Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Twila from Albuquerque, NM

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Having coffee makers in the room would be nice.
Location: About 2 blocks to the beach; next door or a block away, both directions are really good restaurants and nice shops. Segway tours about 1/2 block away
Stayed at La Avenida because I didn't want to pay the exorbitant prices at Del Coronado. Was very pleased with this hotel. It actually is nicely situated, more so than the Del, close to shops, good restaurants, and still close to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel style hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The position
Cons: The staff are ok but slightly cool especially the receptionist on the morning shift of Tues 10th June.
Location: Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby
This hotel was much better than I expected and had the added bonus of complementary coffee and pastries and fruit for breakfast. The location is excellent on Coronado Island with shops and restaurants nearby. There is also a public bus that can take you to the bay side of Coronado and this is free of charge in the summer months. A nice relaxing area and the famous Del coranado hotel is just across the street. Would recommend as a good value motel/hotel in a great position
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by VA

Simple and conveniently located

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Great location for the price. Close to beach, shops and bars (all walking distance).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted May 25, 2014
Cons: The wifi didn't work for us and the front desk couldn't figure it out. First world problems but still kind of a bummer as that town shuts down at 10:0
This place was solid. Decent rooms, decent bed, good price and very close to Hotel Del and right on Orange Ave. Couldn't ask for anything better for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from Dartmouth, Ma

We really enjoyed the location of the hotel

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: The location, cleanliness and friendly staff.
Cons: A little noisy at the back of the hotel.
Location: Breakfast at Claytons, recommended by the staff, dinner at Leroy's and lunch on the deck at the Hotel Del Coronado, all a short walk from La Avenida.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was just what we needed, comfortable and clean. The location of the room at the back of the hotel was noisy during the night as you could hear the nearby restaurants closing up and the post office behind the hotel loads up the trucks early in the morning. I would definitely stay there again and just ask for a room further away from the back. You are so close to the Hotel Del Coronado that you can wander the grounds, go to the beach behind the hotel and enjoy the "Del" without the high price tag of staying there! All in all a very good choice for our stay in Coronado.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: The location is the best thing about this place.
Cons: The bathroom.
Location: The Hotel Del Coronado is across the street and it's a great place to visit and have drinks and dinner.
La Avenida Inn is close to the beach, restaurants and shops. It's on Orange, the main drag through Coronado, which is a good and a bad thing because it's convenient, but sometimes noisy. Our room was nice and clean, but the bathroom was dated and in need of refurbishing - linoleum floors and fiberglass shower, with weak water pressure, and it needs a little paint in places. We were on the ground floor and the guests in the room above us must have had kids with a basketball that they dribbled in the room at 7:00 in the morning. It was annoying, but it wasn't the hotel's fault. The staff was very nice and accommodating. We needed an extra blanket and an a hair dryer and they were both promptly provided, although I would think a blow dryer should be in every room. For the price, everything was fine, given its location on Coronado. It was a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

very nice hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
nice hotel + perfect location + light breakfast + excellent service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by corinne from yorba linda, ca

Great location, good price

Posted Apr 7, 2014
This is an older, small property but very clean and well mainted. Complimentary continental breakfast and friendly staff. Great location. Voucher given for free appetizer at several restaurants. Would definitely recommend and stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frugal Traveler from Tucson AZ

Awesome Hotel in the middle of Everything

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Arrived Friday afternoon, pleasant staff member greeted us as soon as we walked thru the door, she said she needed to check if the room was ready and it was. Checked in by 2 PM, into a room right next to the pool on the first floor. Room was spacious and spotless with a huge king bed with extra pillows in the closet. Lots of outlets to plug in electronic chargers. Parking was 50 feet max from our door. Later that evening when the parking lot filled up getting to all the car doors was an issue because the parking spaces were very narrow (driving a Honda CRV). For location it couldn't be beat. It was walking distance to many good shops & restaurants, right across the street from the Hotel Del and minutes from the beach. Only negative comment I have was the free breakfast. On Saturday morning there was coffee, both regular and decaf, and hot water to make tea. In a bowl was three green apples and on the counter was cake serving platter with pastries that looked like someone open a "Little Debbie's" bag and slide them on the platter. With Bruegger's Bagels next door it was an easy choice to get a coffee and tea from the hotel and go get a couple of bagels next door. There were comments in previous reviews about noise, we didn't find it as an issue. What you get is a very clean, comfortable room, at 25% of the cost of the Hotel Del. When checking out, I took several of their business cards to share with friends. We'll be trying to go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

I took my nieces for their first trip to Coronado.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Convenient. Tidy. Benny.
Cons: Beds.
Location: Restaurants were fun and tasty. Beach was close and not crowded. Love the upscale feel of Coronado.
I usually stay at the del or el cordoba. My friend Who stays there all the time recommended your hotel. My nieces and I enjoyed our stay. Benny was amazing. We loved him. So helpful. The hotel was close to the beach and very nice, tidy and clean. Our only complaint was that the beds were too hard. Other than that everything was awesome. Thank you