Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2015
we were celebrating our birthdays... perfect choice
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Decent staff. Outdated rooms

Posted Jan 20, 2015
For the price I would have expected a lot nicer room. The hotel is on the other side of street from the beach. The bedroom is back of the room and backs to a noisy hallway. The one fuzzy tv is in the front room and in a cubby next to the floor. There is no tv in the bedroom and the place has small little space heaters for heat. The continental breakfast was sparse at best. At over 260 bucks, they should update.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Friendly staff. Cozy family style room setting. Home away from home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view but VERY dated and run down

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff and view.
Cons: Update the furniture, appliances in bathroom, kitchenette and living area. they appear not to have been changed in 45 years.
Location: Location is beautiful.
Very disappointed in room. Shocked actually for the price. Very dated and run down furniture and kitchen appliances, etc. No TV in bedroom. Old TV in living room. However, Hotel staff were great and view was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff great views Parking is not free.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
The manager comped my parking when I was having difficulties. Very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom napa, ca

Great location

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Grat location, convenient across from the park and one block from Prospect Street. Small room, but bedding was great. (One cleanliness issue addressed with the desk). Motel layout has guest and staff traffic going past windows of the room so not really quiet. Staff very nice and accommodating-overheard great guest interaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Spectacular View

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Great stay! Close to the water, snorkelling, seals, good pool and hot tub (warm up after snorkelling), phenomenal view eating breakfast and from room, suite was spacious! Staff were all great! Would go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Nice View

Posted Jan 11, 2015
No frills, comfortable hotel with emphasis on the ocean view. Good price for the location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yuma winter visitor

Reasonable hotel , clean , dated but a great view.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Include parking in the room fee. Provide some more glasses and dishes.
Location: Anice location with a great view. Good for walking, biking, swimming, kayaking, fishing.
The view is great, right across the street from a park and the ocean. The rooms are very basic, no air conditioning, no central heat, they have a space heater on the floor, that we did not need in early January. In your mini kitchen you get two plates, two sandwich plates, two glasses, two cups, two soup bowls. two forks, two knives. Breakfast on the enclosed roof is very good and scenic. Cross the street and take a walk on a paved path, watch the seals, people swimming, fishing from kayaks. Bring a set of binoculars. Restaurants are close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

3rd stay: great views, basic accommodation

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Dated bathrooms
Location: Across the street from the La Jolla Cove, you can hear sea lions at night. Just down the bend from the main business streets
Incredible locations in a very basic hotel. No frills, especially for those taking advantage of their no-view, single queen rooms. Bathrooms are sub basic, but clean. Shower pressure is hit or miss. Took advantage of great communal courtyard with BBQs, heated salt water pool and hot tub. Roof top complimentary breakfast always takes the cake and keeps me coming back.