Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected more

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Concierge staff.
Cons: Providing someplace quiet. Even a few chairs on the beach would help.
Location: Sea World is a short drive away.
Hilton. On the beach. San Diego. Sounds like a sure-thing, right? At check-in, I noticed a certainly coldness from the fellow who checked me in. I did express some surprise at the parking fee, and I think that may have irritated him. I hasten to add that I wasn't rude about it, but did express surprise. My room was dark, narrow and cave-like (although the bed was comfortable, I must admit). I was hoping for quiet time to think, and I could find no place to enjoy the quiet sound of the surf. Music was loudly piped-in everywhere. I found it somewhat maddening that I could enjoy a peaceful afternoon by the pool or the beach. I also, didn't realize when I booked, that the place is so isolated from...well, just about everything else! I felt like a prisoner in the place. I found the concierge staff wonderful! I was very impressed. Although I didn't enjoy my stay, the place would probably be a better experience for a family with small children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Hilton Resort and Spa, Mission Bay, San Diego

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The pool and staff
Cons: Rooms should be upgraded with soaker tubs, paint, wallpaper, tile.
Location: This resort is on Mission Bay Drive in San Diego. Sea World is the main attraction close by.
This hotel and spa is close to the ocean and Sea World. We paid extra for a room that is close to the beach area and inlet water. The room was OK but not great. Although the room is clean and comfortable for the money we paid it should have had things like a soaker tub and updated tile, wallpaper, and paint. The pool area is nice with a very attentive staff to bring food and drinks and we spent a great deal of time here. I recommend renting a car to travel to offsite restaurants because the bar and restaurant on premise was a bit expensive. Overall, we would stay here again but just get a standard room and rental car. The staff overall was courteous and we were pleased.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place but all the extra fees are terrible!!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Everything was great but the fees they get you with 22 a day for wifi and another 35 just for parking is ridiculous!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Soundproof rooms, great sleep even though there wa

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Wonderful place, great pool and services. Would go there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ.

Out dated and over priced.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Only thing was the front counter person that checked us in.... Nicolette
Cons: Total remodel or lower the price to match what you receive.
Location: The location is fine with a lot of options near by.
First of all they charge $35 a day to park, $22 for resort fee (which in 1980 it may have been). Loud music until midnight near poolside and then back on again at 7am!!! Landscapers were out blowing leafs at 6:30 am so I had a total of 6 and a half hours of sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palo alto,ca

Not a resort! horrible price gouging

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Stay clear of this hotel, they will do anything to throw additional fees and services charges without any warning.It has exorbitant parking fees where there is no shortage of parking. You will have to pay for amenities that every other hotel offers a free as part of the resort fee so you pay triple. Truly Out of date.Few staff available and they over work them,I felt sorry for the maid staff 1 women for an entire building it took her 4hrs to get to my rm by then it was late afternoon. Horrible price gouging upon my leaving I felt completely ripped off for what I had experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Room and Nice View

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Had a wonderful time. Great room with a view of the bay. Room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely plan on a return visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average place to stay

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Check-in clerk didn't not provide much information and was difficult to hear as she spoke quite softly. She didn't even tell us the check-out time. The elevator was broken so had to hike up six flights of stairs. There was a private party the night we stayed so we were awakened when the attendees came back to their rooms at 2:00 a.m. were kept awake for awhile. The hotel was at low occupancy so not sure why they put all the guest so close together. A room service tray was left in the hallway almost the entire time we were there so we had to walk past it many times, rather gross. When we checked out the clerk didn't ask anything about our stay experience, just charged my card. On the positive side, the beds were very comfortable and we had a nice view. My overall opinion is that hotel is was over priced for the for the experience. Next time i will spend more to stay elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

just be prepared

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The beach front fire pits are so much fun, if you are going with group that likes to make an evening firepit and listen to some good music, this is it
Location: Close to lots of fun stuff!
Great hotel, great location but when booking on expedia don't forget the $22 dollar a day Resort charge, and the $35.00 a day parking charge. They make up for some of it buy having a really nice happy hour, every day of the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Hotel was beautiful. Close to the beach and within driving distance to the city and attractions.