Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Nice hotel short walk to beach

Posted Nov 30, 2014
AaaaaaaaassssAsaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaAaaaaaaaaaaassaa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Very nice and clean hotel. It has been remodeled. Staff was exceptional. Room comfortable and updated. Great location to local shopping, beach, and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madison, WI

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Nicely renovated, good addition to Kimpton brand.
Cons: Valet parking is costly.
Location: A short walk to the beach, a couple of nice litttle restaurants in the vicinity. Wednesday lobster night at Cusp was great. Car for everything else.
A pleasant experience, great view, modern room, nice sitting on the balcony and watching sunset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Great La Jolla Location

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Great location and restaurant/bar on 11th floor has amazing view of ocean-beautiful sunset. Happy hour 4-7 has excellent drink and food specials. Very shirt stay but definitely relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB, Canada

Perfect La Jolla stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
We stayed here last weekend while visiting for a friends wedding. It was our first time at a Kimpton hotel and will not be our last. Every little detail was thought of. Every staff member we encountered was knowledgeable and helpful! We borrowed the bikes to ride down to the beach and into town, enjoyed the wine hour, and had a drink in the bar upstairs. Despite the cooler weather even took a dip in the (heated) pool. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! I reccomend becoming a kimpton hotel insider for access to the wifi and other perks;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Staff is super helpful. Great views. Dinner at Cusp was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you Traveler for the 4 STAR Review! I'm so happy to see that our team took such wonderful care of you and that you had such a great experience at Cusp. We can't wait to have you back with us again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Very noisy hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Great view from the roof restaurant and great lobby.
Cons: Comfort of the room. It's as if all the thoughts were put in the design of the hotel and not the comfort of the guest in the room.
Location: Just off the highway entrance to La Jolla village, 10 mns by car.
The hotel is very well designed, good CA beach vibe meets 1950s retro. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. However, due to its location the hotel is very NOISY.. It is located at a main intersection at the entrance of La Jolla. By the entrance of the hotel, there are a 24 gas station, Starkbucks and a carwash. The first morning, I was woken up at 6 am by a truck backing up, beeping for what seemed forever. At 7 am, the landscapers started working with leafblowers, yes, 7am. The windows are old and do not insulate the outside sounds. My son and I ended checking out 2 nights earlier and move to a much quieter place. Too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We reserved ocean front room but we get garden

Posted Oct 27, 2014
We will not reserve via expedia because we asked for ocean front balcony room but we got first floor closed garden room which we didn't enjoy it. I believe if we reserved directly from the hotel we could complain and get what ever we wanted to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Clemente

Perfect getaway

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Friendliness!!!
Cons: Signage, had a hard time finding it at night. No bathtub and charge for parking daily on top of valet tips.
Location: Ride bikes, walk, shop, eat and sit on your balcony and enjoy the view.
Staff was amazing, room perfect and comfortable, location great because we could walk into La Jolla to shop and eat, and then back to relax with a view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you Cici for this absolutely perfect 5 star review! I'm so happy to see that you had such a lovely visit and that you enjoyed our location so much. Make sure you come up and visit our restaurant on the 11th floor during your next visit, the views, food and service are amazing. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Location: Within walking distance there is the beach and many nice restaurants and shops. A fine location.
All the rooms face in the direction of the ocean. Our room had a majestic view of la jolla and the ocean. Fabulous. The street below was conjested and so there was a constant din from the traffic below while the sliding door was open (our only complaint). Warning...the ground floor rooms have zero view and in fact are closed in by a head high fence for privacy . Seems like your in a basement. Avoid those rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you traveler for the 4 star review! I'm happy to see that you enjoyed those magnificent views of the ocean, you can just never get enough of that view! La Jola is a popular place to be, causing a bit of traffic around the hotel, I'm very sorry that the traffic was bothersome to you. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster General Manager