Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

5 star location, 2 star room. 3 star facility.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location Breakfast views
Cons: The room.
Location: The obvious: the seals and sea lions and birds. Beautiful setting. Great restaurants and shops. Torrey Pines hike plus beach is worth a half day.
My wife and I split our trip to SD into 2 days here, two days on Mission Beach and 2 days Downtown. It was a great way to explore the city. I ran from different locations every morning, and then we explored what SD had to offer during the day. We chose this property for its location. The hotel is across the street from the ocean and sea life, and you can take the stairs to get to the heart of La Jolla restaurants and shops. Free breakfast was just ok, but the views from the top of the hotel where breakfast is served can't be beat. We also enjoyed one sunset here (bring your own food if you wish). The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool and Jacuzzi seemed nice, but we did not try them. The room is... basic and barely good enough to be functional (fine for just crashing at the end of the day). The bathroom is twice the size of your typical airplane bath (if you include the shower). The decor is dated. They have a floor heater if needed and a fan (no air conditioning but we needed none as it was winter). Its noisy as people walk by your room. The bed was comfortable enough. The room is basically a cheap motel. Would we stay here again? Maybe. We really knew what we were getting and thought it was well worth it to be able to check out the seals and sea lions on early morning runs and late in the day after coming back from another activity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2015
we were celebrating our birthdays... perfect choice
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Decent staff. Outdated rooms

Posted Jan 20, 2015
For the price I would have expected a lot nicer room. The hotel is on the other side of street from the beach. The bedroom is back of the room and backs to a noisy hallway. The one fuzzy tv is in the front room and in a cubby next to the floor. There is no tv in the bedroom and the place has small little space heaters for heat. The continental breakfast was sparse at best. At over 260 bucks, they should update.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Friendly staff. Cozy family style room setting. Home away from home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view but VERY dated and run down

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff and view.
Cons: Update the furniture, appliances in bathroom, kitchenette and living area. they appear not to have been changed in 45 years.
Location: Location is beautiful.
Very disappointed in room. Shocked actually for the price. Very dated and run down furniture and kitchen appliances, etc. No TV in bedroom. Old TV in living room. However, Hotel staff were great and view was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff great views Parking is not free.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
The manager comped my parking when I was having difficulties. Very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom napa, ca

Great location

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Grat location, convenient across from the park and one block from Prospect Street. Small room, but bedding was great. (One cleanliness issue addressed with the desk). Motel layout has guest and staff traffic going past windows of the room so not really quiet. Staff very nice and accommodating-overheard great guest interaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Spectacular View

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Great stay! Close to the water, snorkelling, seals, good pool and hot tub (warm up after snorkelling), phenomenal view eating breakfast and from room, suite was spacious! Staff were all great! Would go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Nice View

Posted Jan 11, 2015
No frills, comfortable hotel with emphasis on the ocean view. Good price for the location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yuma winter visitor

Reasonable hotel , clean , dated but a great view.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Include parking in the room fee. Provide some more glasses and dishes.
Location: Anice location with a great view. Good for walking, biking, swimming, kayaking, fishing.
The view is great, right across the street from a park and the ocean. The rooms are very basic, no air conditioning, no central heat, they have a space heater on the floor, that we did not need in early January. In your mini kitchen you get two plates, two sandwich plates, two glasses, two cups, two soup bowls. two forks, two knives. Breakfast on the enclosed roof is very good and scenic. Cross the street and take a walk on a paved path, watch the seals, people swimming, fishing from kayaks. Bring a set of binoculars. Restaurants are close by.