Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to the beach!

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Loved it. Had the best room! The food was good, as were the amenities and staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Hawaii

Great Staff, Location and Stay!!

Posted Jan 22, 2014
There are few places that I've stayed that the entire time I'm there, I'm already planning my next visit! The La Valencia is one of those Hotels! You could almost spend you're entire day on property. The staff is excellent! Live music downstairs on Friday and Saturday nights I believe! Entirely tasteful, not the type of music that will blow you're eardrums out or anything! Robert the Bartender gave us a ton of great recommendations and was a pleasure speaking with! Located in the heart of La Jolla village, all the Bars and Restaurants are right outside the hotel lobby! Not to mention the beach is only a stones throw away! You won't regret you're stay here, worth every penny in my opinion!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Cons: the only thing that kept me from giving the stay all 5 stars was a problem with the AC. The windows opened
4 out of 5
by cipriani from los angeles

Nice hotel not worth a 5star rate

Posted Jan 14, 2014
The hotel is historic and is meant to have that feeling which is great. I had booked an ocean view suite for a relatively High rate and when I got there I got a two bedroom suite, the living room was ocean view and the back bedroom was dark and had a small window facing stairway and had two double beds and the room had a stale smell. The staff was very helpful and upgraded me to a villa which was ocean view for the bed room as well but overall the rooms are older and furniture outdated and fireplace was not working it was ok nice but not worth for price I paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from NY

romantic winter vacay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really loved our stay here. The service is genuinely friendly, and not any detail was missed. Very efficient valet service. They even stop traffic on your way out, to help you back out safely into the busy street. The room we booked was on the smaller side, but it was clean, had a great view, and we liked it. A beautiful old-world hotel with the best service I've experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classic Elegance

Posted Jan 13, 2014
This hotel provides a classic experience from another era. If you value a little history in your travels this is a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

La Valencia is where to be.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Everything was great.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walking distance to cool shops and resturaunts.
We had a great time in La Jolla. Our hotel stay was wonderful. I have no compaints about the hotel at all. The staff was friendly and the hotel had a great feel to it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A short walk to see the seals in action. Walking distance to all of the resturaunts and shops. I would visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by corrado

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Fantastic location in the middle to everythings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014
The view from my room was a ten, but being placed over a dance hall that had functions 4 of the 4 nights I was their was absolutely horrible. The noise all 4 nights was so bad I about shook out of bed and couldn't even hear my TV. I can't believe that I wasn't even told this until I experience it the 1st night. I paid allott of money for the room to have to deal with that problem. Several of the hostesses in the restaurant we're not very friendly. One of the staff with valet parking was consistently rude when retrieving my car - worked the morning ship. A beautiful hotel just the noise under my room was unbelievable.