Ratings based on 530 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quiet location a few minutes north of San Diego

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Cons: All excellent: I couldn't improve a thing.
Location: Location is about 15 minutes north of San Diego in an ideal area near the junction of the I-5 and 805, so you can get to all points south in San Diego
This hotel is in a quiet N. San Diego County location right near the junction of the I-5 and 805, but totally accessible to all points in San Diego by a 15-minute or so drive: ideal. It is very quiet, preferable to staying in noisy, crowded, and cramped metro San Diego. The staff is attentive and the management is "on it" if something needs to be addressed. The room cleaning staff is unbelievably excellent in their service, and I want to single out Yadira, the kitchen chef who prepared very attentively the meals M-Thurs for breakfast and dinner. A+!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice area if you want quiet

Posted Jun 23, 2015
The staff was very friendly and were always willing to give us directions and recommendations on where to check out. The evening dinner on Monday thru Thursday was nice but there is only one main option. I would have liked to see the breakfast area a bit cleaner. The containers that the food or condiments were in were not always clean. Also, the washing machines in the laundry room did a poor job of actually cleaning the clothes, it mainly just made them smell clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

Nice hotel, near UCSD

Posted Jun 14, 2015
The room was spacious and close to UCSD. The street route to the hotel was a bit confusing, but we made it. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redmond, WA

Comfortable stay with some issues

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: (1) location is 25-30 mins far from popular San Diego attractions (2) the staff is really welcoming, (3) we had kids and the housekeeping are great at
Cons: (1) the room we stayed at does not have phone connection at all, (2) the wireless internet is weak, (3) all the drawers in the rooms doesn't work well
Location: San Diego Zoo, Safari, SeaWorld, La Jolla Cove, Lagoland, Belmont Park
This hotel has has many advantages and also some issues: (1) location is 25-30 mins far from popular San Diego attractions (2) the staff is really welcoming, (3) we had kids and the housekeeping are great at cleaning (4) the dinner is awesome, especially the grill day. On the other side here are issues we noticed (1) the room we stayed at does not have phone connection at all, (2) the wireless internet is weak, (3) all the drawers in the rooms doesn't work well (4) the breakfast is really minimum you can expect (5) the breakfast does not have variety of vegetarian options. Overall our stay was fine but it was not exceptional, we stayed at other 3 star hotels that didn't have these issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted May 28, 2015
Easy access, close to the highways, very clean , big room, breakfast and dinner delicious..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Valencia, CA

weekend in San Diego

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: location and customer service and the sleep was good.
Cons: not to use too much cleaning solution on the furniture and make the carpet smell a little more fresh.
Location: OMG, first time in San Diego. We did the walk first and it rained on us. didn't care, we went to the zoo,Balboa Park and museum. Wonderful Day!
Overall, we were there to attend the annual Angelman Syndrome Foundation walk, held in San Diego this year. It was conveniently located at the park right down the street. Our room was upgraded from a King to two Queens to accommodate two children that came with us. The only problem was that the room smelled like furniture oil, which was a very strong smell and somewhat overcoming. That did not stop us from staying. Everything else was great! The staff were 200% in customer service, the food was good and the staff cleaning the food area were courteous as well. Really enjoyed the time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

make sure to call and verify details of room.

Posted May 8, 2015
We booked a smoking room thru the website and when we got there we were notified that we "requested"a smoking room, not booked it. and they had none left. Thanks for telling us not to call and verify reservation! Other than that great people great location. Great breakfast. They were super nice trying to make things right
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upland, CA

San Diego - La Jolla getaway

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: It's a little out of the way from La Jolla but it's quiet and peaceful.
Cons: The AC in our room 212 was loud. I feel like being next to a boat's engine.
Location: It's strategically "isolated" but not that bad since this is California, a couple of miles drive to the nearest restaurants is acceptable.
We were celebrating my wife's birthday with a getaway in La Jolla and found this hotel not that far so I booked it. Check in process was really quick and fun - thanks a lot to Jake who made it more fun with his lively/animated personality. Even my little daughter noticed how positive Jake was. Great Job! He gave us restaurant recommendations and even surprised us with an amazing desert waiting in our room . It's because of people like Jake that would make me consider staying at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Very convenient location for San Diego visitors

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: I liked the location and staff
Cons: Sheets should not be ripped, and bathroom should be in working condition.
Location: Legoland San Diego Zoo Sea World USS Midway La Jolla Village
The hotel is located in the middle of all the destinations you might want to visit around San Diego. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. Morning breakfast was very convenient with selection of cereal, scrambled eggs, bagels, waffles yogurt, juice etc.. However, dinners were, for the most part, not eatable. The sheets in the room were clean, but quite a few were ripped. Kitchen is pretty small and did not have a stove, only cook top. When taking showers, the tub was filled with water, and shower head was not removable, which makes it very hard to shower children.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Spa was not available, though a selling point of the hotel. Staff at check in very unfriendly. Breakfast not good. Room clean and comfortable