Ratings based on 1,369 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr. Cuddles from San Francisco

Great spring break w/ kids

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the club quarters, slides and ample towel service. The staff were really nice and accommodating.
Cons: Red Marlin food was good but really rich. They should have coffee bar by the pool.
Location: We went to Belmont and Sea World.
I chose this hotel for my two kids (9 and 7) for several reasons. One because it had a great pool/slides, good kid programs and club quarters. Overall, the pool, slides, fire pits for smores and logistics was great. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The decor is dated and in many ways, shoddy in terms of quality but it was clean and had all the necessary things. If you read the small print re: daily use rate, parking - you won't be surprised. During our stay, it was quite windy and cold but that's possibly because it's in the bay and late spring weather. We also chose the club quarters which had a great breakfast spread and appetizers/dessert. I think my only complaint would be that being so close to Seaworld, you'd have a shuttle that can take you back & forth. The charge for parking is $29/day and then to tack on another $15 at Seaworld is hard to swallow but hard to transport small kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best for families!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Awesome hotel for families! Pool is great! Bon Fire is great! Close to beach or downtown SD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mom from covina ca

Close to SeaWorld

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Convenient location and very friendly staff . my kids loved the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Place to sleep in SD

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Should have been told about $24 / day parking fee and $19 / day resort fee before agreeing to book. Won't be using expedia or staying at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Seattle

Nice hotel at the marina.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Overall the hotel was great. The pools were spacious and fun for kids. Our room was less than desirable. We were in the old building, second floor RIGHT next to the elevators. We heard those things running with very loud people in the all night long. I think this room should have been deeply discounted and we should have been forewarned about the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at mission bay.

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Awesome ! Clean comfy place with a ton of ammenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Cedar Falls, IA

Review of what is advertised.

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was awesome. It was close to SeaWorld. We walked over there two days. And it was a short bus ride to Old Town. And a short walk to the ocean
Cons: Get more transportation. Like shuttles to and from the airport, to SeaWorld, and to the Ocean. An easier way to get the zoo. Better menu choices.
Location: You can walk to SeaWorld and the Pacific Ocean beach. Short bus ride to Old Town.
The room was nice. The bed very comfortable. The view we had was over Mission Bay and it was great. The staff was beyond spectacular. They took care of us efficiently and with big smiles on their faces. They helped us on many occasions with directions or input as to what we should do. Bad things were: there is no ocean view and the three new pools they talk about are nice if you do not want to get wet or have any fun. I think the deepest I saw was three and a half feet deep. And there were signs that said no loud noises or ball throwing or basically having any fun - in a pool that came up to my son and husbands knees. So no pool for us. We could have stayed somewhere for less with no pools. Another thing is - everything is in its own building. The gift shop, restaurants, spa, gym..everything. I like going down to the lobby and seeing and talking to other people. Not here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds. Time for upgrade

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The rooms are WAY overdue for an upgrade. The grounds are lovely, but the rooms are totally outdated.
Comment from
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay. I regret to learn that you were not satisfied with your room, but I certainly appreciate your feedback. I would like to offer you an apology for any inconvenience you experienced as a result. I hope you can view this as an isolated incident and allow us another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you expect from the Hyatt during your next stay in San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cody from Orange County, CA

Nice Hotel Looking Over the Bay

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We went for our anniversary and were more than satisfied with the hotel. The staff was very helpful and the layout of the hotel was really nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meg

Great Hotel close to bay/marina

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Tower had great balcony with view of marina and sunrise.