Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west covina,ca

Clean, comfortable, close to many attractions

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The hotel is clean, bathroom is small, but we only stayed one night for a trip to the zoo. Staff is friendly and there is a nice spread for breakfast, especially on the go. We had our two little ones age 1 and 4 and we were all comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Happy with Holiday Inn

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Very convenient shuttle service, not in a high traffic area but close to everything.
Location: Super convenient to the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the Zoo.
The hotel is conveniently located but near the top of a hill so be prepared for a workout if you do not have a car. It does offer great views though. The hotel was exactly as advertised. It also offers a very convenient shuttle service which includes airport pick-up and drop-off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oregon Coast

Great location & staff!

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location, free shuttle, & great staff.
Cons: They were renovating when we were there - so I think it will be what would be expected from any Holiday Inn Express.
Location: Zoo, Sea World, Gas Lamp District, & Little Italy - we didn't even get to the Sea Port area.
We were there for Zoo & Sea World trip with our grown daughter who is a zoology major. The hotel shuttle is a great asset for getting from/to airport & Zoo. The Zoo is HUGE so we went 3 days. Sea World is only a $30 cab ride - so not bad at all. You can walk to the Gas Lamp District or Little Italy - we did both location and only once took a cab back to the hotel. The hotel itself is older & small. They were doing some upgrading/renovations while we were there. Not fancy - but the staff was VERY nice & helpful during our 4 nights there. We thought it was a good deal for the price & location. We typically stay in an upscale hotel but couldnt get in one for the 4 nights we needed - but we fine with this because of the great staff & location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Room was clean and comfortable. The hotel location was perfect for the downtown night life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Studio City, CA

Walking distance to Gaslamp

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Nice, clean, close to Gaslamp, free shuttle service not bad as long as you don't make them wait for you. Pretty good free breakfast. Parking a little expensive, $16 a day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Walking distance to gaslamp, pier, free breakfast

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: flatscreen tv in room, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, very spacious room and bathroom, decent quality breakfast.
Cons: Elevator could be upgraded. Parking should be included, and central air should be standard in hotels, not window air conditioners.
Location: Walking distance to gaslamp, symphony hall, courthouses, piers, and everything in the downtown area.
Great location, however I would recommend taking a cab back if you plan to be out late at night, area in the downtown can be sketchy. Very comfortable bed, pillows, and the room was immaculately clean upon check in. Air conditioner worked, but it took a long time for it to cool down the room, (it was a very hot day in San Diego). Parking was charged an additional rate each day, but I suppose you could park your car for less in some of the nearby lots, if you would trust leaving your car overnight there! Like I said, the are close to the hotel is not UPSCALE- there is a bail bonds place nearby, and we saw multiple homeless camped out within a block from the hotel, but it is like this in any downtown area of a major city. Elevator was very slow (this is an older building, so it wasn't surprising). Many guests complained about the elevator every time we rode it. I didn't find it to be too annoying, I mean you get what you pay for, and this is not an upscale luxury hotel- it is an economy place to stay!!! Free breakfast included hot items, and a great selection of coffee/juices. This hotel is a great place to sleep, shower, watch tv, and keep your stuff for a couple days when visiting san diego. It is not a luxury resort, and I wasn't expecting it to be. It was where we could find a room in our budget for a one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

San Diego

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable. And I liked Happy Hour.
Cons: I don't know how but the bathroom should be larger.
Location: Easy walking distance to many resturants.
As always we love San Diego. The Holiday Inn was okay. It's location to where we wanted to be was fine. I have two complaints, however. 1. The bathroom was very very small. 2. The parking garage was very hard to get around in. There were a number of times that I had to back up to complete the turn so that I did not hit a wall or a poll.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Cons: air conditioner was very loud
The hotel was very convenient to downtown. We stayed here the last night we were in San Diego to be closer to the airport. My only complaint would be that the air conditioner was very loud and should probably be replaced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Family friendly downtown hotel.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The service and overall attitude of the employees was helpful and friendly. The hotel was located in a wonderful location. Breakfast selection a plus!
Cons: Some more updating in the rooms. Screens on the windows so we can open all the way and feel the cool California breeze, to help save on utilities!
Location: The downtown location was near shopping, fun, nightlife and not far from the water!
The hotel was nice. The downtown location made it convenient to find food and activities. Breakfast in the morning was pleasant. There was a great selection of food and friendly service. Our favorite was the breakfast greeter who provided coloring activities for my son and good travel information about the surrounding area. I would visit this hotel again. Hopefully you have excellent driving skills, the parking garage was interesting!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Close to the zoo
One night stay. The shower was horrible. The water spray was so hard and forceful that water sprayed all over the place. The bathtub drained slowly that you stand in a pool of water as you shower.