Ratings based on 609 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Great Staff

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Had a wonderful anniversary trip. The location is a bit loud (even from upper floors), but the wonderful staff and Kimpton ambience more than made up for it. Easy walk to the beach and shuttle service from the hotel to the village made getting around pretty simple. Made for a romantic weekend & would definitely revisit Hotel La Jolla.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you Scott for the absolutely perfect 5 STAR Review! I am so happy to see that you had such a great weekend away, despite that pesky noise. Our team truly sets this hotel apart from every other hotel in this city, maybe I am biased but I completely with the fact that our team is truly wonderful. I hope to welcome you back on another weekend away Cheers! Shannon Foster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The hotel staff are very attentive and caring. The ambience is very romantic! my fiancé proposed to me at the restaurant and the staff made it very special. I would recommend staying at this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Congratulations Traveler on your recent engagement! I have chills reading this review! It makes me so happy knowing that your fiance selected us to contribute to this memory you will always have! I wish you all the best on your wedding planning. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back to celebrate anniversaries for many years to come. Cheers! Shannon Foster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bristol from AZ

Great accommodations!!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach!! Great dining options at the hotel! Bikes and beach bags available for guest!! The pool and bar area was a great place to relax!!
Location: Beach, restaurants, kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling, & Starbucks!!!
Excellent customer service! Every staff member was helpful and welcoming! The gentlemen at the valet were the face of the hotel, super helpful and quick!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you for the lovely 5 STAR Review Traveler! Your feedback regarding our team has left me tickled pink! We have such a phenomenal team and I am so happy you felt the same way. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All my best, Shannon Foster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Harrogate

Fabulous location and great staff...

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, hip design.
Cons: Standards of housekeeping in rooms.
Location: 100% for bars! restaurants and great beaches.
Stayed here for 4 nights. Excellent location, great for San Diego and all the surfing beaches. 5 minute walk to La Jolla beach. Great bars and Restaurants, loads to see and do. Returned for an extra 3 nights at the end of our vacation, we liked it so much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2014 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
This review should say Ian=fabulous! Thank you so much for the 5 Star review and for all the fantastic feedback about the hotel and the area. I hope we will be welcoming you back again soon! Thanks again! Shannon Foster General Manager Hotel La Jolla
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, expensive, parking additional$28/da

Posted May 19, 2014
Coffee was out, expensive, especially added parking$28/day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel and Friendly Staff

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: staff, design, rooms, valet attendants are super nice and friendly.
Cons: more food options for room service, patio door was loud and difficult to open.
Location: Walk to the beach to watch the surfers and scuba divers. Eat at one of the little spots nearby or walk/drive or take the hotel shuttle to the strip.
Overall a great place to stay. Clean rooms, a fun happy hour with free wine, heated pool and a great restaurant on the 11th floor. The sliding doors to the balconies do need some work however...loud and difficult to open. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and cute little restaurants, and only a 30 minute walk to downtown La Jolla and the cove.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland or

Great look and location

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Loved our stay and the location of the hotel being so close to the beach and in a neighborhood instead of at the cove. The style and furnishings of the hotel are beautiful and chic and the room felt very comfortable and homey. All the rooms have excellent views and patios. LOVED sitting out on our patio drinking our coffee looking at the view. The staff is very professional and kind. They were always interested in where we were going and if we needed directions or suggestions especially the valet staff. Only compliant is no hot tub, pool area was a little disappointing and shallow, no complimentary breakfast and we had to pay for the wifi access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The hotel staff is fantastic. The pool is a little small, the remote in our room was a mess but great location and a truly dog friendly hotel. Great stay for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Chicago

Extremely happy with this hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern and friendly.
Cons: I wish it was a little closer to San Diego, but I had a better time in La Jolla. I can't fault the hotel for that.
Location: I wanted to go surfing and the rental spots are about 2 blocks away. There's kayaking, snorkeling, hand gliding and great food.
This is a fantastic hotel right by the ocean. The rooms are very modern and clean. The free wine hours bring guests together and the free bikes give you a chance to explore the coast. I was very happy with my stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Overall a great experience at the hotel. Valet guys were the best. We had to switch rooms the second night as they placed us on the first floor next to the fitness center and it was SO EXTREMELY noisy with children and people passing by, but this was quickly fixed as we were moved up a floor. Would come back again for sure.