Ratings based on 1,383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Very nice hotel for the price

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Cons: The owners will have to work hard to keep this up. But if they do, it will be a nice boutique-type hotel for a long time.
This hotel has been completely renovated. It's one of the older (maybe 60s?) hotels in Hotel Circle, so the style is not grand. However, they have converted the interior, including all plumbing and fixtures to a modern look and done nice flooring. The staff was very pleasant, they greeted us with a cold drink at check-in. For the price, this is a find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Our only complaint was the pool was dirty and a lot of bugs floating on top.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Not impressed. It took almost a half an hour to check in and a half hour to check out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Nice hotel close to shopping center and other night life venues
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from y

Posted Jul 16, 2015
When I arrived they didn't have my reservation which caused them to charge me once again . I have been calling the hotel daily to get the second charge dropped and every time I call I get " okay let us look and we will call you back" I'm not happy at all
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Unhappy Mom

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Cleaner rooms. Security to monitor grounds for intoxicated and unruly people. Adequate towels
Location: Enjoyed beaches and malls
The carpet was dirty. Had dead crickets. Room was directly facing interstate. A intoxicated couple was loudly making out right outside our room. I attempted to call office, no one answered. We had to request towels, wash clothes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good, but not without some flaws.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Easy check-in-check out, large tub and tv screen, plenty of free parking, free wi-fi.
Cons: Incidental deposit should comparable to room rate.
Location: Centrally located in "Hotel Circle" so plenty of nearby restaurants, malls, and a 24 hour mini store just down the block.
Quick and easy check in/check out. Clean cozy room, comfy bed, good, modern, A/C unit. The jetted tub and large tv screen was very nice. Parking was easy. Considering this was previously the Vagabond Inn and was recently remodeled, overall it was good, but not without some flaws. I wasn't told the hold amount on my credit card for incidentals when I checked in. I didn't ask either, until check-out, but that should be told to you up front. The hold charge was too much in my opinion; $200, which is more than the room rate. Although the room was nice, the walls are rather thin. I could hear the person next door on the phone, quite clearly. Other small gripes; couldn't find the "do not disturb" sign, no need for an extra office chair when the small table already had 2 chairs, only one small trash can, and some cosmetic finishes needed in bathroom (wall by sink). Overall, an enjoyable stay. Considering they just remodeled, I would hope the small flaws will be fixed rather than leading to it getting worse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles,ca

Nice newly renovated hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Stayed here for comic con and it worked out perfectly. It's close by the train station and the shuttle pick up locations. The hotel was still being finished painted the day I arrived but it wasn't bothersome since they mainly worked during the day when we were gone. I would greatly recommend this hotel if you plan on going to downtown San Diego and save a good amount of money on a place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Booked not knowing it was under renovation.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Not only was this hotel under renovation, but the name changed as well. Hope when it's completed it will improve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Decent, improvements are nice

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Found remodeling efforts underway. Great new bathrooms, some detail work incomplete, though and no closet or place to hang clothes. It's had a face lift but still has old bones. I'd stay again at $85 during summer season...