Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

The LOCATION is a 10, accommodations a 5 or 6.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Suites need to be updated. The shower floor in our room was peeled so badly, I wouldn't stand in it without hand towels on the floor!
Location: We were there for business, so not much free time. Walking along the Coast Road was really pleasant, and the town begs to be explored!!
Check-in and check-out are slow. First room we were given had a window (at the walkway) that would not lock. Back to the front desk and we were told they were full, and we would need to pay an additional $30/night for an upgrade. The layout of the "upgraded" room was not nearly as comfortable as the first room. There is also a $20/night fee for parking in the parking lot/garage. Understandable that they would charge to park since this resort is directly across the street from a park/beach area, and they probably need to monitor how many cars park in the lot for beach access, but I feel the parking fee should be waived for hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superior Location/Great for Families

Posted Oct 13, 2014
I don't think there is a better spot for families to stay at La Jolla Cove. You are within walking distance to numerous small beaches where you can swim, snorkel, scuba diveand watch seals/sea lions. You can also walk a short distance and take in all the shopping and dining of La Jolla. Back at the hotel, the breakfast on the terrace has to be one of the best spots to dine in La Jolla....ocean views all around you. The terrace pool and hot tub area is private and very nice. We loved the soft water of the salt pool. They have nice gas barbecues and picnic tables. We had a one bedroom deluxe. It was over 900 square feet with a full kitchen, dining area, living room and separate bedroom. The sofa bed in the living room was nice. The bathroom was dated but was a good size. Ocean view balconies are very fun to see the see the ocean and all the sea sport enthusiats who use the Cove. We enjoyed the area more during the weekdays (quieter), but even the weekend crowds were reasonably quiet at night. The parking is expensive, but it is a good place to park. The staff was quite helpful, but they could use more help at 4 pm check in time. They keep the hotel very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fruita CO

One night beach stay

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Loved location close to beach. Construction going on across the street. Bad smell from seals on the beach. Room was fine sofa sleeper was nice. Bedroom hot and stuffy. No air conditioning. Checked out and told they could have provided portable air conditioner. Would have been nice to know when checked in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, Mo

Just what we were looking for

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location!! The staff was GREAT, the room was comfortable and exceptionally clean. Anything we needed they provided, with a smile.
Cons: The rooms could definitely use some updating for the cost and add a few more things to the rooftop breakfast, omelets come to mind. :)
Location: Everything you could want within a 10-20 min walk or 5-10 min drive; restaurants, tennis, surfing, swim, kayaks, snorkeling,scuba,fishing,caves etc.
We've been to La Jolla before, my boyfriend lived their, but this is the first time we stayed at La Jolla Cove Suites. You can not beat the location or the view from the corner room, which is exactly what we asked for, and received. Thank You!!! :) Every staff member was warm and friendly. We loved our housekeeper! We had a problem with our TV on the rare occasion that we watched it,but one call to the front desk and they sent up Juan, with a new tv. It took only a few minutes to install, and we were good to go. We loved starting our day with coffee and breakfast on the rooftop and ending it in the evening by grabbing a bottle of wine, and sitting on our deck to watch the sunset. Things you should know… If you spend a lot of time in your hotel room instead of living life in La Jolla, this is not the place for you. If you are opposed to the sea lion smell that occasionally drifts your way, you have forgotten, this is their habit, and the sea lions are kind enough to share their space with us. If you are looking for an omelet, you will be disappointed but there are lovely staff members, ready to take your order, for a freshly made waffle. Other choices include cereal, milk, many juices, coffee, latte's, double shots, etc.This hotel may not be perfect for all travelers, but it was absolutely the right choice for us. We have already planned another stay, in our corner room with the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great location and staff

Posted Oct 7, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at La Jolla Suite. Excellent location, staffs were very friendly, and so many different things to do around the hotel. Our room was little dated, but considering everything around and what you could do, this is definitely the place to be. There are ton of nice restaurants, shopping, sightseeing, swimming, ... My daughter enjoyed playing at La Jolla Cove, which is just 5-min walking distance. I would recommend you getting the balcony with ocean view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Had a great stay. Only surprise was the $20 a day to park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Great location!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Room was clean and comfortable. No AC, but I knew from other reviews to ask for a portable one and they brought it right up. This place was kind of noisy - the AC unit helped block the loud door closings. Fabulous location and breakfast on the roof was really enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check-in Fiasco

Posted Oct 2, 2014
It took us two hours to check because they did not have a room ready.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The hotel was lovely! The staff was great.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: location was great. room was great.
Cons: nothing. The animals in along the coves were a bit 'fragrant' at times, but that's nature.
Great location. I was with my 5 yo son and my mom. My son loved the pool and the cove and my mom loved being able to go for ocean walks. I loved it all. The room was great and gave plenty of room for us to 'live' for our vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sierra foothills

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The view and location. Also pleasant roof garden for the continental breakfast.
Cons: Their organizational skills. I would recommend this hotel only with caveats.
Location: wonderful location across from the beach a short walk to the village.
Though we were reserved more than a month in advance for a two day stay in the SAME room with a sea view, they attempted to move us on the second day to an inferior room and added insult to injury by insisting that it was a better room. The furniture in the two rooms was identical but that's where it ended. The first room was a corner which gave us a great sea view and had an enclosed kitchen. The second room was a shoe box with one window, an exposed kitchen and a noisy walkway out side the bedroom window. I ask you which was better? We wasted two hours mid day on a short two-day visited sorting out their mistake which was never explained to us.