Ratings based on 1,085 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Worst Hotel Ever!

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: Pay more attention to hotel guests, not to the outside visitors. It is not a Disney land.
The rooms are extremely cheap looking, starting from furniture, bathtub , dirty carpet, dirty walls, lights not working properly, lack of service. Maybe one day this hotel met the 4 star requirements, but now its worse than a cheap motel on a road. It seems that the hotel management doesn't care about the hotel guests, they are more like a show from outside, not a 4 star " luxury resort" as they call themselves. If you like " adventure" maybe this place is for you, but for someone who is used to luxury hotels, this place is very disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome room, but misleading it had an obstructed

Posted May 13, 2015
Misleading....the veiw of the ocean was obstructed and I paid top dollar for ocean veiw😣. There was an obnoxious strobe light that flashed all night long in the room attached to the fire/ CO Alarm. It was very bright and the flashing actually woke me up several times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Great location, classic building

Posted May 12, 2015
I was surprised that there were no slippers and no turndown service in a room that cost us over $600 a night after taxes. Very responsive staff, we enjoyed our weekend. Dining was very good, but not outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Ambience
Cons: good
Location: Lots of sights to see
I gave you a full review that I thought was a good one and you rejected it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful yet Disappointing

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: the building and history
Cons: rooms and confort
Location: lot of dining in walking distance , beach
The resort location is beautiful! The view when you are approach the hotel is impressive because of the architecture of the building simply beautiful. And the staff from the valet to the gardens and shopping super nice and hospitable! However our room rate was $349 a night and when we got to our room although clean , it was just disappointing! No mini bar, vanities super small and bathrooms were not comfortable. They were as old as the building , I think the could have been a little more updated with nicer fixtures and amenities. For that price we were expecting to the indulged with a super duper four star + comfort. I will recommend people to go see this beautiful historian bulding but not for accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nebraska

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Scenic and beautiful
Location: The area of Coronado itself is just beautiful. The beach was very nice.
We enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and neat. The unexpected "resort charges" And parking fees were disappointing. These did not even include beach chairs or umbrellas, those were an additional charge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Beautiful hotel -- Elegant, historic, one-of-kind

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful architecture, style, colors, comfort. Great history. Helpful staff. Clean, huge beach. Easily walkable to everything on Coronado.
Cons: Re-stretch carpet in some areas of resort. Stop service carts from traversing courtyard after a certain hour. Offer more affordable breakfast?
Location: Beach! Chez Loma restaurant (yum!). Tent City for breakfast + museum shop. Lamb's Theatre. Village Theater (cute!). Trolley to Balboa/Old Town
Gorgeous building, best location on Coronado -- incredible 2 miles of wide, flawless beach, just outside your door. We arrived on Wednesday, room was ready immediately (despite our 11 am arrival) and they free-upgraded us to bigger room w/ better view. Lobby is something to see. Staff was welcoming and attentive throughout. Room was beautiful in style and comfort. Lovely balcony. Comfortable beds and chairs. Come here if you appreciate history and architecture. Don't come here if you expect pin-perfect modern style. Minor observations: there was some noise at night from service carts crossing the courtyard below. The building is very old, so there were some areas that could use new paint, but did not impact experience. I don't recommend the breakfast buffet--it was abundant and tasty but I thought too expensive for what it was. I would absolutely go back and in fact hope to take the whole family there in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Malibu

I booked the Coronado. They put me in an adjacent

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Booked the Hotel Del Coronado. They put us in an adjacent Condo !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland

Grand legacy, but needs update

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: History, location.
Cons: Check-in process, needs to be sped up.
The old character and perhaps charm is there. The Victorian Building, on the east side near the staff entry had a musty smell. The first room I had had an unacceptable view of he utillity parking lot, and the noise to go with it. At the very least, there should be a substantial discount on that side of the hallway, $400 is outrageous. We we're moved, after a bit of insistence, to the interior couryard, which was actually very nice with the balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lorrainefrom Parsippany, NJ

Great for a convention or family get away

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
My husband and I spent a Sunday & Monday night at the hotel in the Victorian (main) building, ocean front room. It was very nice. However it was a holiday weekend and the resort was very busy, lots of families and kids. We were disapointed that the fine dining restaurant was closed the 2 nights we were there, but we found great food a short walk away. Their more casual rest. was open and we had lunch there also good. Another thing was the main pool was a madhouse with lots of kids and noise. The adult pool is only open in the summer (we went in Feb), and the spa pool is only open to spa guests. We also didn't want to spend $35 each for bkfst buffet, but there are several nice alternatives a short walk away. Overall we had a good stay, but would've preferred a smaller boutique hotel and just walked thru the Del to check it out.