Ratings based on 4,268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stranded

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Battery on our door lock died and we were left dripping wet while security struggled to get us into our room. Waited in line to speak with hotel staff about the incident and they comped our parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Everything was excellent except the fee they had for itineraries that I was not aware of
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again next time your travels bring you to San Diego!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gig Harbor, WA

Nice hotel, customer service okay

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Nice condition; good location; short trip to the airport by taxi- 15-20 minutes.
Cons: Customer service in reservations (on the phone-much better in person); number of personnel in restaurant downstairs.
Location: Gas lamp district was cool-but they close down pretty early during the week. Lots of homeless, but they didn't give us any trouble.
The hotel is fairly new from what I understand. It was well kept and in good condition-however my bathroom wasn't the cleanest. Someone had trimmed their hair over the water glass tray and it had not been cleaned up by housekeeping....stayed there until the 3rd day of my stay. The pool is great-very large, clean, and plenty of chaise lounges and towels-lots of kids and families. The wait staff came around often for drink and food orders. The service in the restaurant was consistently slow for lunch. We were a conference of 1,300 people and it was like they were always way understaffed. Also had to go round and round with the reservations person on the phone to fix my reservation they messed up in the first place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We're sorry we didn't provide the high quality of customer service you deserve. I know that the cleanliness of your guest bathroom was a concern as well, and I am taking your comments to the appropriate members of our housekeeping team. I sincerely apologize and assure you that your business is of great importance to us. We will work harder in the future to ensure the comfort and satisfaction for our guests. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the downtown area

Posted Jun 25, 2015
This was a wonderful hotel. It was in walking distance to the downtown area. I would recommend spending the extra money for the view of the bay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I like it because only for close to water ,thats all I can say
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We hope you will visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in San Diego

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Without a doubt the best hotel in san diego. Breaks the mold of boring, old, and unoriginal. Gorgeous grounds, amazing pool, and a great place to bring dates. Totally undiscovered by the locals in San Diego. Hope the hotel starts promoting the lounges and pool area for friday and saturday nights. They could make a killing to the more sophisticated crowd out there who is tired of the Gaslamp.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the pool area and The Pool Club. We appreciate your feedback and we can't wait for your next visit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the pool area and The Pool Club. We appreciate your feedback and we can't wait for your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Views

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: The views from our room
Location: Very well situated close to a lot of good restaurants & the bay area
The hotel was very nice with a great view and lots of things to do within walking distance............
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the views and our proximity to great San Diego attractions! We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Beautiful facility and location.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The waterfront and proximity to the gas lamp quarter were wonderful. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center and does seem to cater to large meetings. We were surrounded by lots of orthopedic surgeons being sold on new prosthetic shoulders. The rooms felt fresh and very comfortable. Criticism: they charge for WIFI. It's only free if you booked through Hilton Honors
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our proximity to the Gaslamp District and the Convention Center. We are also glad the rooms felt fresh and comfortable. We do offer free wifi in the Main Lobby, Vela Restaurant, Odysea Lounge, The Pool Club & Pool Deck, Starbucks, Sweet Things Frozen Yogurt, and Fox Sports Grill. HHonors Diamond or Golf VIPs receive complimentary guestroom Iinternet. Also, AT&T U-verse customers receive complimentary guestroom internet. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Close to all the San Diego action

Posted Jun 20, 2015
It's in a gray location and has great views of both the bay and city. It has a great pool and is a nice resort style hotel. Only negative is small rooms with no fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool overlooking the bay! Hopefully you were able to relax and enjoy some food & drinks from The Pool Club! We appreciate your feedback and we hope that you will visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Hotel with views of San Diego Harbor

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Location. Restaurants. Pool area.
Cons: I would stop piping in muzak. We sat on an outdoor balcony to enjoy the view of the water--but the incessant noise over the speakers made us leave.
Location: Gas Light District (restaurants, bars, music) as well as the San Diego Padres Baseball stadium.
We attended a large wedding at the hotel and stayed overnight. Food, view, service were all exceptional. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope you will visit us again soon!