Ratings based on 1,981 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Great time! Great location walking distance to a lot of fun
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Best Hotel in San Diego

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The hotel is located close to everything in Gas Lamp the Zoo and is only a 15 min cab to Sea World. The hotel is absolutely amazing from the bathtub overlooking the city and ocean. To best room service breakfast I have ever had this hotel is great. They even have a little red Wagon with a hotel Solomar license plate on it for your kids or just to shop. The pool is heated to 75 degrees and during our stay the temperature in day was only 65 degrees and it was still a comfortable swim. There is just way too many amenities and services provided by this hotel to list.Book it. HOTEL SOLOMAR THANKS FOR A GREAT VACATION.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Great hotel. Exceptional staff. Great neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2015
The tub was amazing. What made the place even better was the people in San Diego. Great place to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom illinois

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Great staff, and convenient location to many nice restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect Gaslamp District Boutique Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable atmosphere. Lots of quiet spaces. Nice artwork and decor Pool area is nice. Great spot to have a drink in the evening.
Cons: Parking rates seemed excessive. The fitness center is really small
Location: Everything "Gaslamp" is within a few blocks walk. Lots of other things (convention center, marina) within 1-2 miles Trolley is 2 blocks away
I really enjoyed my stay. The staff is very nice and helpful. I would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carson, Ca

Great location

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Walking distance to everything, nice location. Free bikes to use for guests which is great. The only negative thing I have to say is about the curtains being visibly dirty and the price to park your car $45/night. We just paid $15 at a lot one black away and it worked out fine. I would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tempe AZ

Hotel was amazing but the guests not so much

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Everything! The room, the food, allowing my pets and the atmosphere
Cons: Price for parking should be more competitve because I think $45/night is a bit much especailly when there is a garage a block away that's $15/night
Location: Location is great, it's not by the beach but it's near petco park if you like Baseball but tons of food options, bars and shopping.
I booked this hotel because it was for my anniversary and my girlfriends birthday. The location was great in the heart of downtown San Diego with amazing food options, also the hotel food is really good. Expensive around ~$25 a plate and $12 cocktail but it's well worth the value. They also allow pets, I brought my Norwegian Elkhound and my Corgi and they were welcomed very warmly. Not only that but there is complimentary dog treat sushi, dog beds and dog bowls! Even on the sign outside the restaurant they had our pets names showing how welcomed they are. The room itself was really nice. Bathroom was good and had everything you'd need and our view was on the 5th floor so it looked over the pool on the roof. So here is the bad part. I don't know if it's just the weekend I stayed or if it's downtown San Diego but everyone was rude and loud. I wish I wasn't on the 5th floor. The music was loud and went on till 1am. I stayed friday and saturday night so both days there was music from 9pm-1am. Not only that but our neighbors, well, were "loud" and we could hear them through the wall for the rest of the night and I cannot emphasize loud enough. Overall I recommend this hotel, just try to avoid the 5th floor and don't go I guess during a party weekend/month if you want some peace and quiet. The hotel and staff is great so that's why I'm giving the hotel a 4/5 because they shouldn't get dinged for the people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
This was a great hotel! My wife and I really enjoyed it and plan on staying here again soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Solamar soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Very goodchotel close to the Gaslamp Quarter. Very clean, no issues with hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Terry B - GM, Hotel Management
Hello KJ, Thank you for your review and the 4 stars! New look coming end of this year! Be sure to check us out next time you return.