Ratings based on 2,143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA.

Good for the price.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Beds were firm, a little softer would be nice.
Location: Great location. Close to everything a visitor wants to see.
Great staff. Very nice. The spa was nice but closes to early (10p). After a long day you get back to the hotel late and want to relax in the spa but it is already closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dixon, CA

Good location, clean, friendly place.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms, conveniently located. Bartender even gave me a free beer to take to my room when I walked in right after his closing of the register. 2 restaurants on the premises. Pool and hot tub. I only wished it had a gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to Sea World

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Hotel staff was very friendly, pool was clean, and room was cozy!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from The Villages, FL

Ready for updating

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Children and adults enjoyed the pool area. Told at check-in that they did not have adjoining rooms. Surprised to find door between our rooms(?).
Cons: Staff, amenities and decor.
Location: In the center of everything we wanted to see and do.
Older hotel showing its age. Location excellent and pricing attractive for families. Restaurants VERY poor... overcrowded at mealtime and pricey lower quality food. Learned first day of much better alternatives just down the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Staff Friendly and Helpful

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The employees were very helpful and friendly at the front desk.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms. The carpets probably need to be replaced.
Location: The location was perfect! Very close to San Diego's attractions and downtown.
We had a problem with our first room and the night manager was very helpful in getting us a new room. The rooms are very dated, though, and not exactly the cleanest. Believe all the reviews about the Amigo Spot. Definitely not worth the money! The breakfast at the Waffle Spot was pretty good, although pricey for what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso texas

Very nice hotel !

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: It is very clean, and quite
Location: Close to everywhere, easy access to downtown, seaside ...
This hotel was the best they just updated their rooms !! Take it from me , it was also close to everything , don't believe any critical reviews I promise it's awesome !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Hotel close to Sea World!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Sea World, it was about a 7 or 8 minute drive. Friendly Staff.
Cons: Doors the meet the floor to make the room more quite.
Location: Sea World, Downtown San Diego, and San Diego Zoo.
The pool was nice. You can tell the age of the hotel upon walking into it. The bathrooms are tiny and you can take off a toe if you do not watch it when closing the door. Kids were running by the room and you can hear everything. Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. My wife also got bit by something. There was hair still on one of the sheets in the room. I think that you could find a room elsewhere for better quality for similar prices on a weekday! There hotel map has a pizza restaurant menu on the back. We ordered Pizza from this place, the delivery guy showed up fast and the pizza was good. If you have kids the are rowdy and want to stay close to Sea World, stay here. The hotel is not bad, I just do not think I will be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Close to everything, had good restaurants on site

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We had no complaints at all during our stay. The beds were made a little strangely (look for blankets in the dresser drawers!) but were clean. Nice enough pool, friendly staff. Not the newest place in town, but nice nonetheless. We didn't drive to San Diego to hang out at the hotel anyway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fontana CA

great location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: in room refrigerator, on sight waffle spot, and so close to all the places we wanted to visit
Cons: defiantly parking
Location: everything was within a 10 to 15 min drive!! so close and we loved it!
we stayed here for our one year anniversary. we loved it! it was close to all the places we wanted to visit. the room was comfortable and "homey" it had a small refrigerator which was really convenient for all our drinks. one thing we did not like was that parking was a bit of a hassle. don't know if we happened to go on a weekend that was all booked, because it took us a bit to find parking and when we did it was a bit far. one great thing was that the waffle spot was right in the lobby so getting breakfast was so close by!!! we loved the bacon waffles!! they were so yummy!! over all it was a great weekend and a great stay. we would defiantly stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Close to Sea World and the Zoo

Posted Jun 25, 2014
This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel. The first time we had a ground floor room on the street side. I could hear everything that went on all night long. The voices of people passing by sounded like they were in our room and the beds were so hard. I did not get a restful nights sleep at all but the price was cheap. The floor was tile and the dirtiest I have seen in a while. My socks were black after only a few minutes. This time around they have remodeled the rooms. Our room was on the upper level right by the long and had carpet. Big improvement from our last stay. The room was very quiet, however the bed was still hard as a rock so I still could not sleep. Another improvement is that I did not get black socks. One of the tubs in our room was not cleaned at all, you could see the dirty feet marks from the guest before us on the floor and they did wash off when I took a shower so it was not a stain. The staff, in person, are great! Over the phone they were short with me, maybe they were busy. The main reason we came back was for the two restaurants located on premises. They are not 5 star restaurants but are tasty and very convenient when you are tired and hungry from walking around Sea World all day. The improvements they are making seem great as long as they can maintain the rooms. Nobody likes getting dirty black feet.