shower, and 2) the entire building had a faint musty smell, probably due to its age and close proximity to the beach. This didn't really bother me much, but had my hubby been with me, as he often is, I know it would have been pretty unbearable to him (he is more sensitive to smells and allergens).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2014 by Samira, Hotel Management
Thank you taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed the views from our guest rooms. We look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful Resort, ok rooms

Posted Sep 22, 2014
The hotel was gorgeous and nice location next to the beach. Had a mini balcony to enjoy a drink on. Room door did not close unless pushed hard. Barely and lighting or electrical outlets. Only worth the deal because of wedding we were going to and views. Otherwise, I would not stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2014 by Samira, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback and we will be sharing your review with our staff in efforts to improve the guest experience. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean in a nice area! Parking is secure but pricy

Posted Sep 17, 2014
A very clean room and hotel with a pretty nice facility. It's a pretty upscale hotel with an average pool/hot tub. Fitness center is small with limited weights and machines. Room was clean and quaint. Location is pretty nice. Golf course right on the hotel. There's a beach 5 minutes south that you can drive to. Parking will run you $15. Otherwise walk the trails behind the hotel for about 40 minutes and you're right on the beach. Required parking at the hotel is the only pitfall. $25 a night. or $5 an hour... it is secure but still on the stiff side. Otherwise very pleased with the staff and the visit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2014 by Samira, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location desirable. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

Great find

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Quiet location. Very friendly. Used handicapped parking which was extremely convenient.
Cons: Include Wi Fi in the room rate.
Location: Good location. We used it as a base to go up and down the coastline.
Enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Hilton Torrey Pines. Very nice room, comfortable bed and the best hotel TV we have ever seen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by Samira, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are happy to hear you found our renovated guest rooms comfortable. See you next time!