Ratings based on 2,031 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
Excellent hotel, fantastic location. Just avoid using the room phone as it's very expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Long Beach, CA

Not worth the price.

Posted May 25, 2015
My boyfriend and I stayed for one night recently and the staff was great, the hotel was beautiful, and the location couldn't be beat. However, I won't be going back. There was nothing egregious, just quite a few little annoyances that I wouldn't have expected from a hotel of this price and caliber. One of the two trashes in our room hadn't been emptied from the previous guest. There was no hair dryer and it took three calls after asking the front desk in person in order to have one brought to the room. I couldn't wash my face in the sink without either slashing water all over the counter or hitting my head on the faucet in order to avoid making a mess. Overall, it was decent. But I'll be looking for accommodation elsewhere the next time I'm in San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2015 by Justin, Hotel Management
Hello, We're glad you enjoyed our location, staff and hotel. However, I'm really sorry to hear about the room complications. It's certainly not typical of the hotel and sorry we missed the mark. We'll be sure to be better in the future. We hope you decided to give us another chance some other time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nickeled and Dimed on costs

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Cool vibe, comfortable, clean and good location in the Gaslamp district.
Cons: Free WiFi, free toll-free calls (I mean, really? $2?), coffee maker in room.
Nice enough hotel property, clean, cool vibe and good location. BUT...the cost is not the cost. Charging for Internet access these days is ridiculous ($12.95 per day). $45 per day for parking (found an off site public lot). $2 per call for toll free phone calls! No coffee maker in the room, so had to go down to lobby to get caffeinated in the morning, then take coffee back to the room to work. Have a chance to really provide a great guest experience and just leave a bad taste instead with all these unnecessary (IMO) charges.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by shannonfoster, Hotel Management
Thank you Karyn for taking time to share your feedback about your recent visit. I am disappointed to see that you felt so disappointed upon departing the hotel. We do offer complimentary internet access for our Kimpton Karma Rewards guests and fortunately this is a free program. You are welcome to sign up and receive complimentary internet at all Kimpton Hotels when you travel in the future. I'm very sorry that you felt nickeled and dimed due to the charges for phone calls and parking, I assure you these charges exist at our competitors hotels as well as these are standard additions to the room rates when traveling. I certainly understand your disappointments but hope you will give us another chance when you visit San Diego in the future. All my best, Shannon Foster General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted May 5, 2015
Staff sucked, no housekkeeping, horrible customer service
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by shannonfoster, Hotel Management
Ouch dyana, what a painful review to read. I'm very sorry that you left feeling so disappointed about your visit. This is actually rather alarming and quite the opposite of the feedback we hear day in and out. I wish there were more details shared regarding your visit, unfortunately with such general feedback it i difficult for me to understand where things went wrong. I hope you will give us another chance when you visit San Diego i the future. All the best, Shannon Foster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel , staff, location

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: staff, location,comfortable room
Location: ballpark, convention centre, trolley services ,restaurants, shopping
very close to ballpark , convention centre , trolley,restaurants, shopping,parks, fantastic staff in all areas, very quiet , clean comfortable room- excellent experience, highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by shannonfoster, Hotel Management
Thank you Traveler for this fantastic 5 STAR Review! I am beyond thrilled to see that you had such a fantastic visit and that our team took such great care of you. I couldn't agree with you more regarding our location, it truly is excellent! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Great time! Great location walking distance to a lot of fun
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by shannonfoster, Hotel Management
I'm so happy to see that you had such a fantastic visit to our hotel, thank you for the 5 STAR review! The fun just keeps getting better so be sure to come back and visit again soon! Cheers! Shannon Foster, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Best Hotel in San Diego

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The hotel is located close to everything in Gas Lamp the Zoo and is only a 15 min cab to Sea World. The hotel is absolutely amazing from the bathtub overlooking the city and ocean. To best room service breakfast I have ever had this hotel is great. They even have a little red Wagon with a hotel Solomar license plate on it for your kids or just to shop. The pool is heated to 75 degrees and during our stay the temperature in day was only 65 degrees and it was still a comfortable swim. There is just way too many amenities and services provided by this hotel to list.Book it. HOTEL SOLOMAR THANKS FOR A GREAT VACATION.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by shannonfoster, Hotel Management
You have written the best review I've seen today Travis! Thank you for the 5 STARS! I couldn't be happier to see that you enjoyed your visit so much and I sure hope we will be welcoming you back again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Great hotel. Exceptional staff. Great neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by shannonfoster, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 STAR Review! I am thrilled to see that your entire visit was so enjoyable. We can't wait to have you back! Cheers! Shannon Foster, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2015
The tub was amazing. What made the place even better was the people in San Diego. Great place to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by shannonfoster, Hotel Management
Thank you traveler for the 5 star review! I am so happy that you had such a great visit. Come back and visit us again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom illinois

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Great staff, and convenient location to many nice restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by shannonfoster, Hotel Management
Thank you Traveler for taking time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. I couldn't be more thrilled to see that you enjoyed your visit so much and that you gave us 5 stars! I hope to have you back with us again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster General Manager