Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Lots of room. Pretty clean. Comfortable bed, but.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Be is comfortable. Room is nice size. Fridge is larger and works better than most.
Cons: TV reception is awful!!!!! Either change provider or rewire rooms. WIFI is poor. Often too slow to do anything.
Location: Kind of rough neighborhood. Decent places to eat. A Denny's, Wendys, Taco Bell, Black Angus, McDonalds, and Aunt Emma's Pancakes.
If all you want to do is sleep....well good luck with that. The neighborhood is noisy, and the motel is noisy too. The bed is pretty comfortable, and plenty of room to move. TV reception is awful. WIFI is slow. Hard to recommend for that reason. There are so many possibilities, but effort is lacking here.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego CA

Hotel rating

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Location close to ocean and train station
Cons: Enforcement of noise policy, I made no complaints but staff should have been aware of noisy guest.
Location: Chula Vista Near ocean and and a park, but not much to do within walking distance
Hotel was OK but location made the stay unpleasant. The neighborhood was noisy and run down with homeless people sleeping on sidewalks and other signs of a distressed community. Other guest were noisy and discourteous, such as having long and loud conversations outside the door or doing the same with mobile phone conversations, and the upstairs neighbor repeatedly pacing the room with heavy footsteps, the culprit seems to be the fact that there are a lot of "disturbed" people in that community!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tucson

cheap get away

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: cleanliness, attention to details from staff and management. Caring and passion do not exist
Location: location was ok
We decided to drive from Tucson to San Diego. The kids wanted some time at the beach. Not having much to spend with Christmas purchases, we wanted to do a two day one night and have some beach time. We found this hotel located off freeway in Chula Vista. Knowing it was cheap, expectations were low to start. The neighborhood was rough, nice to have gates to get into parking lot. Window was broken and no screen for air flow. The noise level in neighborhood was loud and into the early morning hours. To get ice you had to walk across the street to the main building. Vending machine for drinks was not stocked (Monday night)... of course this was not noticeable until you put money in and then get no selection when item pushed. No attention to deep cleaning in unit. dust, dirty microwave. Couch slumped in. Will not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: I like both parts of the room. Living and sleeping areas are separate.
Cons: Neighborhood. checking in time a bit late. If you have to check out at 11am you should at least be able to check in at noon. This and the neighborhood
Location: good food area I just wouldn't recommend walking around at night. That goodness it's gated.
pleasant room and a great price. Don't much like the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Vacaciones

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Muy bien todo excelente comodidad de camas y muy limpias
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom morelos

Muy sucios los pasillos

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Estuvo regular la estancia los pasillos e instalaciones sucias y no servĂ­a el elevador y me afecto por que hice muchas compras y fue muy pesado subir y bajar escaleras con bolsas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VF

Shopping black freday

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Excelente habitaciones muy limpias y muy comodas las camas. Muy cerca de todo y muy recomendable para descansar
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good For A Quick Stay

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Hotel staff deactivated keycard access to the parking lot before 11:00am checkout the next day.
Location: You can walk to Denny's or the liquor store. Quick easy access to places if needed.
Impressed with the enhancements of the room but the flat panel tv was missing from the bedroom though there was an alternative tv in the other area. Would have liked to watch tv in bed but still a great stay for a one nighter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay

Posted Nov 20, 2014
I was not impressed with the staff from the rude front desk staff to the unkind housekeeping
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO INTERNET

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: In the suite the bedroom area and bathroom was very clean and well decorated.
Cons: Money should be invested into having proper internet access throughout all the rooms for the guests.
Location: Within 2 blocks Denny's, Wendy's, McDonald's, Taco Bell, and Black Angus Steakhouse. Hotel a three minute walk to San Diego Trolley E St Stop.
While this hotel has just finished a remodel, it is obvious there was no budget for the kitchen areas, hotel exteriors, or electric gates. The kitchens cabinets and such were sticky from years of old paint and did not close properly with huge gaps between appliances and drawers. The hotel exterior still looks bad and there are no trash cans on the property to discard things that you don't want in the room with you overnight. The electric gate broke in the evening trapping cars in the parking area until morning. All of that could have been negotiable if not for the poor internet situation. The hotel advertises that there is free wifi to the rooms. This is untrue, while it is free the signal is out of range for the majority of the rooms. They have 50 rooms sharing one access point when there should be an access point for every 10 rooms. The building was probably constructed in the 70's so there are a lot of metal beams in the structure that block cellular and wifi broadcast. I had to stand out of my room to make phone calls and I saw other guests doing the same. When I asked the manager if I could be moved to a room directly beneath the wifi access point I was told the hotel was fully booked. However, for the next three days the parking lot was almost empty. This is not the place for business travelers.