Ratings based on 933 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to hang out

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The overall vibe of the hotel.
Location: We just stayed at the hotel and enjoyed the views from the balconies, the private beach and the restaraunt/bar.
Very nice, clean hotel with great views. The rooms were nice and clean and the food at the restaraunt was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, On

Outstanding Resort!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Cool location w view of downtown and ocean, close to the city, beautiful Hawaiian style decor, amazing amenities, 5-star restaurant, great staff
We stayed 2 nights for my birthday and it was fabulous from beginning to end. Although we stayed when the weather was cold, and didn't get to experience all of the amazing amenities, we still had a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Very peaceful setting!!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Cons: WiFi was not the strongest but then again we where on vacation so it was nice not having the distraction of social media.
Great place to stay. You can go and be a part of all the activities San Diego has to offer and then retreat to the peaceful setting of Kona Kai to relax either by sitting on their private beach, at their pool/hot tub area or on your balcony watching all the amazing boats travel in and out of the bay. Bring comfy shoe as you will do a lot of walking strolling by the water. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was some of the best we had while we where there and the rooms where very clean. If we ever make it back to San Diego I would definitely go back and stay at Kona Kai.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Hotel is in the mist of renovation process. Construction being done on several buildings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tab from West Covina.

Over priced yet a nice stay.

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
This review is relative to price, not a comparison to other hotels. At roughly $300 a day I believe this hotel is overpriced. At check in we were told of a multi-million refit. Honestly, It was just warmed over. The furniture was the same as before the renovation, all worn, nicked, dented and scratched. The complex was was very quiet and peaceful. The restaurant and bar were excellent. The food was fantastic! Views were great on both sides of the hotel and parking was very easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kara from Sonoma, CA

A shame, really.

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Standard check-in was 4pm which is later than most hotels, but when we arrived then it wasn't ready, nor was it until after 5pm. When we finally did get our room, they were good enough to give us a slight upgrade and a free appetizer in the restaurant, where the menu was interesting and the food was wonderful (the porcini-encrusted sea bass was heaven). But there was loud live music until 7pm (not bad just really loud), and when the canned music started it was awful ... like most restaurants I suppose but it wasn't pleasant to say the least. The biggest complaint about the neighborhood was that the fog horn sounded ALL NIGHT. The staff was quite helpful, it just seemed that overall the hotel was mis-managed or under-staffed or both. Won't stay there again, and definitely do not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on Shelter Island. Beautiful views

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Would highly recommend this hotel. Quiet location. Friendly staff. Great restaurant and bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexander from San Diego

You go there for the environment.

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
Hard to beat the environment, typical San Diego tropicalismo, gorgeous views. The room was cozy and clean, I liked the sort of bold decor of the rooms. The bed was comfortable. The overall decor and appearance is very pleasing. The breakfast of "pastry basket" was forgettable. 4 small danishes in the process of approaching the end of freshness. We did not have any other types of food. The rooms have no night lights so if the lights are out it is pitch dark and you can't even find a light switch - a bit inconvenient. Overall the few negatives are dwarfed by the positives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amy from Temecul, Ca

Amazing Stay!

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
Kona Kai is becoming my families favorite place to stay in San Diego. The rooms are nice and the views are amazing. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. We would highly recommend this hotel. And if going to the Spa ask for a Pure Fiji treatment.