Ratings based on 596 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The hotel staff is fantastic. The pool is a little small, the remote in our room was a mess but great location and a truly dog friendly hotel. Great stay for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Chicago

Extremely happy with this hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern and friendly.
Cons: I wish it was a little closer to San Diego, but I had a better time in La Jolla. I can't fault the hotel for that.
Location: I wanted to go surfing and the rental spots are about 2 blocks away. There's kayaking, snorkeling, hand gliding and great food.
This is a fantastic hotel right by the ocean. The rooms are very modern and clean. The free wine hours bring guests together and the free bikes give you a chance to explore the coast. I was very happy with my stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Overall a great experience at the hotel. Valet guys were the best. We had to switch rooms the second night as they placed us on the first floor next to the fitness center and it was SO EXTREMELY noisy with children and people passing by, but this was quickly fixed as we were moved up a floor. Would come back again for sure.
2 out of 5
by Donna L.

Service non-existent

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Room was comfortable but management gets a big thumb down. When we checked in, we were not told they were having a party that evening and we were given a room right above the party locale with loud music starting at 7 pm, and people's loud voices and mike on way past 10 pm. We were exhausted from our 10-hour travel and ordered dinner in the room; they brought the wrong order so we had to wait a long time to eat. Salad was good, sandwiches were lousy for the price. Our keys to the room did not work the second day, we had to get new keys, and the maid did not leave a new supply of shampoo and conditioner the second day. When we checked out on the third day, we were not greeted by the man at the desk, he did not ask how was our stay or if we needed help with our luggage, he did not say a word, just handed us the bill and did not say goodbye. On the contrary, the young students at the car valet desk were friendly and helpful. Not worth it, for the money you would expect way more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Mar 30, 2014
value for money. parking is expensive and unnecessary charge. bathroom was smelly (drains we guess as it was clean...just smelly)
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the 4 Star review. Sorry you had a smelly situation in the bathroom, we will let the engineering team know so we can get that fixed. See you next time you’re in town! Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Philadelphia, PA

Very nice-close to beach

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Balcony and close access to town
Cons: Housekeeping-only because we had to call for more towels a few times because there were 3 of us in the room.
The hotel was fabulous. The staff was excellent, they always recommended excellent restaurants (especially the valets). When we booked our hotel with Expedia, we booked a "garden view" but when we got there, they said that they would upgrade us for no charge to a higher floor. We were on the 8th floor and had a fabulous balcony overlooking the ocean. It is a pet friendly hotel, but it didn't affect us and our allergies, so it's OK if you don't have a pet. They have a nightly happy hour with complementary wine/beer and often a chef special or other item. It is walking distance to the beach or to town, but they offer free driving to any location in town; they take you and you call them to pick you up--very nice in a place where it is hard to find parking. They also have free use of bikes if desired. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Hi Cindy, Thank you for the great 4 star review. I may be a little biased but I think our staff rocks also! I am glad they took such good care of you. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in La Jolla. Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

perfect location to everything in La Jolla

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Small enough and big enough.
Cons: decor in the lobby
Location: plenty of restaurants, beaches and downtown
We love Kimpton and stay at Kimpton wherever we go
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great 5 star review! Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton, so glad to read you are a fan of the brand. See you next time you are in La Jolla. Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

perfect location to everything in La Jolla

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Small enough and big enough.
Cons: decor in the lobby
Location: plenty of restaurants, beaches and downtown
We love Kimpton and stay at Kimpton wherever we go
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

perfect location to everything in La Jolla

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Small enough and big enough.
Cons: decor in the lobby
Location: plenty of restaurants, beaches and downtown
We love Kimpton and stay at Kimpton wherever we go
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!!!!!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Staff and room were wonderful!!! From check in to check out, 5 stars!
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great 5 star review! Our staff are a bunch of Rockstars! Glad you had a great time. Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson Director of Rooms