Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Great Customer Service!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: It was clean, efficient, and helpful.
Cons: The wifi connection could have been better.
Location: There's Legoland, The Outlets, and enjoying the beach and Downtown Carlsbad. One of the best restaurants to go to is Jay's Seafood and Pizza Port.
My two daughters went for a speech and debate tournament in Carlsbad. One is 15, the other 18. Rutu, one of the managers at the Holiday Inn Express was very helpful in preparing for their visit, providing all the information I needed to complete and return. Their stay was comfortable and everything was as it should be. When both girls ran in to a snafu in trying to return home, the manager on duty, Cheyenne, was able to get them a taxi to the Oceanside train station. These are consummate professionals!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom glendora

beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Was very pleasantly surprised with the hotel. most times the reviews don't exactly match the actual experience at hotels. We were very happy with our stay. the hotel was very clean. the people were very nice and helpful. it was very quiet and peaceful at night. the only drawback is having to take a taxi into town if you didn't want to drive. overall we would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Quite A Walk to the Beach, Close to the Freeway

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of staff and cleanliness!! The breakfast was on point as well!
Cons: More seating for the breakfast crowd. We decided to take our breakfast back to our room.
Location: Easy to get on freeway, but not loud.
Everyone at the hotel was so polite and very willing to help with anything! I would just come back and stay because of that. The only thing I could possibly complain about was that it was quite a walk to the beach, especially with two 2year olds. We decided to drive a little bit north and go to the beach from there.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Decent for the price

Posted Nov 28, 2014
The good nice location, staff pleasant to deal with, near legoland. The bad Breakfast was my search criteria since I have a 6 year old who takes time to get up and go. The breakfast here is quite bad. It seems good when you walk in.... but then you start eating and things go downhill. The egg & cheese was rubbrey, and biscuit was like a hockey puck. Whatever you do stay away from the automatic pancake machine. I don't think the hotel staff intentionally made it that bad, but that's how it turned out. I feel the manager of any hotel should try it before serving to customers... for quality control. The ugly morning of checkout the whole floor started smelling of a septic tank leak. Informed front desk who promptly had a guy start spraying febreeze and that helped a little. They do seem to have a plumbing issue because water in the shower did not go down right away and formed small puddles. I realize "stuff" happens and sometimes toilet pipes clog but you need to be proactive in spotting and fixing these issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

beautiful hotel!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Beautifully decorated hotel Lobby and room! Breakfast was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel...we will be back!

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Nice hotel! We love that area and were very happy with our stay there! We will definitely return!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Perris

OK hotel. My room smelled like pee

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Staff was nice and helpful. I just didn't life the fact that when I walked into our room it smelled like someone had recently peed on the carpet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel with very friendly staff

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff Location Quiet Clean
Cons: Add hooks to hang swimsuits and towels in the bathroom
Location: Easy walk to the beach, easy walk to a grocery store
My sister and I stayed at this hotel during a quick beach trip. The hotel itself was nice and clean, the staff was more friendly and helpful than any staff I experienced at other hotels. Location is great if you want to be able to walk to the beach (10-15 min walk). My sister and I both have food allergies so we didn't get to eat the free breakfast, but we did walk through that area and the food looked good. The only issues we encountered were 1) being so close to the beach you would think they would have places in the bathroom to hang towels and swimsuits, but they didn't 2)only one working ice machine and it was in the main lobby 3) only one chair at the desk which meant one of us had to sit on a bed to eat our meals we brought with us. I would recommend this hotel and the price was decent enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas NV

Great hotel, close to beach and downtown Carlsbad.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: My husband loved the free breakfast. I loved the room and the how clean it was.
Great hotel close to everything we needed and wanted to do. Will definitely stay there on our next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Staff was nice, breakfast was awesome, room had a funny stuffy smell.