Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good for all amenities in San Diego, good price

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: everything!
Very comfortable, easy parking great breakfast, shuttle serve excellent. very friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Claremont, CA

Good downtown hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Happy hour, free drinks and snacks
Cons: All good.
Location: Gaslamp, beaches.
Great hotel experience, was very close by the gaslamp district and yet at the same time not too far from the beaches. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2015
The Free happy hour was great. We had the Best time at a hotel! The staff was great and friendly. I would go back. Good location to gas lamp district.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2015 by evanbenthem@hiexpsandiego.com, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Expedia about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and your time with us. We look forward to hopefully being able to host you again should you return to beautiful San Diego. Keep an eye out for our full-hotel transformation as we upgrade and renovate our property to make it “simply gorgeous!”. Thank you again for choosing us! Best Regards, Erin V Front Office Supervisor
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA.

Not a good choice

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Handicapped bathroom provided safety. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast provided several choices.
Cons: Shuttle service cold be expanded to include more of the waterfront area. Basic supplies should be provided without having to ask.
Location: Close to Balboa Park.
Because of the manner in which this hotel is built, it is difficult to access for check in. We had to ask for basic items, like kleenex, toilet paper, coffee. The staff provided them, but we usually don't have to make such requests because they are automatically replenished. The safe didn't work, which we discovered when we were leaving- it was unlocked all of the time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by Erin V., Hotel Management
Dear Kate, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. On behalf of the Management Team, I’d like to thoroughly apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Specifically, not receiving housekeeping service in your room and difficult accessibility. Your complete satisfaction, comfort and enjoyment during your stay is our primary objective. We apologize again that you did not fully receive the experience that you deserved. Our Management Team is working hard to ensure these issues do not happen in the future for other guests’. We are very excited about our huge hotel transformation as we renovate and upgrade the property this year. We hope you will give us another chance to regain your faith in our hotel when your travels bring you back to beautiful San Diego. Thank you again for choosing us. Best Regards, Erin V. Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienient to downtown

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Enjoyed my stay. Room was facing the air port so I was able to watch planes as they landed. It was a mile away from PETCO park so I walked to a Padres game. About a mile from Balboa park, not far from Glasgamp, the mall or the harbor. Room was clan staff was friendly. Rooms were slighltly dated but nothing too uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Erin V., Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion as it helps us to improve for our future guests. We are very excited about our full-hotel renovation this year. This will include the lobby, guest rooms, exterior building and interior hallways, all windows and balconies. We hope to be able to host you again should you return to beautiful San Diego. Thank you for choosing us! Erin V. Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton, UK

Good location with free shuttle

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Clean and modern rooms, helpful staff and plentiful breakfasts. Free shuttle bus is fantastic
Location: Horton Plaza Mall is walking distance, Balboa Park is amazing along with the San Diego Zoo.
Fab location, we could walk to the mall or to the harbour but also there was a free shuttle bus to Balboa park and the Zoo and the harbour. Breakfast was good, my son loved the pancakes! Staff on reception were friendly and really helpful giving us some batteries for my son's camera just before our zoo visit - top points HI Express
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Erin V., Hotel Management
Dear Leanne, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our property and all that San Diego has to offer—it was our pleasure to be able to host you and your family. We would be happy to have you stay with us again if you should return to San Diego in the future. Thank you for choosing us! Best Regards, Erin V. Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Good shuttle service available. Close to airport, food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Staff

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Staff was super helpful. Don't count on shuttle as it fills up quickly, but public transportation is very easy to figure out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Erin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us while visiting San Diego and look forward to hopefully being able to host you again in the future. Our complimentary Happy Hour is Sunday-Thursday from 5pm-6:30pm for all our guests’ as a little “Thank You” for choosing us. Best Regards, Erin V. Front Desk Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect downtown hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Cons: The only thing that would have made our stay better was a better fruit selection. One day, there were only a couple apples available.
We had a great stay at the hotel. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and the location is perfect walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Erin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope to be able to host you again should you return to beautiful San Diego. Thank you again for choosing us! Erin V. Front Desk Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorsdo Springs

Spring Break 2015 Family Trip

Posted Mar 26, 2015
This hotel is not the newest nor the fanciest, but the rooms were quiet, clean and everyone who worked there went out of their way to make sure our stay was a great experience. From the front desk, to the maid service to the shuttle driver to the maintenance people. Everyone was kind, friendly and very helpful. The daily hot breakfast had everything. The coffee was really great! And they had fresh baked cookies and a free happy hour almost every night of the week. It was easy to get anywhere with public transportation and walking a few blocks. And the hotel's shuttle drivers would drive us to places where we could catch public transportation when it was a bit to far to walk. They also had discount tickets for the local attractions that were a better deal than what we could find on line. We rate them a 4.8 out of 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2015 by Erin, Hotel Management
Dear Colorado family, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com about your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and all it had to offer from the shuttle to breakfast to the staff. We appreciate your feedback and kind words and will continue to work hard and strive for our guests’ ultimate satisfaction. Keep an eye out for a huge hotel transformation as we renovate and upgrade our property to make it “simply gorgeous!” Our complimentary Happy Hour is Sunday-Thursday from 5pm-6:30pm. Thank you again for choosing us! Best Regards, Erin V. Front Desk Supervisor