Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tracy, Ca.

Hotel was in good shape and a perfect location.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Big rooms.
Cons: Curtain to separate the sitting area and sleeping area in the suites.
Location: Perfect for us to visit our grandkids and then take them to the park, zoo, downtown.
Staff was friendly and helpful when needed. Room was clean and beds comfortable. We had a suite and it had two T.V's, one for the kids and one for me! Close to restaurants and grocery store. They have security person at night. We felt safe even when coming back to the hotel late at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom az

Nice hotel not far from the things of San Diego

Posted Jan 6, 2015
We liked it here although it was a bit pricy. Room was big enough for our family of five and we were able to enjoy parts of San Diego within a few minute drive. The bed however and pillows weren't that comfortable. Biggest complaint was there breakfast area was way too small to accommodate that big of a hotel. Good luck finding a place to sit especially if you have a big family. We had to take our food back to the room a couple of mornings which was nice that they let you but it would of been nice to sit at a table. So that was annoying. Breakfast was good if you get there on time...we missed a couple mornings because we like to sleep in and they only serve til 930 on the days we were there. I appreciated our room being cleaned everyday with beds made and new towels. They did a good job. Overall it was a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Free parking ;-). Good price for the area. Close to I-5
Cons: Breakfast could have more options like more hot food.
Location: San Diego downtown, Zoo, it's very convenient close to I-5
Staff are amazing and friendly. Breakfast was ok, it could provide more hot food. Hotel was clean and the area is ok, plenty of parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
The stay was very good and the staff was welcoming. Great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Great experience. Worked well for my wife, our three daughters and myself. We would stay there again and also recommend it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno California

Wish we could have stayed longer

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can not think of anything
Location: did not really have a chance to see
We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express in San Diego to see an ailing family member. The Hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was inviting and we had a very restful night. Loved the coffee pot, Refrigerator and Microwave in the room and the huge selection for complimentary breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Irma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wilfredofrom Miami, Florida

Not satisfied

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff very corteous and helpful. Breakfast was good too. But hotel's corridors were stinking badly. Room also had a very bad and penetrating odor that i beliece came from the old bed sheets. I was so tired that i just falled asleep and did not complain, but will never come back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by hotelstaff, Hotel Management
Wilfredo Thank You so much for leaving us feedback regarding your recent stay. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. I apologize if the hallway corridors and your bed sheets had a smell. This is not a normal issue for us and we have many policies in place to ensure that our rooms are cleaned thoroughly and properly. The smell in the hallway is a new one as our hallway and room carpets have all been replaced just this year. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robertfrom Glendale AZ

Holiday Inn Chula Vista stay

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was friendly and hotel was very quiet. Breakfast was very convenient and well maintained. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandrafrom Oakland

Nice stay

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice stay but had to make sure to tell housekeeping to change the sheets and to vacuum