Ratings based on 3,380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu

Beautiful accommodations! Great staff! Great loc

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: The rooms were beautiful, the location was fabulous, the food at Sally's was amazing!
Loved the hotel, loved the restaurants! Great place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny/nj

Wonderful hotel experience...awesome view!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Excellent location, awesome view, accommodating staff. Can't wait to return to the Manchester on my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater Cincinnati

Great newer hotel right on the water

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Staff was incredibly hospitable from front desk folks to the cab line valets. It was upscale and very clean.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Directly behind the hotel sits The Seaside Village. It's an area of restaurants and it looked like rides and such for the kids. Packed every night.
Had a beautiful room with a stunning view of Coronado across the bay. The hotel felt new and was beautifully appointed. My room was nice, very clean, and had everything one would want or need. I've stayed in higher rated 5 star hotels, which this one was not.....certainly a 4 star though....but never with a more incredible view. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for being right on the waterfront

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: We upgraded to a corner room. Would not advise as worth it, unless room is in harbor tower which would be the view pictured on expedia.
Location: Location was great, right on the waterfront by Seaport Village and restaurants within walking distance.
Overall experience was good. The hotel was a little more chaotic with people, most likely due to location and convention centers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nickel and Dime you to death

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The facility and staff were all great; what I cannot say the same for, however, was the ridiculous amount of over-pricing that occurred. First off, my room was $400 for the night with taxes, which is quite high, but the location had great reviews so I wanted to try it. As usual, there was valet parking, which I opted not to pay for. I got my room key, parked the car (as the sign said that overnight guests only need to scan their room key for entry). The room was fine, no complaints with cleanliness or service. But when it came time for me to get a drink as I was thirsty, I reached for the water bottle that was placed only to notice a $5 sticker on it... For a water bottle... Had to trek to my car to get a water bottle. In the morning, they asked if the wife and I wanted breakfast, which sounded good, until we saw a price of $50 for eggs, toast, and juice. Again, not so much. Lastly, upon checking out, the concierge asks me how I was going to pay for the parking... Which I was under the impression it was included. $30 later, I was proven wrong. For how much the overall place cost, I cannot recommend it to anyone, ever. They need to stop nickel and diming every patron who stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Pretty nice

Posted Jul 21, 2014
It's really expensive in San Diego for a great hotel in the summer so for the money this is pretty great! Great location, great staff and really nice looking rooms and hotel. I would say our only gripe was the beds are double (gotta be queen) which is small to share. We really loved our view on the 19th floor overlooking the bay- priceless!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

A great place to stay.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
An excellent costumer service at affordable price. I loved it..!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Simply wonderful

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The hotel was beautiful, comfortable, and in the perfect location.
From the first moment I walked into the hotel I was impressed with the beauty and the cheerfulness & helpfulness of the staff. The decor in the room was gorgeous. The king size bed was very comfortable. We ordered dinner in the room and it was delicious. The hotel is in the perfect location. If you wanted to, you could remain in the hotel & experience their all of their awesome amenities. Also, once you park at the hotel, you don't have to drive--you can walk to explore the downtown San Diego Gaslamp area. I really enjoyed my time at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, and I definitely will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable and convenient

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Cons: the elevators are a little small and take along time.
Location: we rented a boat right down stairs on the harbor, perfect location for water sports.
comfortable and convenient to everything and priced right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Best location on the Bay!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Beautiful lobby, nicely appointed modern and clean rooms, great pool and fitness center, responsive hotel staff, fantastic brunch at Lael's Restaurant
Cons: Hotel restaurants are a little pricey, but so is the food in general in San Diego. It would be nice to have one restaurant with less expensive meals.
Location: If you don't want a large breakfast, Marie's Coffee Shop has a nice selection of pastries, cereals, and coffees/lattes/cappuccinos for reasonable $$
Beautiful and convenient location on the Bay - the best in the downtown area. The hotel is adjacent to Seaport Village where visitors can take the trolley and is within easy walking distance to the Maritime Museum, USS Midway carrier, Gaslamp Quarter, Convention Center, Horton Plaza, and many other sites. Pool areas in the hotel, general and adult, are great, as is the fitness center. Hertz rental car booth is also right in the lobby, convenient for renting a car (just do it at least a day in advance or available cars at that location may already be reserved).