Ratings based on 1,888 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Close to Gaslight Square

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, friendly staff
Location: Gaslight square close by.
Very nice hotel. Close to the conference and to Gaslight Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas

Beautiful and pet friendly

Posted Jan 19, 2015
The hotel is beautiful, nice location, and the best part that it's pet friendly. We have 2 huge dogs, and it's so nice to be able to stay with them in such a nice place. (Comparing to some other pet friendly San Diego hotels, most of them don't allow big dogs and have all kind of restrictions). The restaurant downstairs was good too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, Washington

Boutique Lovely close to the Convention Center

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: I liked the setting and the atmosphere of the hotel the best.
Cons: Better lighting in the bathroom please.
Location: Lots of restaurants and night life in the Gas Light area and it is close to the Convention Center
My husband and I stayed here for four nights and we enjoyed the decor and the comfort of the room. The location is close to fifth, which has lots of great restaurant choices and plenty of night life. Our hotel was quiet for sleeping and the poolside service was excellent. I would have loved a bit more light in the bathroom for getting ready.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Excellent location - a little bland.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: The roof top looked really nice and we would have enjoyed spending some time there if it wasn't raining and the free yoga class Sunday morning was a
With any hotel that calls itself 'boutique' you expect something original and at with a bit of flare. Hotel Solamar just felt a little uninspired and like any other mid-range hotel chain. The lobby felt dark and gloomy, the room was unfunctional with no dresser and hard to access cupboard and the bathroom lacked shelf space. No coffee in the rooms would have been okay if the coffee urns had been filled in the lobby (they were empty at 8:30am and were still empty when we returned from breakfast at 10:00 am. $45.00 parking is excessive - park at "Park it on Market' less than 2 blocks away for $15.00.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rocky mountains, colorado

Good location, very friendly staff

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Needed a break from mountain cold. Hello San Diego! Great visit. Hotel has an easy mood. Very yummy restaurant on ground level. Rooftop bar nice for late afternoon break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Great location in the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking fee.
The hotel location is great if you want to be downtown in the Gaslamp to experience the nightlife and abundance of restaurants. The only downside of the hotel is he $45 per day valet fee for your vehicle. The staff are as pleasant and helpful as all the reviews say they are!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing spot in Gas Lamp close to everything!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Everything!
We stayed 5 days at the Solamar hotel for our anniversary. It was our first time to San Diego, and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. Starting from the friendly welcome accompanied by a bottle of champagne in our room! We really enjoyed free beer and wine from 5-6 in the hotel lobby, such a nice touch! EVERYONE at the front desk were/are wonderful and always willing to help and were always there when we needed someone. Special shout out to our house keeping lady Shearrie! super friendly lady and always smiling! Beautiful hotel and great people, we would defiantly go back! Good times!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
I liked the place and it was great to get a look at the neighborhood. Good value I thought.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
We appreciate the nice feedback and 4 start review of our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Solamar and Kimpton Hotels. The neighborhood is definitely fun and convenient to so many attractions and venues in the Gaslamp Quarter. We hope we get a chance to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Camarillo California

Working stay.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: A notice in the elevators asking guests returning from a night out to be concerned abut their noise levels when returning to their rooms.
Excellent. Guest from hell in the next room, shouting in the corridors and slamming their door about 20 times in two hours. This was from 1.30 a.m until 3:am. Hotel security did warn them and when they paid no attention the hotel security then asked them to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
OH NO! Our sincere apologies about the guest next to you during your stay. We typically have a very well traveled and respectful guest base stay with us, although every once in a great while something goes amiss common courtesy. I hope we get another opportunity to show you an actual good nights sleep on your next trip to San Diego. Thanks for your review however Derek.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Good location. Good service. Great hosted local beer/wine hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
Hi Jenn, thank you for your stay and for your review. One of our favorite things here ourselves is the beer/wine hour. Not only for the great taste, but for the opportunity to interact with our guests. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Come see us again soon.