Ratings based on 1,604 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by enjoy traveling from illinois

Okay to place to stay for a nite.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
We checked in late nite. There are two La Quinta buildings each having their own parking below level, which the front desk clerk directed us to the wrong building. It was annoying to walk 3 flights up,park the car, move the car over to the next building parking structures all at 1130 at nite! I also didn't understand why we had to pay for parking seeing as they were attached to the buildings! The room was clean jus needed to be aired out, free breakfast was okay. We only stayed here one nite and it served its purpose, wouldn't stay at this particular location for a week though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

San Diego

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing. It was right by the freeway and noisy
Cons: Go to a different location that would be more walkable.
Location: Nothing to do. Limited restaurants.
I thought the room would be cleaner and the bed would be more comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The beds were new and comfortable. Location to local attractions. Continental breakfast.
Cons: Breakfast area is small so it was hard to find a table to eat at. Parking was tight. There were never towels at the pool. Not enough towels in room.
Location: Close to old town, mission beach, sea world and the zoo.
The hotel is clean and the rooms were comfortable. It is in a central location close to mission beach and old town. It is easily accessible and close to shopping.
2 out of 5
by J from Temecula

Worst hotel ever

Posted Apr 13, 2014
After a terrible check in experience, I walked into a room that smelled horrible, had a dirty bathroom and a tv that did not work. I called and asked for another room and was told to come to the front desk. The elevator was as dirty as the room. Broken tiles, dingy, just poorly kept. I asked to upgrade my room and I would pay the difference. I was told that I couldn't because I booked my room through a 3rd party site, your site. If I wanted a new upgraded room I would have to pay full price for the new room. I was given another room of the same level and experienced the same issues as the first plus the door latch would not latch due to the door not closing flush with the doorway. I left and was able to book a 4star hotel for the same price as the terrible hotel. Please be careful and there a lot better hotels for the same price than this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cyndy from Dallas

The location was very good

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The breakfast was not very good. Need healthier choices. The towel rack in the bathroom was rusted and falling off the wall. The location was great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: proximity to restaurants
Cons: taking care of maintenance issues before guests arrive
Good price but you get what you pay for. We stayed for 2 nights - we just needed a bed to sleep in because we were gone all during the day. When we first arrived at our room, I noticed the room smelled damp- but we just opened the windows and the door for an hour or so, thinking that would do the trick. Later that night, we discovered the shower wouldn't drain. In the morning the bathtub was still full of water. I called the front desk to ask that it be fixed during the day while we would be gone. We arrived that night to find that no one had fixed the problem. I called the front desk again and no one knew anything about it. A nice maintenance man came to fix it in about 5 minutes. After our showers that night, we left the bathroom fan on, but the moisture never left. We left the fan running ALL night long with the bathroom door shut and, in the morning, the bathroom was still so damp. The fan didn't work AT ALL. Additionally, both mornings, we were awakened in the wee hours, by loud, obnoxious guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Salt Lake City

Nice but noisy.

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, nice shower. What more do you want?
Cons: Management can't change other guests behavior.
Location: Close to Old Town, Sea World, and the Zoo. All within 10 Minutes. Also a Target is near by for everything you forgot to bring with you.
The hotel is a great value, very reasonable rates and very clean rooms. I would stay here again. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, nice shower. What more do you want? My only complaint is due to other hotel guests and the neighboring car dealership. Access to all rooms are from outdoor walkways. Consequently, most guests use their "outside voices" as they return to their hotel as they come in late. Wake up to pneumatic drills removing lug nuts next door or generators for pressurized cleaners. Just bring earplugs and you're OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Staff was so considerate to move is to higher floor to avoid noise since we have our 2 yer old w us. Very prompt to respond to our needs like extra towels.Free breakfast wasnt bad :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Hawaii

Access to rooms by stairs-did not feel secured

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect for accessing Sea World and San Diego Zoo.
Cons: The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable.
The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. We called for towels and waited an hour. After calling the second time, only then were we informed that the laundry staff had to dry more towels before delivering. I think I should've been informed of that right away or called back and informed instead of making me call a second time.
2 out of 5
by Lynn from San Diego

POOR CHOICE

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Close to SeaWorld, but not good. Maybe not all La Quinta Inns are like this, but I do not plan to stay there again.