Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Close to Wild Animal Park and fine for a night

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff.
Cons: Rooms are small.
Location: San Diego Wild Animal Park is close by.
This motel can be a little tough to find but worth the effort. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is just average. Several places to eat are nearby. Staff is excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK motel. need more cleanliness.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: Motel guys need to focus on the room tidiness of room with fresh bed/bed sheets/freshness etc. and need to increase the breakfast place size.
Front desk was a bit rude in addressing people. When I entered room it was smelling and not fresh. Then I had to open windows for some time for the fresh air. Bed sheets were not clean. They could have maintained neat bed sheets and room freshener etc. The worst part was that the second day evening, when I entered room there was no electricity and when I complained at front desk, they responded in around 15-20 mins, till then I was standing outside room. Then the electricity was keep on going and coming back through out night till morning. It was pretty annoying the sound tripper makes sound. On the average the motel was just OK if you stay most of time outside and come to motel just to fresh yourself and have small nap. Motel guys need to focus on the room tidiness of room with fresh bed/bed sheets/freshness etc. and need to increase the breakfast place size. Prize is more for the amount of quality you get at this motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Modern rooms, location and staff
Location: Easy access to Safari Park
When looking for a place to stay close to Safari Park, there were lots of options, but I choose this place due to the great reviews. I was worried by how cheap it was, especially since it included parking, wifi and breakfast, but shouldn't have. The rooms are small, but have been nicely renovated. Breakfast was good - kept us going for most of the day. The breakfast area could be larger, but we choose to take our food and eat out by the pool, which gave us lots of room. Great location - very central to everything. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely would recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Less expensive than others in the area

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The best qualities of the hotel were the price (in comparison to others in the area) and the staff.
Cons: The room cleaning schedule should be revised.
Location: We were here for a visit with family, so our priority was proximity to them. Otherwise, it is relatively accessible to all San Diego by car.
The room was small; the bathroom was small (stall shower). They were clean. The staff was courteous and helpful, promptly providing iron and ironing board upon request. The room was cleaned very late, interrupting our use of the room to bathe and change in the late afternoon. Breakfast was o.k. (continental).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Motel

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Stayed with family 2 adults-2 teen age kids. Place was clean and well kept up. Next to gas station and bar/adult book store, but that wasn't a problem at all. Breakfast was minimal at best. For the price it was exactly what was expected. Would recommend and stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Nice continental breakfast, clean premises, staff was nice, not much to do near the motel, clean rooms, no bathtub
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2014
A bit older but well kept, very clean, quiet, would recommend to anyone interested in clean lower price accommodation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Needed a place to stay close to the safari park and this fit our needs. Newly remodeled room and very clean and great breakfast was included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Arrowhead CA

Extremely Great, CLEAN!!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: CLEAN room and Staff So very friendly. Waffle for breakfast.
Location: We were just six miles from the Safari Zoo and a great little mexican restraunt 3 blocks away.
Staff great and very helpful. Great little mexican restraunt within 3 blocks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster,CA

Nice Hotel to visit zoo

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: If you stay in the main section, the room are very nice for the price. Continental breakfast has a decent variety, with a waffle machine.
Cons: The area that they have breakfast in is not large enough. The hotel is usually very busy, but there is not a lot to work with to improve it.
Location: The safari park and zoo are near by. We went to a concert at Humphries By The Bay. Half hour away. Much better rates here for a room.
I had always wondered since I have stayed here 3 times before, why this place has gotten bad ratings. This time I found out why. I had made reservations a month in advance. We were running late, so were not able to check in until after midnight. Yes, they were full. We were given one of the smallest rooms that they had and not even a queen bed. More like full. The room was so small, we had to monitor the air or it became really cold, really quickly. The bathroom had a pedestal sink and stall shower. Not the kind with a sliding glass door, so water leaked on the floor when used. On a good note, the bed WAS comfortable, if not large enough. The couple that checked in behind us got a much nicer room. I saw what part of the hotel they went to. I had stayed in that section before. Those are very nice rooms. I feel if I am a return customer and made my reservations so far in advance, I should have had a much better room saved. If you make reservations, make sure to request that you get a room in the main section of the hotel. You do NOT want to stay in the smaller section at the top of the lot!! Those are very small rooms. Other wise, I have always had a good experience with this hotel. No matter what room I have been in, the bed has always been comfortable and the room is clean. .I have a bad back, so that is an essential. But, now I may think twice about coming back.