Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2015
We enjoyed the hotel and our stay in San Diego. The hotel's location near Old Town was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear you “enjoyed” your stay. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear you “enjoyed” your stay. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Shuttle to/from airport a joke. Old 15 passenger van with holes in seats, only identified with placard on dashboard. No one at checkin for 10 minutes. Broken nob on heating/cooling unit, so inoperable, also broken hairdryer. Outside noise very noticeable. Only positive was the room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. For future stays, please bring your concerns to the attention of our staff immediately, so a proper solution can be put in place. Your concerns have now been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom upstate NY

Clean, comfortable... staff could have been nicer.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, right in the middle of 'Old Town' San Diego. The room and bed were VERY comfortable, seemed pretty clean.
Cons: I suppose the staff's used to Marine family members, but this was my first plane trip in 5 years. They could have been nicer... $1.00 for detergent?
Location: Lots of historic sites within walking distance. Google 'Old Town San Diego'.
My USMC LT son's birthday was ON Thanksgiving this year, so I decided to make the trip to spend it with him. I'd booked a red-eye leaving at 9:30 PM Dec. 3, thinking he could drive me to the airport after he finished for the day, but his unit had a field exercise started at 3 a.m. the 4th, so he asked if he could bring me to a hotel in San Diego the night before. This one was certainly a bargain at $65/night, and I was hoping they might let me stay for a few hours past the noon check out for another $20 or so (I didn't get in until 8PM the 2nd). The guy who checked me in said no worries, the girl the next morning (on re-checking) said, sure, that will make your total... $135 (!). No negotiation there. No thanks. Next morning, I HAD to get to a drugstore to buy masks for the plane (I have asthma). The closest was about a mile. I printed a map, but started out the wrong way (the girl at the desk told me it was 'walkable' - I had no cash for a taxi - and on the other side of the freeway, but not which way to start out. I'm sure the 4 mile walk did me good, but NOW I needed to wash the clothes I'd worn - which I'd planned to wear on the plane. $2.25/wash, $2.25/dryer. Do you have detergent? No, that would be another $1.00. The laundry was on the third floor, office on the first, my room on the 2nd. Put my money in the detergent dispenser (in the laundry room)... no detergent dropped. Down the stairs again, explained... and she HANDS me a box of detergent. GRRRRR. Happy to leave!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ventura County

Hotel Staffd

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Close to Old Towm
Cons: A little noisy. You can hear your neighbors from all sides
Location: Close to major freeway
What made are stay wonderful was staff member Park. This kid is a winner. He made us feel right at home. My wife spoke with him at length about how wonderful a person and gentleman he was. La Quinta is lucky to have him...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear William, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport. We are so pleased to you felt “right at home” while at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with outstanding quality service and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we do have wonderful staff members and also agree that Park is quite a gem. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Yuma

Small place

Posted Nov 24, 2014
For me, the hotel is not in the best San Diego area. The room was so small, I was on a handicap room, and there was no enough room to open the bathroom door on my own. Las quintas used to be good hotel for me, but this location is a different history.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear WILDFAYOLA, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Several of our guests love the close proximity of Old Town, San Diego from our hotel and are disappointed to hear you were not one of them. Please know that your concern regarding space has been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, California

Nice location, value, staff!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Old Town restuarants & bars, Pet Friendly, Heated pool & jacuzzi, Clean, Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Room keys. I had to get replacement keys every day as they kept on getting deactivated or not even work the minute I get from the front desk to door.
Location: All the wonderful restaurants, bars and attractions in Old Town are mere walking blocks away.
We stayed here for 2 nights due to our house being fumigated and were pleasantly surprised at what a great place this was to stay at. The property was clean, pet friendly for our Puggles, had great staff & service (Gracie at the front desk was amazing)! The location a few walking blocks from all the wonderful restaurants and bars in Old Town. I slept through the complimentary breakfasts but it was nice that breakfast was provided. The heated pool and jacuzzi was a plus and made the stay so much more enjoyable. I would definately stay here again and have recommended this property to my firends and family for when they visit next! Thank you La Quinta Old Town/Airport!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear that our hotel is “a great place”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the La Quinta inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom C, california

Hotel had too many problems

Posted Nov 18, 2014
I was completely baffled with my experience staying at the Hotel. I have always liked this hotel but this time around I had a bad experience. My door would not open and I had to go four times for them to activate my card and it didn't want to work so they moved us to another room and when we turned on the heater at night it started smelling like fire and the alarm went off no one came to ask if we are okay so I called and all they could tell me was to air out the room and turn off everything. I was differently disappointed this time around with the quality of service and how the rooms were not functioning properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Elieen, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of returning our hotel to the high-standards you are used to with us. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Philly

Great hotel for the price in Old Town

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Heated pool, jacuzzi, breakfast, full cable package, right off the 5, close to MTA, $10/day parking, great restaurants within walking distance.
Location: There are numerous restaurants, bars, and shops three blocks away.
I came to San Diego from Philly for a science conference, so I was on a budget. I got this place for ~$100 a night plus $10 a day to park in their lot. The staff was very nice and accommodating. They keep it clean. The free breakfast was solid- eggs, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, waffles. Full cable package and HBO. Comfy bed. You can hop right on route 5 from the hotel to get around, or walk 10 minutes up Congress St. to the bus/trolley to get downtown or elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Tristan, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are so pleased you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tinafrom San Diego

Old Town Accessable

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff always very nice, I've been here a few times and have never had a complaint-only when it comes to the price! Love that this location is right next to Old Town, but be warned it is RIGHT NEXT to the freeway, but when I come here it's to drink in Old Town! It's always clean and no problems checking in or out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are delighted to hear our staff is “always very nice”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we are walking distance to Old Town and are so pleased you’re always able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Long Beach, CA

Rocky loved his vacation!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Dog friendly.
Cons: The breakfast options.
Location: Walking distance to Old Town San Diego.
Love that I was able to bring my German Shepherd with me. Room was clean and amenities were acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Miss Marsha, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are delighted to hear that “Rocky loved his vacation”. We work hard in providing all of our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are a pet friendly hotel and are thrilled your furry pal was able to tag along. We hope to see the both of you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport.