Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Nice Hotel experience

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Room was clean and bed comfy w/nice linens. Hotel staff were great, as well as the shuttle driver (very informative). Large rooms and bathrooms.
Cons: Moldings around the doors were a little rough, but not really noticeable. Nice pool area in the courtyard. Great breakfast. Very good value!
Location: Came to San Diego for a wedding, so didn't participate in other activities.
apparently my first review had a technical issue, so I will abbreviate my review and resubmit it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

$10 charge to park your car

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: One nice employee on my way out at 4:00 a.m.
Cons: Needs renovation and a more customer oriented evening time reception staff.
Location: This is not a neighborhood to walk around in.
The evening reception staff was very unhelpful and I was very surprised that I had to pay $10 extra just to park my rented car overnight. The neighborhood is seedy at best and the condition of the hotel is bordering on dilapidated. The room was clean. The woman who checked me out at 4:00 a.m. was very pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Nice hotel in Old Town

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location Price
Cons: Breakfast room
Location: Mexican food Souvenirs Old Town transit center
We had a very good overall experience. The hotel includes a simple breakfast which should be enough to start your morning. However I would be a little worried during the busiest seasons since the place for it it's a little small.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Allan, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear we are a “nice hotel in Old Town”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. Our breakfast is a favorite among our guests, therefore at times it, the breakfast room can become busy. For a calmer breakfast experience, we recommend dining between the hours of 6:30 a.m.-7:30 a.m. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Bernardino, CA

Great location

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Nice and clean and the location
Cons: pillows
Location: Walking distance to Cinco de Mayo activites.
For the amount of time we spent in the room it was o.k. Room was a little small, but comfortable. The air conditioning was a little loud. Pillows were a little too soft.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenge you faced while at our property. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff so that improvements can be made. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our “great location”. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VM

Close to shopping and entertainment

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Had a nice stay, however the pool was not heated. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you “had a nice stay” at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Very clean, near to old town

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, location. Clean pool.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy walk to Old Town and restaurants.
It may appear to be a big dated but this hotel was extremely clean, excellent staff. Located within easy walking distance to Old Town. Airport shuttle service but please note it stops running at 8pm if you have a late flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Bea, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear our “hotel was extremely clean”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, excellent location

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Hotel was easy to travel to, however it was right next to the freeway which is both good and bad in a way. We were able to get around San Diego easily, as our hotel was right in the middle of everything. Our drives were no more than 10 minutes from Pacific Beach, gas lamp, old town, etc. hotel was nice, and we were very pleased to see that our room was clean, updated, had a large flat screen tv, and most importantly the bathroom was nice and felt new
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

MCRD graduation event

Posted Mar 17, 2015
what a great hotel and staff! wonderful treatment of military families !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear we are “a great hotel and staff”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The best thing was the free breakfast. We ate there everyday! Had pastries, waffle maker, eggs and sausages. Decor was also lovely.
Cons: The only thing I didn't like was the smaller than average pillows. I like them firm and these were mushy so I wound up stuffing two into one case.
Location: It's right in the heart of Old Town with various parks and historical sites nearby, and the entrance to the 5 freeway is just off the driveway.
I don't think the hotel was very full when I was there, so we had no trouble getting the room we requested: third floor, away from the pool. It was very quiet, and even though there was a roof out our window, the view of the city in the distance was nice. Wifi was great, free breakfast good too. Pool looked nice but it was too cold when I visited. The parking spaces are tight, but it was so empty for me that I had no trouble. $10 fee was also pretty reasonable parking for the area. Would definitely stay here when I'm in San Diego again and would recommend to anyone looking for a clean, simple hotel without any hassles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear we are a “beautiful hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and affordable

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Stayed here the night before my flight because it is inexpensive and very close to the airport, with a free hourly shuttle. Also near the Old Town Transit Center, so handy if you do not have a car. Good restaurants in Old Town are within walking distance. Clean and comfy with nice bed and bedding. Right off I-5, so there is freeway noise, which diminished around 11. All in all, a great deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is “convenient and affordable”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary airport shuttle services and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.