Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Nice Hotel, but changes if you've been here before

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location - borders Balboa Park and the Hillcrest neighborhood. Easy access to the airport/downtown area. Kitchens and nicely appointed rooms.
Cons: Wifi is no longer free (this appeared to be a fairly recent change), no rooftop breakfast/restaurant, no piano bar/restaurant in the lower level.
Location: Borders Balboa Park and the Hillcrest neighborhood. San Diego Zoo is also an easy walk through the park. Close to downtown and Gaslight area.
First - This is an older hotel is in a beautiful location which borders Balboa park and the Hillcrest neighborhood. The rooms are spacious, modern, and have kitchens. The San Diego Zoo is an easy walk through the beautiful park, and you also have easy access to downtown and the Gaslight area. The airport is 15 minutes away. However, if you have stayed here before, you should know this hotel is currently changing to an ownership model and a few things have changed. There is no longer the restaurant/bar/breakfast on the roof. In addition, the restaurant/piano bar in the lower level is gone as well (currently empty). We, like many others, were sad to see this go. The entertainment was always fun here. The rooms are nicely appointed, however you do get noise from the people above, so beware (it's an old hotel). The staff are very friendly. We were warned to avoid the "ownership pitch / phone call", and we did. We were sorry to see so many changes here in the ownership model. We probably will not return here after coming here for many years based on the changes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2015
I had a wonderful experience. However, I was able to avoid any of the pressure to attend a timeshare meeting. I think I achieved this by not returning any messages to receive the "welcome" package.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, not great

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Nothing
No breakfast provided.. this was really bad and not informed in advance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it. Exceeded my expectations.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: cute, nice neighborhood and staff
large room, tastefully appointed, friendly staff, great location, cute property and room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

San Diego 4 nights

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Staff, Room, Location
Cons: WiFi? but not a deal killer I would stay there again
Location: Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo.
We wanted to see the park and Zoo so being able to walk to those was great. I thought the room was great and really enjoyed being able to relax and make breakfast in the small kitchen in the mornings. The rest of the room was funky and we liked it. We paid for the valet parking which was fine since it was expected. WiFi was $5 a day which was annoying but didn't kill the rest of the experience. Balboa park has free WiFi if you are desperate to save a couple of dollars. I thought the staff were awesome and very personable. Thank you for a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Charming and modern

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Beautiful location. Close to so many great neighborhoods of San Diego, and literally across the street from Balboa Park. Great staff and stylish rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by chesterfrom Mobjack Va

Good place near the park

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was next to my son's place. This is why we selected this hotel instead of the Kimpton downtown. I did not like the timeshare sales pitch when I checked in. A little pushy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom köln

Tolles Hotel Zentral in Stadt

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Gute Ausgangslage für touristische Ziele zu erreichen und abends viele Restaurants/Bars füssläufig zu erreichen! Ganz tolle Zimmer und sehr freundliches hilfsbereites Personal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shirley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Petersburg, FL

The Inn at the Park pleases...

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and stylish rooms.
Cons: They have serious issues with pump noises on most rooms A/C units. A humming noise engages every 4-5 minutes during A/C operation.
Location: Convenient walk to Balboa Park and Hillcrest Restaurants, short drive to downtown, waterfront and airport.
The Inn. at the Park recently joined the Wyndham chain and is undergoing upgrades. We had stayed before when it was the Park Manor and the upgrades are very welcome! The suites are stylish and comfortable and the location on Hillcrest near at Balboa Park and near restaurants is convenient.