Ratings based on 817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Felt cheated...

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Across the street from a mini mall, TJ Maxx, Starbucks, cvs pharmacy, etc.
Cons: Wifi, breakfast, shuttle service
Location: Good location for various restaurants & shops
The shuttle is by appointment only! We arrived at the hotel at noon In hopes of taking the "free" shuttle to Seaworld, we were told that the shuttle was finished for the day because there were no more appointments for the day, even though it's advertised as until 5pm. Needless to say we rented a vehicle that we had no plans to do!!! The wifi kept disconnecting, I had to call technical support at least 3 times in 1 night!! The breakfast consisted of waffles, apples, toast, orange juice...luckily Denny's was a few blocks away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Peoria, AZ

Close to Old Town, Sea World, the zoo.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Rooms are big, clean, comfortable.
Location: Old Town, Sea World and the Zoo are very close. Downtown a bit farther.
Staff is excellent. We arrived very early and the room wasn't ready, but I requested a specific room (we have stayed here before) which was quickly arranged. We left and went to Sea World, didn't get back until after 9pm, but as promised they saved my requested room for me. Check in took all of one minute.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom az

It was an OK hotel.

Posted May 25, 2015
The key didn't work to our room, they didn't have our room ready. Parking was a mess, customer service was okay. Will not br staying Herr again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Close to SeaWorld

Posted May 22, 2015
Nice comfy room. Great value. Nice friendly staff and very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear we have “nice friendly staff and very clean” hotel. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great Location

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location to everything. And it was clean with comfortable beds.
Cons: More variety for breakfast, plus update the rooms.
Location: Sea World, Old Town San Diego, a 15 minute drive to Sea Port Village, Gaslamp district, and downtown
Hotel was okay, clean, and beds were comfortable. A little dated, but the lobby was pleasing. Breakfast was nice, not too much variety, just enough to get you started for the day. Good coffee though. Great location, not far to Seaworld, Old Town San Diego, La Jolla, and Downtown, plus SeaPort Village.. Across street was a strip mall with a grocery store, and a few places to eat. Other popular restaurants such as ihop is close by and shopping stores. Hotel staff were great. Very friendly and helpful. It was great to find a safe in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Sg, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our “hotel staff were great”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom t

Great place to rest after a long day at Sea World

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Big spacious room for my son and I. Lots of places to eat and shop. Lots of traffic getting in and out busy Main Street but manageable. Everything seemed pretty clean , beds comfy
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Mom, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is a “great place to rest after a long day”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 한국

평범한 호텔

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: 마트가 근처에 있어 이용하기에 편리했습니다.
Cons: 객실의 타월이 조금 낡았다는 느낌
Location: 씨월드가 가까이 있다고 하는데 가보지는 못했습니다.
생각보다 조용한 편이었고 마트가 근처에 있고 스타벅스도 맞은 편에 있어 이용하기에 편리했습니다.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 19, 2015
I only stayed there one night. I was a little apprehensive after reading the reviews of this hotel but after staying there I would again for the right price. It was clean and location was definitely awesome. It's not a four seasons but for under a 100 a night I was certainly satisfied with my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear “it was clean and location was definitely awesome”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix AZ

Nice hotel for a reasonable price.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The room was very clean, including the carpet (no black feet at this place). Bathroom and shower were excellent. Towels were a little small. Very big room, four people and not crowded. Parking is a problem if you arrive after 9pm. All of the staff was very nice and helpful. Good location, close to everything. If you try the breakfast, stick with the waffles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear “the room was very clean”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Check in went well. Night staff was really pleasant. Carpet in the room was so dirty it made your feet dirty to walk on it. Breakfast was not well stocked and kitchen area had little to no seating. I complained to morning staff about carpet but the manager never contacted me. It is extremely over priced. I will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We are thrilled to hear the “night staff was really pleasant”. We work hard in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. Please know, your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our facilities. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.