Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Paradise in La Jolla

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The views of the ocean and the food were both outstanding.
Cons: The hotel rooms need upgrading ie. showers, closed bathroom doors, hall carpets and floors in the elevators.
Location: The location is excellent with various art galleries, shops, stores, golf courses, restaurants and universities in close proximity.
The staff I must say is excellent as the "FOOD" My wife and I spent two days with perfect weather and nice view of the Pacific Ocean,sunsets and a full moon. The area is quiet with an occasional Marine Corps helicopter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to watch the sun set over the Pacific.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Fantastic experience, very romantic, great food, attentive staff just a great place to get away. Also, its very near shops & restaurants in La Jolla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Nice hotel overall though the rooms are very small. Great location, very friendly staff, and good food. Beware that the check in is 4:00. Overall a nice experience and would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful relaxing getaway

Posted Oct 21, 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed here for almost a week and have nothing bad to say about this place. The staff was great, very friendly and informative, and the hotel was beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth Tx

Extra small restroom

Posted Oct 19, 2014
We were put in top floor. 11th. Restroom too small. No space for toiletries. About 6x6 space. Elevator way too long wait. Don't ever stay there on floor 5 or above. Rooms on floor 6 up nothing like other floors lower. Very old hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Really interesting decor, and super trendy!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Great location to San Diego Universities! A definite keeper to my list of favorite hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

A jewel in a crown

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The La Valencia was a wonderful hotel, the location perfect the staff wonderful. Only stayed three nights wished we had stayed longer. Will definitely go back. This hotel made you feel special, but at the same time making you feel we we were there special friend. The staff were wonderful from the pool boys to the lady who cleaned our room, she left us a letter thanking us for staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hi Polly, Glad you had an excellent time. Thanks for the great comments. Cheers! Michele
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2014
A Warm relaxing feeling from the moment you pull up to the curb. The staff ways pleasant and had a smile on their face. The rooms were cozy and tastefully decorated. The location of the hotel was great, we were within walking distance of everything. I had the best nights sleep while I was there. Cannot wait until my next stay. Thanks again to the staff at La Valencia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Michele, Hotel Management
hi, Thanks for the wonderful review, so glad you had a great time in La Jolla and with us at La V. We can't wait until we see you again. Cheers. Michele Brusseau Director of Revenue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Beautiful! Hotel is gorgeous and staff really go out of their way to make your stay perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Michele, Hotel Management
Bravo!! thanks for the review. Michele Brusseau Director of Revenue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stench Trumps Scenic Beauty

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Excellent Staff.
Cons: Complete gutting, new ventilation systems, more contemporary furniture.
Location: Stay away from La Jolla if you have a sense of smell. The seal poop on the rocks permeates everything.
La Valencia is an Old Lady who has seen better times. All staff were terrific, but the hotel layout was awkward. Despite remodel of hotel room, the feel of the room was boarding house early 1940s & guests in the next room could be heard thru the walls. No ventilation in the bathroom. Noisy truck deliveries in the wee hours. Didn't eat in the dining room because of prior bad reviews. Pool area small, with flying sea gulls torpedo-ing the area. All of La Jolla suffered from the stench of seals pooping on the rocks at Oceanside. The closer you got to the Cove, the more obnoxious the smell was. The hotel was right on top of the Cove. We tried a restaurant in the Village & the owner said that the restaurant owners are at war with the environmentalists over the seals. The restaurant owners want to chemically treat the rocks but the environmentalists say NO Way! The best thing about La Jolla was Girard Gourmet on GIrard St. Absolutely delicious & inexpensive quiches, lasagna, salads. Can eat outside or inside or take out. We went there every day of our stay! La Valencia overpriced. We prefer the Del Coronado & while it is older than La Valencia, has more class & ambience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Michele, Hotel Management
Dear Guest – We appreciate every guests comments and respect their perceptions – your perception is indeed your reality. As a vintage hotel our layout is one of our more appealing benefits; La V is not a cookie cutter corporate box hotel. Our property spans 4 buildings from circa 1908 to 2000 which cascade down La Jollas most scenic bluff to Scripps Park. I am unsure how to respond to your “boarding house” experience; our recently renovated rooms include hardwood furnishing with granite tops, wool carpets, imported bed linens and bath amenities, flat screen TV’s and many more features including complimentary Keurig coffee and private honor bars. The La Jolla Cove has been subject to odor issues due to a growing sea lion and sea population and escalated by drought and lack of rainfall. Recent record heat have made the smell more prevalent during your stay but as normal temperatures return this is not impactful to La V. Your description of torpedo flying seagulls gave me a chuckle – we sit along the coast so seagulls are part of the package. I am sorry you did not try our restaurants; there are many very favorable reviews aside some that did not care for the venue. Café la Rue was selected by San Diego as one of 2014 Best New Restaurants. I was pleased to hear that your interactions with our team was great. Best Regards Michele Brusseau Director of Revenue.