Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento Ca.

Comfortable and pleasant

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Charming appearance and soothing water fountain sounds at night.
The motel has a nice look and the room was very nice. Beach assess is about a 1/4 mile walk through the neighborhood to the west. Highway 101 has a lot of traffic plus Amtrak commuter trains run often just across the street, but it all quiets down by about 8 pm. The traffic and Amtrrak trains start up early in the morning so you might want to bring a small fan plus it would help moderate the warmish, slightly humid nights there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by christina from az

Posted May 29, 2014
I stayed here with my husband we found the hotel very clean, comfortable, affordable, and quiet we were very happy with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Tucson, AZ

Charming motel in a laid back beach town.

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location--it's close to the beach and convenient to stores and restaurants. The rates are good. The place is clean and comfortable.
Cons: The AC was loud. However it did not need to be on often, and never at night.
Location: I went to relax in a beach town, walk on the beach, eat fish tacos and fresh fruit, visit local shops and meet friendly people. This is the place.
Charming, clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff, the Leucadia Beach Inn is a treasure. I was able to brew my coffee, then sit outside under flowering vines and plan my day. Everything I needed was in walking distance--the beach, produce stand, restaurants, shops, post office--or a short drive. I read the earlier reviews, and expected the Hwy 101 traffic noise to be a problem. So I brought ear plugs...which I didn't use. There are fountains in the courtyard that mitigate traffic noise. I will definitely return, and recommend this motel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeanette from Manhattan, KS

Charming hotel in a great location!

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Full of charm and character! Wonderful, personable innkeeper, clean rooms, and the parking provided easy access to our room.
Cons: Perhaps a few more dish towels for the kitchenette. Otherwise, we loved it! Very basic amenities, but enough for a well prepared traveler.
Location: In the heart of Encinitas, fairly close to the beach and lots of restaurants and shops nearby.
I stayed here with a friend for a fun getaway. It was just as I had hoped it would be based upon the website description. It was clean, had comfortable beds and nice linens, and beautiful flowers in the courtyard. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples or a getaway with friends, but it would not be ideal for families with young children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from san diego

Owner and operator, superb! Super friendly

Posted May 10, 2014
Great stay, clean and bright room. A diamond down there on 101. Bed was noisy when you roll over, but not too bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from Canyon Lake, Ca

Homier than your typical low priced hotel

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: It is clean.
This is our second stay here for business. We are only there to sleep and not looking for a 3.5-4 star hotel. The price is right, and we enjoy the convenience, the staff, the location and it is very clean. It is close to the beach, shopping and great restaurants.
2 out of 5
by Dave

On the Noisy Highway and Train Tracks

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Hotel looks nice from outside. Room is old but clean, tiny bathroom. The noise and vibration from the hourly trains will wake you up regularly throughout the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great alternative to a standard corporate hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Easy, affordable and close to everything. Would recommend to anyone looking for a different experience near the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Deserve The Best Rating Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location is great, facilities is lovely and comfortable. Everything well kept.
Location: Beach Time!!!
Karen, the staff at the front desk amaze me when he called my name (I guessed I am the last to check in).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Older Motel right on the 101 not on the beach

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The price and convenience of the mini kitchen
Cons: Beds, linnens, WIFI
Location: Leucadia is between major California areas. The beach is the best thing close by.
The beds are pretty old. The mattresses have distinct body divots. The Maids leave a combination of colored and white towels. The colored towels were musty so the white ones are the best. I had my own WIFI hot spot and it was better than the hotel's WIFI. I ended up tipping the maids $20 a day to get the room a decent cleaning. However. For the price per night I did not expect the Gaylord. It was suitable as a very low budget motel and the gentleman manning the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly.