Ratings based on 2,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tempe AZ

Hotel was amazing but the guests not so much

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Everything! The room, the food, allowing my pets and the atmosphere
Cons: Price for parking should be more competitve because I think $45/night is a bit much especailly when there is a garage a block away that's $15/night
Location: Location is great, it's not by the beach but it's near petco park if you like Baseball but tons of food options, bars and shopping.
I booked this hotel because it was for my anniversary and my girlfriends birthday. The location was great in the heart of downtown San Diego with amazing food options, also the hotel food is really good. Expensive around ~$25 a plate and $12 cocktail but it's well worth the value. They also allow pets, I brought my Norwegian Elkhound and my Corgi and they were welcomed very warmly. Not only that but there is complimentary dog treat sushi, dog beds and dog bowls! Even on the sign outside the restaurant they had our pets names showing how welcomed they are. The room itself was really nice. Bathroom was good and had everything you'd need and our view was on the 5th floor so it looked over the pool on the roof. So here is the bad part. I don't know if it's just the weekend I stayed or if it's downtown San Diego but everyone was rude and loud. I wish I wasn't on the 5th floor. The music was loud and went on till 1am. I stayed friday and saturday night so both days there was music from 9pm-1am. Not only that but our neighbors, well, were "loud" and we could hear them through the wall for the rest of the night and I cannot emphasize loud enough. Overall I recommend this hotel, just try to avoid the 5th floor and don't go I guess during a party weekend/month if you want some peace and quiet. The hotel and staff is great so that's why I'm giving the hotel a 4/5 because they shouldn't get dinged for the people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
This was a great hotel! My wife and I really enjoyed it and plan on staying here again soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Solamar soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Very goodchotel close to the Gaslamp Quarter. Very clean, no issues with hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Hello KJ, Thank you for your review and the 4 stars! New look coming end of this year! Be sure to check us out next time you return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
This was my first time staying in SD and I'm so glad we choose this hotel. We were close to everything. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. The only thing I didn't like was parking but other wise I was really happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review and 5 stars. When visiting San Diego, the East Village and Gaslamp is where it's at... So happy you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right in the Gaslamp District

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Just steps from the Gaslamp District, but also only minutes from the bay. I got up and ran every morning along the bay! Great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Terry B - GM
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Lots of construction in the area

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Clean and pleasant.
Cons: Coffee maker in room. Put in vending machines. Leave room in fridge for my stuff.
Location: Gas Lamp district has plenty of eateries and bars. Ideal for the younger generation.
Currently is a construction area. Gas Lamp district ideal for young people. No coffee maker in room. Pool is only 3' deep. Does not have vending machines, must buy stuff from mini-bar or go to out to get snacks and beverages. However, fridge is full of the mini-bar stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gas Lamp Quarter Location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Great location in the Gas Lamp Quarter. Stayed three nights on an extended business trip. Within walking distance of many great attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, ON

Great spot in San Diego

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Enjoyed 3 night stay with wife and 5 year old. Great location, nice facility. Really enjoyed the rooftop pool. Minor annoyances included the pool bar / restaurant not opening until later in the afternoon on weekdays and not having any hot water in the shower on one of the mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relax and get away !

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Always enjoyable to relax and enjoy the pool and ambiance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Spent Valentine's weekend in San Diego. Hotel was perfect. Service was exceptional! The concierge even managed to get us dinner reservations for Valentine's Day:)