Ratings based on 1,672 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Above and beyond great customer service

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: location, food, service
Location: Gas Lamp district, walking distance to wonderful restaurants and shopping, not far from the beach.
Loved this hotel, perfect location in the gas lamp district. Restaurant was great, all organic. My husband left his backpack near valet and they notified us via expedia. They were great! They attempted to fedex it back to our hotel in Disney but the fedex person messed that up so they drove it to us!! The valet guys were awesome! Highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great experience, would stay here again. Star was great and the hotel was right in the middle of everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for over 30

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Much younger crowd especially around the pool. The staff was courteous, though housekeeping was spotty. We needed to request the ice bucket be emptied, leave clean glasses, etc. Won't return. Just not worth the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by AJS from Pasadena

Great hotel & location, bad housekeeping

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We're San Diego natives coming back to visit family & friends, so this review doesn't really focus on the (excellent) location of the hotel for tourists. Our second stay at this location. Location, amenities, room, etc. were great. Pretty clean, nice decor. Valet was very good (this has occasionally been an issue at Kimpton hotels). Rates were quite good. Room location with adjoining wall to service elevator not a plus. Housekeeping didn't come-- and we were out of our room for 11 hours b/w 9am and 9pm. So when we arrived back after 9pm and called down to say that housekeeping never came, we were told, oh, well they're very busy getting rooms ready for guests checking in. After 9pm on a Saturday? Very odd and not satisfactory; Kimpton desk employees need training in service recovery. Overall, good, but enough issues that we'll only stay again if there's a crazy good rate (too many unknowns/unpredictables).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissa from Upland

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Solamar. Although the valet parking could have been a little less; everything else about it was great! The free "happy hour" was a great perk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandy M from Los Angeles

Delightful weekend

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We love Kimpton Hotels and try to stay in one, wherever we go. We often travel with our dogs and Kimpton Hotels roll out the red carpet for them. This time, it was just us. The Hotel Solamar is a little jewel, right downtown San Diego. It is whimsical and welcoming. The room is well appointed and comfortable. We look forward to our next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glendale ca

Nice hotel in downtown sandiego.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Stayed for 1 night. Couldn't enjoy the pool because whether was not good enough. Like the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sum pluses and minuses

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Having a room next to the rooftop bar is not recommended if you want an early night!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Olympia

Nice hotel in the middle of the Gaslamp district

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Solid hotel, I would stay there again. Walking distance to Petco park, the convention center and numerous bars and restaurants. It can be a bit loud due to the bar scene. The staff were top notch and responsive to guest needs. The negatives to this place include a nice looking bathroom sink that isn't convenient or functional (too shallow - splashes EVERYWHERE, faucet gets in your way...), they need a real electric car charger (not just a 110v/12amp wall outlet), The cabinet door hiding the mini-fridge was uneven and got stuck on the carpet. Loud late night club music during special events in downtown.