Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Looking for the middle of Downtown? Perfect.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Beautiful room, felt very "high end" to me, bed was VERY comfortable, sound system to the TV was nice, valet seems easy to get to.
Cons: Signage to the valet should be improved. Also post it on the website. My room's shower temperature knob was a bit damaged. Worked though.
Location: It's literally in the middle of the Downtown area. Which is a blessing and a curse. Blessing because you can stumble from a bar, but parking sucks.
Beautiful hotel, pleasant staff, a gorgeous room and very comfortable to sit/sleep. It's a very, very, short walk to many great bars/restaurants near by at worst. Valet is a bit pricy, but, worth while when you consider it's right in front. I noticed the signage for it was a bit lacking for me. They should better identify where their own valet is at to better allow their guests to simply get in and get out, fortunately for me my detour around the Gaslamp was welcomed despite how colorful the driving experience may be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
central location, good service, somewhat noisy on weekend nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Great location to the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Feb 3, 2015
My wife and I attended the San Diego Black Film Festival, locally screening films at the Reading Cinemas in the Gaslamp Quarter. The Keating Hotel made our stay even very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Perhaps the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: the beds were comfy, loved the decor.
Cons: try an area rug under the bed and padding behind the headboard to muffle a bit of the sound?
Location: close to everything.
this hotel is surrounded on 3 sides by night clubs. one...Coyote Ugly. I love to party and have a good time, however, I'd like to go to my room, shut the door and go to sleep. the concrete floors only resonated the heart thumping bass. seriously, our bed was vibrating with the sound. when my hubby called to ask if this was normal, the guy said, yep. when asked if all rooms were this loud he said...I don't know. when asked what time the music stopped he said, dont know...they don't give us a copy of their schedule. nice customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Awesome Boutique Hotel walk to everthing

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Staff was great and friendly. Hotel in great renovated condition. The only negative is the Bar under the hotel and the hard rock hotel on the corner. Since there is no noise ordinance the loud music and cigarette smoke permeates the hotel even on the 3rd floor, lasted until about 2am each night. To the hotels credit they did add an extra dual pane window to cut down on some of the noise, but its hard to claim a non smoking hotel in my opinion when that's all you smell in the reception lobby and elevator..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by BRYNNfrom St. Louis, MO

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
I loved this room but especially the service! My stay was absolutely great. Great boutique hotel in a great location. Champagne on arrival, friendly front desk, awesome decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Perfect Downtown Location - Modern, Cool + Quirky

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location - walking to a million restaurants. Close to the bay. About a mile from Balboa park. By the mall. Quirky/fun room. If you like modern.
Cons: The room could be a bit more practical. I.e. no bedside lights, and a few other minor things. Barebones services. Slow elevator.
Location: Eat, shop, visit Balboa park Zoo and museums (short uber ride or walk a bit over a mile), enjoy SD bay.
My wife and I split our trip to SD into 2 days here, two days on Mission Beach and 2 days at La Jolla. It was a great way to explore the city. I ran from different locations every morning, and then we explored what SD had to offer during the day. Perfect location to explore downtown restaurants, SD bay, the outdoor mall, and Balboa park (zoo, gardens, museums). We used Uber to move around instead of renting a car for more distant locations and this worked out great. We chose this property for the central downtown location. You can reach a million restaurants within a half mile radius. I ran in the morning to Balboa park and Embarcadero. We liked the hotel itself fine. The room was modern, quirky and fun. There was plenty of storage under the bed. The espresso machine in the room was nice. The tech in the room was state of the art circa 2005, but who cares. Turn down service includes a few chocolates every night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

Perfect for couples

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Hotel itself was quiet and each room was secluded because of the small number of hotel rooms. Room was huge and the bath and shower were so relaxing. The perfect place for couples to come and have some privacy. We stayed during the week, so it was relatively quiet on the streets, but I could see it getting noisy on the weekends. Overall great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kennethfrom Honolulu, HI

My stay at the Keating Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
My friend and I have travelled all over together and are always on the hunt for high end properties with unique flair. Unless it's the 4 seasons, we avoid chains. We almost didn't stay here based on some of the reviews, but I'm SO glad we did! This is probably my all time favorite hotel. Definitely a sexy place to stay with a romantic partner. Our unit had a full bar, which we went through (I would suggest to management that they replace what you drink to make more money) and a really nice espresso machine. Even without the sassy touches, the room is extremely nice. I didn't find the outside noise to be problematic, and I'm a very light sleeper. I'm told they recently put in new windows. It was very clean and whenever we needed ice, towels, more coffee pods, etc. they brought them up within 5 minutes with a smile. We were especially pleased with the customer service, especially the front desk worker Chris. He really made our trip and was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the place. This is right in the middle of the tourist/military/college kid part of town. We couldn't find any decent food and all the bars were raunchy. It was like bizarro Waikiki. Luckily, we had a rental car and I would suggest you consider that option if you stay here and don't like block frat parties. Leave yourself 30 minutes for valet.