Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Surprisingly nice for the neighborhood

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Breakfast could have a sliver of bacon or sausage.
Location: Unfortunate location. Many homeless people with possessions stacked on grocery carts. I had to wait for one to adjust his load in the parking lot.
It's all in the ratings: pleasant and helpful staff, comfortable accommodations. Breakfast could have used something besides carbohydrates though: syrup, stock do-it-yourself waffle, pastries, cereal--the only thing not carb was a very cold boiled egg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
The staff is pretty nice:) We enjoy the free breakfast, a go-to place lol
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are delighted to hear that our “staff is pretty nice”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we are do offer a complimentary breakfast and are thrilled you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rio rico

Posted Oct 20, 2014
close to sea world and to the beach, was very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Rafael, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are delighted to hear our hotel “was very clean”. We strive in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Room cleanliness, spacious, friendly customer service
Cons: The type of bathroom on the first floor
Location: Sea World, Beaches, Great restaurants
The room is spacious, bathroom is big and the overall room was just clean. So many stores, restaurants and attraction places around the hotel. Housekeepers were on point, friendly customer service. When booking I requested for my room to be on the 2nd floor but i was put on the first floor and didn't like the bathroom but I was moved to the 2nd floor the following morning. I will stay again at this hotel again when next I visit San Diego. You guys rock
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Slimy, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Sea world

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The continental breakfast is poor, no yogurt, no eggs, no sausage. The hair dryer wasn't working and The staff don't resolve the problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Saymar, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Nice hotel close to the beach and only 10 minutes to most the fun places
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Samantha, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom F

Ok hotel, very convenient location.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
The security lock on the door was broken. The wifi would not work and tech support was not helpful. Check in and out was easy enough. The hotel was convenient to San Diego and Sea World. It was ok to stay for my overnight visit. I am on the fence as to whether it was worth the price though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Love San Diego, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Sea World

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Hotel was near Sea World Park. Just spend one night with my family. Great hotel, nice, clean,staff was great. The room was clean, beds and sheets were clean as well. Air conditioner work fine, quiet and nice environment. Overall a great experience and for our next trip to san diego I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We strive in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several famous San Diego attractions and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great for what we needed it for

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Hotel was great for what we needed it for. Location was great. Was there for Marine graduation. Not a place I would stay for vacationing, but was good for a few days for a special event. So close to the depot and main highways. Room and bathrooms were huge. Plenty of space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Cat, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are delighted to hear our “hotel was great” for your needs. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are thrilled to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to balboa park Old town.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger pool
Location: Seaworld,Zoo, Old town
The hotel room was roomy. A lot of military personnel there . Noisy upstairs kids kept jumping till late at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport. We are delighted to hear your “room was roomy”. We strive in providing a well-maintained property and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We always encourage our guests to bring their concerns to our attention, during their stay, so we can best address the situation. We hope that you would be so kind, as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld/Airport.