Ratings based on 1,260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
you can call it resort specially if you stay in the first floor ,you see the beach all the time and there is a big park beside the hotel you can rent a bicycle and have a great time also there is jet sky and boat you can rent or just walk around the beautiful park
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA

Bathrooms in need of updating and repair

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Convenient location to my daughters home.
Cons: Parking, directions to rooms, bathrooms repaired especially water leak WE ARE IN A DROUGHT, room rates should be lower for this caliber of hotel.
Our room was at the far end of the complex, the signs for it point to a building with another name, you have to go up two flights of stairs and in an unmarked door to find the correct building. Parking fee of $35 PER DAY is too high especially for the distance from the room. Room service food really expensive as expected and but pretty good. Bed and pillows were terribly uncomfortable. The bathroom tub faucet leaked all night and after my shower in the morning it leaked even more. Overall will not stay here again, I can do a lot better for one $300 night, Expedia had this listed as a 4 star hotel it should be a 3 star at the most.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Plenty of Amenities

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff, cleanliness
Cons: Bathroom needs a little updating and maintenance. It would be nice to have some bathrobes.
Location: Perfect location if you are a water sports enthusiast. There are paddleboards, sailboats, waverunners. And the rental rates are reasonable.
Our room was not ready at check-in, and we got upgraded to a suite. The staff were very friendly, and patiently answered all our questions. We had a nice spacious room with a view of the bay. Housekeeping was very friendly and asked if we need anything else. I like the convenience of having the water sport activities right across from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great getaway

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: View, location
Cons: The air-conditioning was not working and although we had a nice breeze during the day while your on the boardwalk you don't want door open at night.
Location: Great walking, biking, skating path along bay and hotel offers water equipment like boats, paddle boards, etc.
Was a last minute getaway and couldn't have been better. Although this hotel is kid friendly, we went as a getaway without kids. We got a room with a king bed on the boardwalk with a great view and cool breeze. The bar and restaurant were great and staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Great quite location but this comes at a disadvantage since there are no nearby restaurants (except the hotel's of course which is not cheap). Rooms are good and what you expect from a resort. My experience was almost perfect until on the last night when the hotel was transformed into a "night club" with loud music coming out of the pool area. I complained but the hotel staff acted as if I had no choice (take it or leave it attitude). For that reason, I now hesitate to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Relaxing Hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Cons: Earlier check in, 4pm is way to late if arrive at 7am after flying 14hrs. Also cheaper parking!! Internet was too slow especially as u pay resort fee
Nice place to chill out for the weekend. Pool area was nice but do go early as chairs go quick. Cabana rental is expensive. Friday night was a free s'mores night on the beach, was fun, Saturday night was movie night by the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by tsheffler@missionbayhilton.com, Hotel Management
Dear JC, Thank you for being our guest at the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our fun activities and resort amenities during your visit! While we do try to accommodate early check-in times when we can, unfortunately this is not always possible. We're sorry to hear you had trouble with your internet connection: not knowing of your particular stay I can't be sure of what the problem may have been, but I hope we were alerted to your troubles so that we were able to offer you some solutions while you were with us. Out of the many fantastic hotel's in San Diego to choose from, thank you for spending your time with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future! All the best, DON DENNIS Managing Director
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Overall...average

Posted Mar 26, 2015
The hotel itself is alright. The photos online show quite nicely but in person, it is much more dated. It's also completely removed from so much of what Mission Bay has to offer. You feel quite isolated from anything but the hotel. Our check-in was great- nice staff. Though it does have extremely high parking fees, despite being away from any areas that might make parking a challenge. Our room was not very clean. There was a used tissue tucked at the side of one bed, the room had an "old smell and was quite dark. Bathroom was also not very clean. The pool area was great but the poolside server was pretty awful. She had to come back twice to ask what we had ordered and even still managed to get one drink completely wrong and forget a child's lemonade. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful, though a little high priced. Overall, I'd say it's a far cry from truly being a 4-star hotel. It's a solid 3, but that's as far as I'd go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by tsheffler@missionbayhilton.com, Hotel Management
Dear Erin, Thank you for being our guest at the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we’re glad to hear you enjoyed the resort pool and our front desk team left you with pleasant memories, we’re sad your guest room and service at the pool fell short of our normally high standards and quality of service. Though we are just a few minutes by car from all the major attractions such as Old Town San Diego, Sea World, and Fashion Valley we are just far enough away to offer that true oasis like resort feel. We hope you will reconsider a return visit and give us the opportunity to Make It Right and share with you all the wonderful amenities and offerings to be had in and around the resort. Kindly, DON DENNIS Managing Director
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom y

Horrible

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Bad, horrible staff, not much help from front desk. Bad rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Die Klimaanlage in diesem Hotel ist extrem laut. Das Hotelpersonal kümmert sich auch nur um die Kunden die anscheinend etwas mehr Trinkgeld geben.auch der Preis für einen Parkplatz in diesem Hotel ist etwas hoch.daher kann ich dieses Hotel nicht wirklich empfehlen. Wer Ruhe haben will der muss ein anderes Hotel wählen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to attractions

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Spent three nights at the resort. Hotel rooms feel a bit tired. Restaurant was the best asset. Excellent service and food choices. Menu was top notch with excellent views of the bay. Loved the fire pits. Would highly recommend when visiting the SD area. Think the $35 charge for car parking is excessive and should be included in rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by don dennis, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa for your recent visit to San Diego. We appreciate your positive comments and constructive feedback regarding our property. We’re pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine, service, and ambiance at Acqua and we’ll will be sure to pass along your praises. We hope for a return visit should your travels bring you back to San Diego. All the best, DON DENNIS Managing Directo