Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel is convenient not far from Beach, Airport

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: the walls are very thin and we can hear everything going on next door or upstairs
Location: beach, airport, shopping
room is clean, staff is friendly, breakfast is good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
The hotel itself was okay but the location was concerning. Just taking the bus from the Old Town station to the hotel was always stressful due to drunk homeless people at the bus stops. It was a very empty area and just the a few minutes of walking from the bus stop to the hotel was just not worth staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Arrowhead CA

GREAT ROOM-GREAT STAFF

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Close to our activities and wonderful breakfast. CLEAN ROOM!!!
Location: SEA WORLD, OLD TOWN and wonderful restraunts.
First of the staff was extremely helpful. We had a very nice room (NON SMOKING) and were so close to our favorite mexican restraunt (Guadlajara) and Sea World 2.6 miles away. We stayed two nites and will come back next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really ok hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I made a reservation a week before and they gave us a room for disabled people. No bathtub and bathroom was also for disabled. We can hear the noise from upstairs. We didn't have a goodnight sleep. I'm not going back to that hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Lynn, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. We apologize for assigning you an accessible room. At times, those are the only rooms left available. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Great Place to stay!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Staff was awesome, Eva (breakfast) Nala (frontdesk) and Adolpho (maintenance) were always friendly and helpful breakfast was typical continental.
Cons: The one thing I would say is the shuttle to sea world.. It needs to run later into the evening and not shut down at 5:30
Location: Seaworld, USS Midway, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Petco Park, Mission beach, Balboa Park
Visited on July 23 to July 31, The hotel is pretty much central to all the major attractions, My wife did not want to rent a car, so we used taxis and the average cost per trip to any major attraction was 19-20 dollars. I see people mention homeless and a shady area of the city but we had no issues. Many restaurants nearby (5-10 minute walk) Staff were awesome and were there when we needed something. Folks this isn't a big fancy hotel but it is affordable and the staff make it feel like your their primary concern. If your like us we were then only to sleep as the days were spent taking in the attractions.. The kids used the pool in the evening to cool off and had a blast. Would stay here again without hesitation
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are delighted to hear our hotel is a “great place to stay”. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are thrilled to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned we are centrally located, near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. The next time you are in town, consider using the Trolley, as it is within walking distance from the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your kind feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pomona

Not bad.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly staff.
Cons: Continental breakfast could have a bit more offerings of items.
Location: Close to Sea World, Midway Museum.
I had booked a room with another no-name motel around the corner from this Howard Johnson. Checked in to the first place and it was quite a dump and I felt a safety hazard for my family. I immediately canceled the booking due to some "issues" and booked this HoJo for a few dollars more. I have to say that the rooms were clean, comfortable and had modern appliances i.e. microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was clean and the overall room was comfortable. Much, much MUCH better than the dump I had booked earlier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Jerome, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are delighted to hear we are a “much, much much better” hotel than others in our immediate area. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, our guest rooms come standard with a microwave and refrigerator and are so pleased to hear they were beneficial to you, during your stay. We hope to see you, again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Reserved two rooms. One had funny smell and the other didnt have working coffee maker which the staff couldnt find another one to replace it. Both rooms couldn't access the free wifi they had to offer and tech service could fix it. The walls were thin so you can hear the people next to you. Breakfast was ok. The best things about this hotel was the bed and the bathroom. Its not worth the money, I rather stay at motel 7.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We do apologize for the odor in your room and your coffee maker not functioning properly. We aim to make every guest’s stay a great experience and will use your feedback to verify our rooms are in full working order. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our comfy beds and newly renovated bathrooms during your stay. We would like to ask that you consider stay with us again, in the future, so we can have the opportunity to show you a wonderful hotel with great rooms and a dedicated staff. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: the breakfast. better not serve it at all and charge guests 5 dollars less, there's Starbucks right over the road
the hotel is ok, BUT it is right near the airport and you hear planes taking off all day from 6.30 AM sharp, till 11 PM at least, and occasionally during the night. So take care, they are really noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking your time in reviewing our hotel. As you mentioned, we are located within close proximity to the airport, which of course has its pros and cons. We do offer complimentary airport shuttle services and always encourage our guests to take full advantage of them. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Very impressed

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are delighted to hear you were “very impressed” with our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa

Nice for the price

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Fairly inexpensive and very clean. Will come again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are delighted to hear you were “pleasantly surprised” by our hotel. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.