Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Nice but had higher expectations

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: It is very conviniently located and staff are very nice.
Cons: I thought our room was over furnished for its size. Maybe smaller size or less furnitures.
Location: Location is great. Nice dining. Our main vacation purpose was just to relax so we didn't do much.
The location and staff are great. The only disappointment was the view. I paid for a king size room with water view. However, the main view from my room was parking and roofs. I had partial view of the pacific. The room size was also small with no tub just small standing shower. I had higher expecations based on the daily room rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego Ca

They gave my prepaid room away to someone else.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: They could be ethical. You do not give away a prepaid room to someone else.
When I arrived at the hotel I was informed that they had given away my ocean view room to someone else and would I accept an inferior room with a peak at the ocean. The room they offered me was half as big as a motel 6 room. Since they did not have the room we ordered and no other comparable rooms available, we left and booked a motel 6 room that was twice as big. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SA, TX

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Exceeded expectations and kiddos had a great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Upland, CA

Great location!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel close to the beach and downtown. Lovely outdoor bar.
Cons: Service at the outdoor bar is slow but really not a problem since it is such a nice place to relax.
Great place for a weekend getaway. Clean rooms, quiet, and great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Classic La Jolla

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location was great, service good.
Room was tiny, bathroom even smaller. Service was good, setting very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Weekend Get Away

Posted Feb 24, 2015
La Valencia was highly recommended by friends. The location was perfect tucked in the center of all the shopping and dining areas but overlooking the ocean... just gorgeous. Our room had a beautiful ocean view. The hotel has a new section and older section (renovated from 1920's) so be sure to ask for a room that suits your taste. The staff was attentive and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom riverside

Historic hotel with wonderful views

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Great staff and great pool! The bathrooms are very nice and the beds are comfy! No complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boca raton,fl

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Very friendly personal. Reasonable rate. Best possible location. A+
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

New Year's at La Valencia.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Cons: The towels were old, and not so clean...
Excellent hotel, great location, fantastic view, great service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LAS VEGAS, NEVADA

30TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: SEE ABOVE COMMENTS
Cons: SEE ABOVE COMMENTS
Location: SEE ABOVE COMMENTS
EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT! THE HOTEL AMBIENCE IS CHARMING AND FOR A HOTEL THAT IS 80 YEARS OLD, IT WAS IMMACULATE. THE LOCATION IS GREAT-NEVER DROVE THE CAR-EVERYTHING IS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE. BEAUTIFUL VIEW AND GROUNDS-I WISH THE BALCONY HAD BEEN LARGER WITH FURNITURE, SO WE COULD SIT OUTSIDE AND LISTEN TO THE OCEAN-THE ONLY DRAWBACK. CONCIERGE SENT US A BOTTLE OF CHAMPAGNE AND CHOCOLATE COVERED STRAWBERRIES-NICE ADDED TOUCH.