Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hacienda Heights

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Location: Local Walmart and CVS down the street. Close enough to drive to local attractions.
We stayed here two days, one night. Clean and comfortable for the price! The complimentary breakfast was great too! Would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear C, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National city. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't go wrong

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Excellent hotel...perfect price and very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National city. We are thrilled to hear we are an “excellent hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Loveland, CO

Convenient to downtown attractions in San Diego

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: See above
Convenience, as in the title; safe part of town, near to Wal Mart, and, Laura, Marielle, and Brenda were the BEST front desk workers we have ever encountered; The person taking care of the food preps for breakfast was outstanding; she stayed on top of things, never letting anything that ran out stay that way for any length of time. Excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Harold, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National city. We are thrilled to hear we have “outstanding” staff at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The price is good and everything is fine.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Clean and kind front. Breakfast.
I enjoyed really comfort and feeling good. All people are very kind to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National city. We are thrilled to hear you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to zoo

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: see above
Location: CVS and some shopping nearby. Zoo was just about 15 minutes away.
Needed to stay close to zoo and it needed to be affordable... Got both! staff was very friendly and helpful - room was clean -Breakfast was pretty good too We were very happy with it all..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National city. We are thrilled to hear our “staff was very friendly and helpful”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pomona,ca

Very nice hotel clean close to the fwy

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very good experince hotel very clean beds are very comfortable they have a security rover at night the only way in to the hotel at night is with ur access card felt safe the down side walls a little thin so u can hear ur next door or top floor but all good . close to the fwy 15min from downtown SD and 15 min from the mexican boarder. Small shopping center where many little places to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Javier, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National city. We are thrilled to hear we are a “very nice hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Very clean and friendly hotel. Close to attractions. I would definitely stay here again! Not a lot of restaurant choices around the area though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Shannon, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South San Diego National City. We are thrilled to hear we are a “very clean and friendly hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express South San Diego National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Night's stay

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Overall excellent experience. staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed with my two daughters and when the oldest locked us out of the bathroom, staff was very prompt in coming in to unlock it for us. It doesn't look it from the outside but the lobby, facilities and room were very nice. Definitely the best in National City by far! I will stay here again when I need a room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Marcus, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South San Diego National City. We are thrilled to hear you had an “excellent experience” at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express South San Diego National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fair Oaks Ca

Close to family

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: We were in town visiting a family member who lives in National City so we wanted to be close by.
Cons: We wanted to use the pool and spa but they were both dirty, the spa was full of sand and there was stuff floating on top of the pool.
Location: Besides being close to our family member it was close to down town.
We had a pleasant time in this hotel, we liked the fact it was centrally located so we could walk to places to eat and the food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express South San Diego National City. We are thrilled to hear you “had a pleasant time in this hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South San Diego National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Good value & comfortable

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast, friendly staff and comfy, clean rooms
Cons: The spa pool water could be hotter
A nice hotel with decent facilities. The room and beds were comfortable and clean, the breakfast was pretty good and the staff helpful and friendly. The only issue we had was that the spa pool wasn't really hot enough. The location is a bit out of the way and the local area is not that scenic, but it's close to the trolley line into town and there are some good Mexican eateries nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Louis, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express South San Diego National City. We are thrilled to we are “a nice hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South San Diego National City.