Ratings based on 1,946 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
This was a great hotel! My wife and I really enjoyed it and plan on staying here again soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Solamar soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Very goodchotel close to the Gaslamp Quarter. Very clean, no issues with hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Hello KJ, Thank you for your review and the 4 stars! New look coming end of this year! Be sure to check us out next time you return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
This was my first time staying in SD and I'm so glad we choose this hotel. We were close to everything. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. The only thing I didn't like was parking but other wise I was really happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review and 5 stars. When visiting San Diego, the East Village and Gaslamp is where it's at... So happy you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right in the Gaslamp District

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Just steps from the Gaslamp District, but also only minutes from the bay. I got up and ran every morning along the bay! Great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Terry B - GM
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Lots of construction in the area

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Clean and pleasant.
Cons: Coffee maker in room. Put in vending machines. Leave room in fridge for my stuff.
Location: Gas Lamp district has plenty of eateries and bars. Ideal for the younger generation.
Currently is a construction area. Gas Lamp district ideal for young people. No coffee maker in room. Pool is only 3' deep. Does not have vending machines, must buy stuff from mini-bar or go to out to get snacks and beverages. However, fridge is full of the mini-bar stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gas Lamp Quarter Location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Great location in the Gas Lamp Quarter. Stayed three nights on an extended business trip. Within walking distance of many great attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, ON

Great spot in San Diego

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Enjoyed 3 night stay with wife and 5 year old. Great location, nice facility. Really enjoyed the rooftop pool. Minor annoyances included the pool bar / restaurant not opening until later in the afternoon on weekdays and not having any hot water in the shower on one of the mornings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ahhh just So so

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros. Nice location. Cute and looks nice in the lobby. Free beer and wine everyday in the lobby. Cool roof heated pool. Cons. The roof pool was trashed and dirty. Every seating area had cups plates. Looks like it was like that for hours. We didn't want to stick around. We paid for a view room and now they are building a high rise next door our room be comes a peak a boo view. The front desk guy didn't know a answer to a question I had nore did he ask anyone else. The bed was a cheaper 1 bed cuz when I would go with in a foot from the edge it starts to cave in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Perfect Location for Visiting Downtown San Diego

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The location is great, parking was easy, and the room itself was quiet and clean.
Cons: The restroom could do with some renovations. For example, the shower was difficult to work on.
Location: Close to bars, and other entertainment.
Stayed for one night. Good experience, staff was friendly, and room service was nice. Loved the mini bar selections.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom long beach,ca

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We had a great stay! The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the hotel was close to everything. I definitely recommend hotel Solamar!