Ratings based on 3,869 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience overall.

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Hotel and location are beautiful. Great design and feel. Loved the facilities in general. Fox Sports Bar was great. Front desk folks were snotty. Breakfast at Vela waaaay overpriced for soggy fruit and raw sweet rolls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The hotel is nice, but I had some weird experiences there. The bathroom smelled like there was a problem with the sewage pipes. It got better after the first day, but never went completely away. Also, the air conditioning would shake and wake me up in the middle of the night. I thought this was strange for a fairly new hotel. Lastly, I had to check out in the morning to go to work, but I wasn't leaving the area until about 7:30 p.m. I wanted to come back and use the gym and shower. Most hotels are more than happy to accommodate such a request, but not this hotel. They were going to charge me $10 to use the parking again and $10 more for the gym/shower. No thank you. I've never had a hotel do that before - not cool since I was already paying $30-something a day for parking. That policy needs to be changed. However, the hotel is very nice on the inside and has a lovely pool and pool bar area. The staff in the bar in restaurant were friendly, attentive and overall awesome. Anthony, one of the managers, was especially great. Would I stay in this hotel again? Probably not unless I couldn't get a room at the Hyatt or Marriott on the same stretch. I would come back to the restaurant/bar though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Excellent location next to Convention Center

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Location and amenities
Location: Close to everything San Diego has to offer
Short stay, wish I could have stayed longer but in a short time I was able to see the waterfront, convention center and the Gaslamp District all within walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom f

Great getaway

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Hotel staff very nice especially Markus who went above and beyond. We heard the following day he won employee of the year last year.. It's clear why.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel at a great location

Posted Feb 24, 2015
A great hotel at a great location, would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2015
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Great stay for the holiday weekend! Thank you for a wonderful experience- we will definitely return! The staff, service and restaurants are superb! This hotel will be recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place to take the family!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Plenty for the kids to do. Pool was great. Bike, swim, walk, rest, plenty of great picture spots and close to everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rockwall, TX

Just skip This Altogether!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The View and the lotion and location.
Cons: Every single thing in this hotel needs an upgrade and overhaul!
Location: Great Location!
Write this down!!!! Don't waste your money, this is a very bare bones Hilton Hotel, the pictures are somewhat deceiving, find your way to another hotel. This is a very common, common convention center type hotel; which I don't customarily book or have high expectations from and they met all of my low expectations and exceeded them. You're better off at a nice Hampton Inn or other like property! Valet Parking is OUTRAGEOUS $47.00.... for what???? and the self parking is also expensive. They charge for everything, wifi, water etc. there are no pluses here on minuses. The rooms weren't particularly clean, the towels at a Motel 6 level the bathrooms dated and bland and very average!!!!! There isn't a good choice of things to do in the hotel; but at least everything is steps away along the pier and Gaslamp district across the street. I paid over $250 per night for this room for 2 nights and I am owed at least $300.00 of it back!!! I didn't waste my time complaining; there are just some places you enter and you know it just won't do any good. If plain doesn't bother you this is your place... it is a three star hotel all day and night!!!! The view is hard to beat though and the toiletries are nice... I like good smelling soap and lotion!!!! Save your money, stay elsewhere and buy your own good smelling soap and lotion. This is a qualified review from someone with exceptional taste. Keep it Moving don't stop!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The location
The hotel is too expensive and they charge for internet too