Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

La Valencia---beautiful Old World Ambience

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Our Vintage King room was well appointed and very comfortable. The staff members were very gracious and greeted us by name as the days went by.
Cons: The bathrooms in the Vintage King rooms are very small, but don't imagine they can enlarge them much.
Location: Loved LaJolla and the proximity to San Diego. We barely scratched the surface of things to do in the area in one week's time!
My husband and I spent a week at La Valencia and couldn't have been more pleased with the experience. The members of the staff were very attentive, pleasant and courteous. We enjoyed the restaurant, cafe and pool area and were fascinated by the ongoing meticulous renovation of the lounge and balcony overlooking the Pacific. Evidently, the new owners are putting $12M into the renovation, so I expect this will become a fully five star hotel. The renovations of the lounge, restaurant and pool areas should be done by this summer and we hope to come back and see the results.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect Staycation

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The location and the overall quality - particularly the size of our room.
Cons: just some minor maintenance issues listed above
Location: You can enjoy the many restaurants and shops in La Jolla. There's a beautiful park right across the street and walking paths along wafter's edge
We live close by but decided to spend a night at La Valencia to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We booked an ocean view room and they upgraded us to one of the villas that was closest to the beach. The view was spectacular but the street noise was a bit loud - not so much that it kept us awake though. They were still doing renovations in the main restaurant but the rest of the hotel was beautiful. Our room well well appointed and spacious with a lovely balcony. The room could use a few repairs: the sliding shutter doors for the patio were off the track and difficult to close that night and one of the bathroom sinks was not draining well. These were pretty minor issue that did not really inconvenience us and I'm sure if we'd called to point them out, the staff would have responded quickly. We did call because we could not get the gas fireplace to light and they sent someone immediately who relit the pilot light for us. I'm looking forward to celebrating another anniversary there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso

Once in a lifetime.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Convenient to downtown La Jolla.
Cons: You have to be very wealthy to experience this hotel the way it was meant to be visited.
Location: We spent so much time just walking the beaches and little shops.
Most expensive place we ever stayed at ($400+). Small rooms, extra small bathrooms. You needed room service to get ice. We can say we stayed there, but we won't do it again. Unfortunately, our room was probably below the median cost for a room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Near beach, perfect location with nearby shops etc

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Really enjoyed this property, in walking distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. Different characteristics make it stand out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter and Susan from Boston, MA

Fine hotel close to beach and convenient to town

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Location easy for walks along the shore and, from our 11th floor room, ocean views. All manner of shops (mostly not daily necessities) within walkin
We stayed for 12 days and had most of our meals at the hotel restaurant/cafe. Offerings had good variety, were of similar quality and served by competent and friendly staff. Room was comfortable if on the small side, and bed sagged toward the middle; cleaning was thorough and very prompt. Front desk staff accommodating and we were greeted many times during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary Anne from Tracy

Beautiful and Elegant Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Located right in the middle of La Jolla village within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and the beach.
Cons: The air conditioning in our room seemed to have just a high setting so we couldn't just set it on auto/low. The beds were alittle firm for our tastes
Location: Excellent location in La Jolla village. Within easy walking distance of outstanding restaurants, shopping and the gorgeous ocean views!
What I liked the best about La Valencia was its proximity in La Jolla village. It was great to just walk out the hotel doors and eat at restaurants, shop and walk down to the ocean, which was right behind our hotel. Beautiful and elegant, we enjoyed the old vintage charm in a clean, modern updated version of this very old hotel. A person would never have to drive anywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from Chicago, IL

Excellent Hotel in La Jolla.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Our large room plus the bright hallway. We stayed on the 4th floor and the hallway was so bright!!
Cons: A small table placed in the toilet/shower area or at least a hook on a wall.
Location: George's Restaurant & Eddie V's restaurant were our favorites. The beach and trails in the back were nice to have so near.
My friend and I stayed at the LaValencia for 4 nights. The breakfasts were excellent. The outdoor pool and surrounding area always clean. They have the best pool towels I ever had at a hotel pool, thick and absorbent. Our room was spacious and clean. We picked the hotel on a lark and were very pleased with our choice. We could walk to dining and shops and always felt safe. I would recommend La Valencia and I would return.
2 out of 5
by MJ from Minneapolis

Website photos not accurate/renovations

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: View/pool
Cons: Website updated with facts, they do not have 4 restaurants they have 1 and a bar, notify guests prior to arrival of renovations/closures.
Location: close to beach, shopping other restaurants. Grocery store 1/2 mile away.
I booked the hotel based on the website photos and description (not just Expedia's photos). I fell in love with the grand Sala Lounge open and light lobby with ocean view which ended up being completely closed off for construction! As was the dining terrace pictured on their website! The lobby was tiny and dark as the Sala lounge was walled off for renovations. The hotel staff was NOT knowledgeable, when we asked questions about parking options the valet claimed to know nothing about surrounding parking only that he could park our car for $29 per night. Tip: you can park for free on the street behind the hotel (the side closest to the hotel, not the side facing the ocean). The hotels other 10th floor restaurant the Sky Room with ocean views was no longer operating! They are dividing that into bridal suites! The hotel website and e-brochure are not up to date with these construction closures/ renovations. We were told there would be live music in the bar on Thursday night, there was not. There is no piano bar either as the website states due to the remodel of the Sala Lounge. Instead of peaceful ocean views and sounds we listed to drills and saws below our room and by the pool! Be sure to CALL the hotel before you book to see when renovations will be done, they told me it would be a couple of months! This was not what I was expecting when I checked in. Disappointed that the website did not inform of the renovations, I would NOT have booked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sree from London

Great Place . The only downside was that Jacuzzi

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Great Place . The only downside was that Jacuzzi wasnt working
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to the beach!

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Loved it. Had the best room! The food was good, as were the amenities and staff.