Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Englewood, FL

Nice for families with children; not for romance.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The location is wonderful. Right on the beach and in walking distance of cafés. The staff was superb! Would be great for family vacation/reunions.
Cons: An additional spa/hot tub for adults only. Each time we went to the pool area, the hot tub was filled with children; diaper wearing - age 10.
Location: Easy walk to cafés, nice beach views, short drive to the caves. Highly recommend The Old Town Trolley Tour. ENJOY!
We spent 6 nights in July for our Honeymoon. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfy. We didn't use the pool or hot tub more than once due to overcrowding. The deciding factor between this hotel and another when we booked was the pool/spa. The other location had neither, which we now know we weren't able to enjoy anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Wonderful location, atmosphere, hospitality

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The front-desk staff was exceptionally helpful, the rooms were comfortable, and the beachfront location was picturesque.
Cons: We were only in the bar once, but the martinis at Happy Hour were a disappointment and the food was only fair.
Location: Thanks to the free shuttle service, we could easily access the La Jolla venues. e.g. The Torre Pine State Natural Reserve and the Scripps Institute.
Based on some outdated reviews we had read, we were prepared to be disappointed with the hotel selected for my niece's wedding destination. We were very pleasantly surprised. The front-desk staff was exceptionally attentive and responsive, the Southwestern architecture and décor was appealing, and the beachfront location was convenient. The free shuttle service to any La Jolla destination was a delightful surprise. Our only disappointment was the Happy Hour fare. (While the view was great, the food was not and the martinis were watery.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seatte

Decent hotel with spectacular view and location.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location is amazing
Cons: The hotel is a little old.
Location: Beach! small town is closeby.
We stayed here over a weekend for a wedding. The hotel is a bit long in the tooth but is right on the beach in La Jolla shores. Note that the location is a 25 minute walk from mainline La Jolla, but is right on a great beach. Note that the beach is pretty busy with tons of kayaking, surfing - quite a few outfits seem to base themselves here. Room was fine, restaurant onsite was perfectly fine. Lots of kids running around. This is an ideal hotel for a family but may be a bit much for a couple looking for a quite time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Family friendly hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The bed was so comfortable that we slept in most of the time we were there. Lots of family oriented activities. Nice resturants near by. Only negativeaspect was that there was not much of a night scene for adults past 10pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Plainfield, IL

Wonderful 10 year anniversary trip

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Free beach amenities (chairs / umbrella) Location - beachfront Great restaurants Comfy bed Great customer service
Cons: Nicer beach chairs (chairs at the sister property next door seemed much nicer). Parking seemed limited. Noticed the "lot full" sign on Saturday.
Location: Great beachfront location Piatti Italian Restaurant down the street is great; skip the pizza place
Decided to head back to LaJolla for our 10 year anniversary (husband had proposed in LaJolla) & found this beachside hotel via Expedia search. We didn't spring for the straight on ocean view but were quite pleased w/ the side ocean view (overlooking the park next door). I had called ahead & asked to have chocolate covered strawberries in the room as a surprise for my husband & they took it further by also including a bottle of champagne & not charging us for any of it. VERY thoughful - I was fully willing to pay for the strawberries, so it was a nice touch. Loved that the beach chairs & umbrellas were free, but hated the chairs. Very short & uncomfortable - definite area for improvement. The only other thing that was iffy was the noise level. Definitely a family friendly resort so lots of kids around which = very loud & there wasn't much noise barrier between rooms. More of a nuisance than anything & remedied by ear plugs which I always have with me! Had dinner at both restaurants & food was excellent at both. We hadn't heard of the Marine Room ahead of time but were able to get a researvation - beautiful setting & we mentioned our anniversary & they brought out a complimentary desert. Staff & food were great. Overall a wonderful anniversary trip - maybe we can make it an annual one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from St Louis

Wonderful beach and poolside experience!

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, lovely pool, next to the beach, great neighborhood nearby (but low-key)
Location: Pacific Ocean! La Jolla, UCSD
This is a lovely hotel with a beautiful pool, and you are just a few steps from the beach. I can't imagine why their rating is only 4.3/5 as I expected to see a 5/5! We had a room with our sliding doors opening onto the patio with the pool. There is a restaurant that faces the ocean. They have a beach attendant who gives you towels and beach chairs and sticks your umbrella in the sand for you (and there are some pails and shovels your kids can borrow- ask the pool attendant - mainly things other kids have left in the past, but it worked for us!). It is a short walk to a two block length of shops and cafes and restaurants (bakery, hamburger, pizza, frozen yogurt as well as a few posh restaurants too). We ate at Osteria Romantica - excellent! I only wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Great view of the beach from the room. Staff was awesome. They will help you get set up on the beach... Umbrella, chairs, towels, etc. I would recommend this place to anyone. We will definitely be back again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

partial ocean view overlooking public restrooms

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: staff friendly and helpful when we needed the partying stopped at 11pm on both sides of our suite so we could try to sleep
Cons: the small hot tub and average size pool were too crowded. I don't enjoy being shoulder to shoulder in a hot tub
Location: the saving grace is the beach......hotel sits on very nice public beach
the partial ocean view of our room included a very busy public bathroom facility with all the noises smells and sounds you would expect from a busy bathroom. we used our patio to dry swimsuits but kept the sliding door closed and locked to avoid the noise sights and smells.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel. Staff are excellent.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: It's not the peak of luxury - we didn't go for that. If you're used to the very best decor etc etc don't bother with it.
Location: Perfect location for family vacation.
Wonderful break. Hotel is excellent, particularly the staff. Courteous, efficient, welcoming. We're going back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durango, co

Would go back

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The hotel is older but very well kept. It's very clean. Staff was very nice. I love the location. Just out off the hustle and bustle of the main part of LaJolla. Hotel offers a shuttle into town and will pick you up. We got up every morning and walked the beach before breakfast. It was so peaceful. Hotel was quiet. If you stay on the street side you do hear the street noise. Great burger place and deli within walking distance. 10 minute drive to Birch aquarium. Recommend staying here.