Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom t

Great place to rest after a long day at Sea World

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Big spacious room for my son and I. Lots of places to eat and shop. Lots of traffic getting in and out busy Main Street but manageable. Everything seemed pretty clean , beds comfy
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 한국

평범한 호텔

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: 마트가 근처에 있어 이용하기에 편리했습니다.
Cons: 객실의 타월이 조금 낡았다는 느낌
Location: 씨월드가 가까이 있다고 하는데 가보지는 못했습니다.
생각보다 조용한 편이었고 마트가 근처에 있고 스타벅스도 맞은 편에 있어 이용하기에 편리했습니다.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 19, 2015
I only stayed there one night. I was a little apprehensive after reading the reviews of this hotel but after staying there I would again for the right price. It was clean and location was definitely awesome. It's not a four seasons but for under a 100 a night I was certainly satisfied with my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear “it was clean and location was definitely awesome”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix AZ

Nice hotel for a reasonable price.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The room was very clean, including the carpet (no black feet at this place). Bathroom and shower were excellent. Towels were a little small. Very big room, four people and not crowded. Parking is a problem if you arrive after 9pm. All of the staff was very nice and helpful. Good location, close to everything. If you try the breakfast, stick with the waffles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear “the room was very clean”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Check in went well. Night staff was really pleasant. Carpet in the room was so dirty it made your feet dirty to walk on it. Breakfast was not well stocked and kitchen area had little to no seating. I complained to morning staff about carpet but the manager never contacted me. It is extremely over priced. I will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We are thrilled to hear the “night staff was really pleasant”. We work hard in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. Please know, your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our facilities. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location and Price
Cons: Greater variety of breakfast. It was good, but can be better!
Location: It is near the airport, Old Town San Diego, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, and the beach, and plenty of eating facilities
This was a great hotel. Price was great and location couldn't be beat! It is near the airport, Old Town San Diego, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, and the beach (The Dog Beach at Ocean Beach is FREE parking...), and plenty of eating places. Staff was friendly and accommodated our needs quickly (we needed a kids crib and we had it within min of asking). Only issues we had was the walls are thin and we could hear our neighbors come in late and laughing/being loud. Also, with the location being near the airport, you can hear the planes, but that doesn't last too late. It is what should be expected when you are near the airport. We love this location and plan to come again on our next visit to San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted to have accomplished said task. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Great lo location!!!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Nice room, close to everything!! Highly recommend!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed a “nice room” at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff. Room upkeep was excellent.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Staff were excellent and room was kept very clean. Walking distance to restuarants. Easy enough to get to/from downtown San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our staff was “excellent and room was kept very clean”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place for the price.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: walls too thin and fix the wake up call service (many people might rely on that).
The walls seemed thin because we heard people in the next room laughing and talking until 3am. The man set me up for a wake up call but I never got a call. Everything else was good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is a “good place”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff, in hopes of improving our hotel. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cigarette stench roams

Posted Feb 7, 2015
The smell was unbearable. But besides that it was barely decent for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know you concern has been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.