Ratings based on 835 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2015
This hotel has extra hold fee that they don't tell you about plus no onsite management on weekends...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the miscommunication that happened during your stay. It is common practice in the hotel industry to hold an amount to cover incidentals that may happen during your stay. Upon check-out, the funds are released by our hotel. We hope that you would be so kid as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Good enough hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Good location, clean rooms, breakfast was good.
Location: Close to Old Town and easy access to freeways to get to the rest of San Diego.
Everything was as expected. Rooms were clean staff was efficient and pleasant. Nothing special or fancy, but a good value for the price. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear the “staff was efficient and pleasant”. We work hard in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ingolstadt, Germany

Okay low-budget hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: rates, shops nearby, well-sized beds
Cons: room service
Location: Point Loma, mid-city, Sea World
We wanted to stay in San Diego on budget and chose the Howard Johnson Sea World. The hotel is located pretty much in the middle of the city so that it is a short 15 minute drive to the beach or to downtown. It is a good location if you want to do things in different parts of the city and you have a car available. Outside of the hotel you will find some restaurants and shops, but there is nothing really fancy there. When we arrived we experienced a warm welcome. The complementary WiFi is a little tricky, but once you succeed in getting connected it runs okay. From time to time we had some drop-outs through. We missed house keeping a couple of time. We figured out that if you put the “do not disturb” sign up and they pass your room they will not come back later. Sometimes they forgot to refill some small items (like coffee filters, showering shampoo, etc.), so the house keeping service was not the best. The rooms have quite thin walls. We had some room neighbors that preferred to spend their evenings outside talking, we could literally understand every word, so you might want to bring some ear plugs just in case. Overall the stay was okay for the money we spent. Probably there are better hotels around. We might return one day, but also consider other places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Denny, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our location proved beneficial to you, during your stay. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. Our staff respect’s our guests privacy and will not enter a room if the “do not disturb” has been used. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Cons: angenehmere Atmosphäre beim Frühstücken, Teppichböden aus den Zimmern entfernen.
wir waren im Howard Johnson für 5 Nächte im Rahmen einer Rundreise. Es ist ein preiswertes Mittelklassehotel, die kostenlosen Parkplätze sind vor den jeweiligen Eingangstüren. Amerikanisches Frühstück war inbegriffen allerdings war die Atmosphäre im Frühstücksraum nicht sehr angenehm und sehr laut. Ansonsten war alles ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economic hotel, close to the Seaworld

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Attention by Desk persons to room problems.
Location: Best location, all tourist attractions are close by.
Location is good ( noisy at times due to busy road ) daylight is bright in the room. Desk people are poorly responsive to problems .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenge you faced during your stay. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Your concern has been addressed with our staff so that improvements can be made. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Felt cheated...

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Across the street from a mini mall, TJ Maxx, Starbucks, cvs pharmacy, etc.
Cons: Wifi, breakfast, shuttle service
Location: Good location for various restaurants & shops
The shuttle is by appointment only! We arrived at the hotel at noon In hopes of taking the "free" shuttle to Seaworld, we were told that the shuttle was finished for the day because there were no more appointments for the day, even though it's advertised as until 5pm. Needless to say we rented a vehicle that we had no plans to do!!! The wifi kept disconnecting, I had to call technical support at least 3 times in 1 night!! The breakfast consisted of waffles, apples, toast, orange juice...luckily Denny's was a few blocks away!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Kimberly, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the misunderstanding. As you mentioned, our SeaWorld shuttle service does run until 5:00 pm. A reservation of at least 24 hours in advance is required, as advertised on our website. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, AZ

Close to Old Town, Sea World, the zoo.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Rooms are big, clean, comfortable.
Location: Old Town, Sea World and the Zoo are very close. Downtown a bit farther.
Staff is excellent. We arrived very early and the room wasn't ready, but I requested a specific room (we have stayed here before) which was quickly arranged. We left and went to Sea World, didn't get back until after 9pm, but as promised they saved my requested room for me. Check in took all of one minute.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear the “staff is excellent”. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from az

It was an OK hotel.

Posted May 25, 2015
The key didn't work to our room, they didn't have our room ready. Parking was a mess, customer service was okay. Will not br staying Herr again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Moona, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenges you faced during your stay. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff so that improvements can be made. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Close to SeaWorld

Posted May 22, 2015
Nice comfy room. Great value. Nice friendly staff and very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear we have “nice friendly staff and very clean” hotel. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Location

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location to everything. And it was clean with comfortable beds.
Cons: More variety for breakfast, plus update the rooms.
Location: Sea World, Old Town San Diego, a 15 minute drive to Sea Port Village, Gaslamp district, and downtown
Hotel was okay, clean, and beds were comfortable. A little dated, but the lobby was pleasing. Breakfast was nice, not too much variety, just enough to get you started for the day. Good coffee though. Great location, not far to Seaworld, Old Town San Diego, La Jolla, and Downtown, plus SeaPort Village.. Across street was a strip mall with a grocery store, and a few places to eat. Other popular restaurants such as ihop is close by and shopping stores. Hotel staff were great. Very friendly and helpful. It was great to find a safe in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Sg, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our “hotel staff were great”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.