Ratings based on 749 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Whittier, CA

Overpriced and lacking general necessities

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Clean
Cons: Hot water, larger room for breakfast and an appropriate cost
I attempted to shower in the evening, cold water. My mom attempted to shower the following morning, cold water. I am sorry, but hot water is necessary and we had none. We did not even take advantage of the complimentary breakfast, the room was packed and there was no where to site. This is a motel, not a hotel and is not near worth the almost $100/night, should be $60/night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Kym, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenges you faced while at our property. Our breakfast is very popular among our guests, therefore the breakfast room can become crowded at times. We encourage guests who appreciate an unfilled breakfast room to come between the 6:00 am and 7:30 am. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Nice Quiet Hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
we booked the hotel for the weekend, no problem on booking, we got ourselves a nice 2 queen bed room. room was nice and clean, we only spent the nights at the hotel didnt have the need to call for service or anything like that, we really enjoyed the nights, no noises whatsoever.. very convinient location, tons of stores, restaurants and even mechanic shops... will definitelly consider this hotel in our next little vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Eduardo, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are thrilled to hear we are a “nice quiet hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several famous attractions and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

budget hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Although room indicated non-smoking, it had strong smoking odor. Dark and uninviting. Close to fast food. Not too close to ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas Nv

Great Beds

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The beds
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Great location. Close to just about everything we needed.
Although one day our room was not made. we were very pleased with the comfort of the beds. Breakfast could be better. By 8;30 there was not much left to eat, although we were told breakfast was over at 9
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are thrilled to hear our hotel features “great beds”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. Our property participates in an eco-friendly program, in which towels that are hung will not be replaced, but towels left on the floor will. Please know your concern has been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visitor

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Before asking this question I would suggest you to send secret shopers.
Cons: You make your own conclusion from my story.
Location: Read my story above.
I had reserved two rooms for 11-27-14 and 11-28-14 through Expedia, asking them for first floor and rooms next to each other. They charged me on my credit card and told me that there wiil be no cancellation on 11-26-14.which means the two rooms should be garranteed as they were asked for.when I arrived, the front desk told me that they do not guarranty whatever EXPEDIA promisses and started fishing for two rooms on on first or second floor if available.It seamed she tried her best and found two rooms on the second floor. With all my frastration I was thinking that I am still lucky getting this, but if they are getting the payment a day before ,why they don't reserve the room? The hotel does not have any security. All night people were walking, talking loud outside yuo get scarred to go out of your room. The property is not fenced , gives impression that owners do not care about it and it's one of those forgotten properties. I had paid for two rooms for two days. In room #236 after fist night towels were not changed. In room #237 the coffe pot was not cleaned. This was my first time in my life that I did not leave tip in the room for the room service. I will never go to Howard Johnson's again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know that although rooms booked through Expedia are guaranteed, special requests are based on availability. To accommodate your wishes to have neighboring rooms, a courtesy upgrade was granted to make it possible. Our property participates in an eco-friendly linen reuse program, in which only towels on the floor are replaced. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location good but service ...

Posted Dec 2, 2014
We forgot a bag which filled with all our swimming stuff, and 5,6 pairs of shoes. We contacted the front desk as we noticed that in the evening at LAs Vegus after we checked out in the morning. The staff told us she will contact cleaning lady and get back to us. Until we finish the trip and back to Canada, still no word from them. We called again and was told nothing found. Not a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Rose, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not following up with you regarding your lost items. Upon closer inspection, there were no forgotten items found in your guest room. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

Old Townまで歩いて10分程度

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: 値段がリーズナブル/部屋には電子レンジや冷蔵庫が設置されている/買い物が便利
Cons: 壁が薄いせいか、隣の部屋の話し声やいびきが聞こえてくる。
Location: 観光地のOld TownやOld Town駅まで歩いて10分強です。
観光地のOld Townまで10分ちょっとの距離です。バスでも5分程度で行けます。またOld Town駅からDown Townの駅までも10分程度で行けるので車がなくてもアクセス簡単です。(ただし、Old Town駅周辺は夜間は、人通りも少ないので、夕方以降はバスを利用したほうがいいです。) 空港からはタクシーで20ドル程度でした。 大通りを挟んだホテルの向かいには、ショッピングセンター・スターバックス、裏手にはセブンイレブンや各種レストランもあり、買い物にも便利です。ホテル内にはメキシカンレストランもあります。 部屋は広く、冷蔵庫・電子レンジはあります。トイレ・バスもきれいです。バスタブにお湯がためれます。ただ、壁が薄いせいか、隣の部屋の話し声やいびきが聞こえてきますが、この価格であれば、仕方ないですね。 朝食は、ジュース・パン・マフィン・シリアル・ワッフル・ゆで卵・コヒー・紅茶等このレベルでは充実していました。プールサイドでも食べられます。
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
各位ゲスト、 ハワードジョンソンサンディエゴシーワールド/エアポートの見直しに時間を割いていただき、ありがとうございます。あなたが私たちのホテルで楽しい滞在を持っていたと聞いて喜んでいる。私たちは、思い出に残る体験をお客様に提供することに努力して、タスクと達成したととても喜んでいる。あなたが述べたように、我々は中心部サンディエゴの有名な観光スポットのいくつかの近くに位置していて、あなたの滞在中にそれらを楽しむことができましたワクワクしています。私たちは私たちとあなたの次の夜を楽しみにしてとハワードジョンソンサンディエゴシーワールド/エアポートに関するあなたのフィードバックを感謝しています。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ottawa, Canada

Very convenient location

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Fair value, convenient to airport with free hourly shuttle,.Takes about 15 min. Also many restaurants, shops within easy walking distance. Breakfast average. Staff at desk quite helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was “quite helpful”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary airport shuttle services and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Surprisingly nice for the neighborhood

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Breakfast could have a sliver of bacon or sausage.
Location: Unfortunate location. Many homeless people with possessions stacked on grocery carts. I had to wait for one to adjust his load in the parking lot.
It's all in the ratings: pleasant and helpful staff, comfortable accommodations. Breakfast could have used something besides carbohydrates though: syrup, stock do-it-yourself waffle, pastries, cereal--the only thing not carb was a very cold boiled egg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Vic, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson Sand Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are delighted to hear you experience our “pleasant and helpful staff” while at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched that you took notice. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope to see you again, at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indianapolis

Great location, close to everything

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Excellent customer service, very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed In a handicap room with a paralyzed teen. It wa perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Sherry, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are so pleased to hear that you received “excellent customer service” while at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with outstanding quality service and are touched that you took notice. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.