Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Looking for the middle of Downtown? Perfect.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Beautiful room, felt very "high end" to me, bed was VERY comfortable, sound system to the TV was nice, valet seems easy to get to.
Cons: Signage to the valet should be improved. Also post it on the website. My room's shower temperature knob was a bit damaged. Worked though.
Location: It's literally in the middle of the Downtown area. Which is a blessing and a curse. Blessing because you can stumble from a bar, but parking sucks.
Beautiful hotel, pleasant staff, a gorgeous room and very comfortable to sit/sleep. It's a very, very, short walk to many great bars/restaurants near by at worst. Valet is a bit pricy, but, worth while when you consider it's right in front. I noticed the signage for it was a bit lacking for me. They should better identify where their own valet is at to better allow their guests to simply get in and get out, fortunately for me my detour around the Gaslamp was welcomed despite how colorful the driving experience may be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
central location, good service, somewhat noisy on weekend nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

"Highly Recommended "

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
Our stay was great, the hotel is great for couples and I highly suggest upgrading to the suite. The location of the hotel is great it's in walking distance of almost everything. The customer service at this hotel is outstanding. We will definitely stay at this hotel again. There were only 2 small fixable issues we had, one was someone pulled the fire alarm at 5am the second was the electronic features on our bathtub did not work the hotel staff was very apologetic and they did make up for it.. Overall we had an amazing stay and highly recommend it to anyone. Fyi there is no pool at this location but they do have a sister property which does have a pool that's available to all guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charlie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Israel

In one word- excellent

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excellent location, nice and clean. Helpful staff
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christianfrom Madrid

Not recommended .... despite being excellent

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
I feel bad making this review or at least making the recommendation NOT to stay there. Here's the reason the hotel is beautifully done design wise, the staff is friendly well beyond what you could expect and the location in the Gaslamp district is good......however being in a "happening" area you obviously have to expect some noise but but but the hotel is subject to deafning music venues on both sides to a level where I in my room could hear the lyrics and heavy heavy base untill late at night hence couldnt sleep. So despite a lot of things going for the hotel the fact you will find it difficult to sleep means "not recommended"....unless you are out partying yourself and dont come home till the musci venues close --- sorry guys because you are truly excellent hotel hosts
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jamiefrom LA

Interesting...

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
When we first showed up there were cops at the hotel but the front desk would not tell us why we were there. It was also a bit noisy from other guests in the middle of the night. Overall it was fine and they comped our valet and delivered a hand written card to our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adamfrom Santa Monica, CA

Location Location Location

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Everything was modern and clean. The shower not having a door/with vaulted ceilings makes you cold on your front or back (whatevers not under water) a small price to pay for the great location. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops. I'd definitely stay again for the rate I paid ($145).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Great location to the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Feb 3, 2015
My wife and I attended the San Diego Black Film Festival, locally screening films at the Reading Cinemas in the Gaslamp Quarter. The Keating Hotel made our stay even very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Perhaps the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: the beds were comfy, loved the decor.
Cons: try an area rug under the bed and padding behind the headboard to muffle a bit of the sound?
Location: close to everything.
this hotel is surrounded on 3 sides by night clubs. one...Coyote Ugly. I love to party and have a good time, however, I'd like to go to my room, shut the door and go to sleep. the concrete floors only resonated the heart thumping bass. seriously, our bed was vibrating with the sound. when my hubby called to ask if this was normal, the guy said, yep. when asked if all rooms were this loud he said...I don't know. when asked what time the music stopped he said, dont know...they don't give us a copy of their schedule. nice customer service.