Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden fees

Posted Jan 16, 2015
You could park two blocks away for 10 bucks.. 50.00 put on card for incidentals even though I told them I wasn't going to utilize anything.. Shower alternated between hot and cold...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, Ca

Great view of the ocean!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and wished the next night was available so we could stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

This is NOT where you want to stay.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Cons: Maintainence. Very poor upkeep of what could be a much nicer place.
Location: Watch the seals at Children's Pool. Great ocean cliff side park across the street. La Jolla Colony shopping. La Jolla Cave store
Staff was polite. No parking included, but for an extra $10 you can park 2 blocks away! Otherwise you hunt for street parking in an area with few parking options, and all of them time limited to 2 or 3 hours from 8 am until 6 pm. Checked into room 5, one of the street level rooms. Long black stains on the carpet, an AC unit held together with box tape, bent lampshades and drapes that don't completely block out the light. Toilet took forever to drain, a real adventure in anticipation when it came to flushing time. Perhaps the management will say this is an atypical occurrence, but from the state of our room it looks like poor maintainence and neglect are the norm here. Move down the street, you will be glad you did.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleaner, better pillows, more and new towels
Location: You could walk everywhere in the Village. The beach was close by. We never used our car. Stayed 2 nights.
Busy & noisey corner. Noise from club across the street late at nite. Good location. Had ocean views from Glass door and window. Pillows were lumpy. Carpet was spotted. Need new laundry appliances and more towels. Towels were worn and thin. Housekeeping ran out of towels. So we would sometimes have 1 wash cloth or 1 hand towe. Staff was very good about finding towels or bringing them to our room later.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Spend a little more somewhere else

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location and free parking around the corner were the only positives to this hotel. The carpet in the rooms was incredibly stained along with the upholstery on the chairs. The sheets were stained with hairs in them. The sink was clogged and the remote stopped working late at night. The front desk closes at midnight however, so we could not get it fixed. I realize that you get what you pay for, however this hotel could put just a little more into repairs and it would double in ratings. I would have canceled my resevation after the first night and paid more to stay somewhere else, but I had made my reservation through hotels.com so I was past the cancelation point and would have lost out on a couple hundred dollars. I may think twice about using this site to book hotels in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great Hotel for the Price

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Great location, quiet, always lots of street parking, so I didn't have to pay to park, clean, seemed newly remodeled.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: It's right across the street from the beach and walking distance to all kinds of beautiful shops and restaurants.
La Jolla Inn was exactly what I needed. I was in town for a workshop and didn't want to play and arm and a leg for a room, but I also wanted to be in downtown La Jolla near the best restaurants and shops. I think I paid $112 per night. It was right in the heart of things and it was surprisingly quiet considering there as a loud late night restaurant/bar right across the street. The room was on the smallish side, but it was cheerfully decorate and it even had a little balcony looking out at the ocean. It's not plush, but it was great value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

couldn't snorkel....

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel was nice but could not snorkel due to sewer line break in water two days prior to me arrival. bummer.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

What a disappointment

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Room was HOT air conditioning barely worked and only came out of small opening on bottom no air from top of unit. They did bring a fan which helped a little.Queen bed felt lumpy TV was on the left so you had to lay on right side to watch.No soap in room had to go to desk to ask for some.When checking in my wife and I felt the receptionist was bothered by having to answer questions. Only thing good was the rate we paid compared to others in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Caroline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

very convenient

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a great place to stay in La Jolla - walking distance of all the sights and restaurants. Smallish rooms but adequate.