Ratings based on 2,244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Very happy with our stay!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
I agonized over not having enough funds for a "on the beach hotel stay" but I am so happy we went with Kings Inn. I honestly did not know what to expect and read decent reviews, the cost was within our budget and we were pleasantly surprised! The staff was great, the Waffle Spot had amazing food, and there are laundry facilities which saved us. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. With two kids we had lots of fruit and drinks (water, juice, milk) with us and the refrigerators were the bigger size which was amazing. There was a coffee machine, free, in the main lobby so every morning we walked in for coffee. There was an awesome seating area by the pool and the kids had alot of fun! In between the beds was a side table which had two charging stations/plugs and usb for all our devices each night. We can't wait to return and enjoy our next stay. Sad when it was time to leave. The only issue we had were a few ants, but the front desk and maintenance were quick to respond and spray with some organic cinnamon spray which was not an issue. I think the way people respond when there are issues says alot about the place. We did need to throw out our food each night and watch what was left out as they indicated the ants look for food so placing everything in the fridge was a great tip from the staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Cons: hotel amenities
Not worth the $$$. Internet connection is so slow and most of the time not connecting. Room is so small just enough space to fit our luggages at the bottom of the beds. Bathroom is tiny. Use of computer and printing has extra fee. So is the use of microwave and fridge. Won't stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

tuesday following stay

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: leaving
Cons: everything 70 ish motel upgraded they said would hate to see what it looked like before upgrade slums
Location: moved to courtyard of marriott in old town same rate per night
guaranteed a king bed didnt get it then upgraded to pool side but so was 40 other rooms room stunk from mildew smell housekeeping was aware of the room so mgmt moved to another two rooms same smell and nasty area and guests called and had money refunded would not recommend this motel to anyone i would have rather stayed in my rental car
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boynton Beach, FL

Short stay in San Diego

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Very nice, affordable, clean, friendly hotel. Waffle Spot was great for breakfast. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Ok, but free Wi-Fi was down one night

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Cons: Wi-Fi was out of work one night.
Location: Close to Highway. Perfectly to reach Sea World in 12 Minutes
We two guys were there for two nights up to San Diego Zoo and Sea World. The lodge was in good condition, clean and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Nice place to stay with kids

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: That it was clean and in a good area.
Location: Sea World and Old Town San Diego
I really enjoyed staying here with my family. I have two boys that enjoyed using the pool which was heated and clean. The room is a really nice size plenty of room especially if you have kids. The bathroom was kind of of little but not too bad. The room had a tile floor which seemed to be clean as well as the room the only area that I found to be dirty was the shelf on top of the closet. There was a refrigerator in the room but no coffee maker which I knew so I brought my own. While there we ate at the waffle spot which is a little restaurant on site and the food was really good I just think it was a little over priced they should maybe offer different types of specials. They give you 4 pillows per bed which was awesome but the bed was not the most comfortable maybe they should upgrade, however for two nights I was able to deal with it. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice clean place to stay. While there I never saw any bugs in the room which is always a good thing. Oh and if you need groceries I would go to the store first before going to check in because once you are their its kinda a pain to leave because its located on a long strip of hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia, MO

Great pool.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Expedia charged us for parking through misleading wording when we booked. All the parking was free. Beware.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The staff was great & the 2 restaurants were very good. The pool was so refreshing and clean. The only little problem I had was 7 ants in my bed & only tiny bottle of shampoo. Other than that, we loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Loved this hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
This hotel was very old styled which gave it a very unique flavor that I loved. The rooms themselves had been updated for the times and were very comfortable. The waffle spot restaurant built right inside the lobby is a must have. Never got a chance to try the amigo Mexican restaurant, but it seemed nice enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA.

Good for the price.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Beds were firm, a little softer would be nice.
Location: Great location. Close to everything a visitor wants to see.
Great staff. Very nice. The spa was nice but closes to early (10p). After a long day you get back to the hotel late and want to relax in the spa but it is already closed.