Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Nice Hotel w/ Caveats

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: The A/C and the ventilation. The rooms get stuffy and the A/C can't be regulated.
Location: Great location. Lots of beach things to do.
I've stayed here several times. It's a fantastic location in Del Mar. It's been completely redone. There's a great bar and decent restaurant. However, after my third stay I noticed the rooms -- most of which are on the small side -- tend to get a tad stuffy. If you turn the A/C on they chill down and you have to turn the A/C off. Back and forth like this all night long. The showers are also incredibly small. Still, the hotel is incredibly situated, for the price it's not the characterless look and feel of nearby corporate hotels like Holiday Inn Express or Hampton's Inn. And I would recommend it with those caveats.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

No Ocean View

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We paid extra for an ocean view and were rewarded with the parking lot and an old apartment building with a sliver of ocean view on top. The hotel compensated us with breakfast vouchers. One day the cook didn't show up so no breakfast. We had to rearrange our schedule for lunch or dinner or loose the voucher. In my opinion this is an overpriced hotel masquerading as a boutique hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Although they did not have a beach access it was fairly close to the beach.
Cons: Lower rate charges, amenities and experience don't live up to the price charged.
Walked into a room that hadn't been cleaned. Had to call front desk to get housekeeping to come clean the room. For the rates charged you expect a better experience. I personally would not stay here again nor would I recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Perfect for a staycation!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: VERY friendly staff, from the front desk, to room service, to housekeeping! And, best of all, spectacularly inexpensive room service!
Cons: The hardwood floors appeared tired and a wee bit dusty...could definitely use some TLC. Sound insulation is not great between rooms.
My BFF and I came here for a little staycation and the Indigo definitely served that purpose! The prices were decent for peak summer travel. Luckily, the room was incredibly spacious with an ocean view and was stocked with free wi-fi, a little Kurig, Aveda toiletries, as well as channel after channel of mind-numbing TV. It was my first time staying at a Hotel Indigo property (was surprised to see that it was under the InterContinental Hotel Group). The place has the chic boutique vibe going on, which reminded me of the Kimpton Hotels. The service was friendly, while the hotel itself ranges from stunning (the lobby) to dated (decor in the rooms; giant starfish mural = awesome. tired earth tone duvet = not so much). Note that the sound insulation seems to be pretty shoddy between rooms. Case in point: the room next to us housed a group of rowdy kids (parents, where art thou?!). Screaming, obnoxious giggling way past midnight. I called the front desk and the pack simmered down shortly afterwards. So just be aware that if you can hear them, they can hear you. Will definitely be back. All in all, loved the neighborhood and the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Staff was great. Lovely hotel. The dining facilities are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Recently Renovated

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The feel that you weren't in a hotel, when you went out your room you weren't in some soul-destroying hallway: sky, ocean, sun.
Cons: Can't think of anything, in all candor.
Location: The location is amazing! Prepkitchen for casual dining; Market for high-end dining. Torrey Pines GC where they played the U.S. Open in '08!
Quite simply, the best deal in Del Mar. Beautiful renovation. Hardwood floors, a beachy feel, but quiet and modern in every way. Gorgeous bar/restaurant with a rooftop view of the ocean. I've stayed here when it was the Best Western. Totally different hotel. Spacious rooms. Terrific bathrooms. Nice pool and Jacuzzi, and the location is just unbeatable: Del Mar; Torrey Pines; UCSD. An unbelievably great deal for a hotel this close to the Pacific Ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Phoenix, AZ

Great weekend get away!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The hotel was clean and very comfortable! The staff way always friendly and helpful. Great place to get away if you are traveling with a pet. Being close to the beach was nice. The kids and Lexi (our German Shepherd) were tired from having so much fun. We will be back soon!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed one night at Hotel Indigo and are looking forward to going back. The staff (from the front desk to housekeeping to the restaurant) was amazing. The room was beautiful, spacious and clean. It looked exactly like the pictures on the website. I don't know how much of an "Ocean View" you'd get from the higher priced rooms. Don't think all you would see is sand and surf because there are houses between the hotel and the beach. It's only about 2 blocks worth but it's there all the same. We had a regular room and were completely satisfied that we didn't pay the extra cost for the "view" because you can sit on the deck (public area of the hotel) and see it fine. The location of the hotel was great, too. We were able to walk to pretty much everything in the town, including the beach. If you had to carry a bunch of beach stuff with you I would recommend driving though. The town of Del Mar has the feel of a quaint little town with a modern twist. It's definitely a place to stay for at least a few days to discover and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Central to everything up & down the 101. Very comfortable, quiet area, short walk to the beach or town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by AHDIII from Alta Loma, Calif

Excellent fun find + perfectly remodeled

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service great food and drinks beautifully remodeled and a beautiful experience especially dining on the patio. Quaint rooms, perfectly manicured rooms and everywhere was very, very clean and well maintained C&H