Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Location

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: the location!
Cons: the air conditioning noise.
Location: the beach, shopping, and places to eat.
This hotel is a bit old, but, has been updated and is comfortable. The location to the beach, shopping and wonderful places to eat is excellent! We didn't spend much time in the room, but, it was very clean, although small, and the air conditioning was a bit loud. The bed was comfortable, and the staff was very pleasant. We were sorry we rented a car, since we did not drive anywhere, and preferred to stay at Ocean Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

OK hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the water
Cons: Cleanliness, appropriate pricing
Location: Food/Shops/Beach. Downtown San Diego accessible by car or taxi
This hotel experience was average. I expected a charming hotel on the beach in San Diego, and instead ended up staying at an OK (room door was broken and dead flies were in the paintings) hotel in Ocean Beach (a beach community within the city). If the hotel had been advertised as such, I would have known what to expect. Definitely not worth the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from riverside

Don't believe the hype.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Room was very small and disappointing. No elevator, portable air conditioner. Only upside is the location. Don't believe the photos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayucos, CA

Perfect location and great price for location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Hot tub in the courtyard, friendlier staff...they need some customer training.
Location: Lots and lots of cute clothing and other types of shops. Easy to rent a surfboard. Great food nearby and the beach right there outside your hotel!
I had a co-worker in town from South Africa so this hotel was perfect to show her the Southern California lifestyle. Close to shops and bars/restaurants with a great vibe. Decent older hotel. Staff wasn't helpful when I asked if they could print some tickets for me for an event we were going to though. And the power went out a few times on my floor but it was a really hot weekend and everyone was running AC. Also, had pretty comfy beds but not great pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore MD

It's always about the location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach and the shops
Cons: Adding an elevator. We had to haul our heavy bags up 3 flights of stairs.
Location: Directly across from Ocean Beach and the pier. In the middle of tons of shops and restaurants.
Location was perfect, hotel staff very friendly, bed was comfortable. Room was the smallest I have seen in a while, but I understand due to the age of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katy from Chicago, IL

Right across from the ocean!

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of this hotel can't be beat - it's directly across the street from the beach, there's a fantastic bar and restaurant next door, and the main drag is around the corner. The courtyard is great! It's smoker-friendly and has a large window looking out at the ocean and the street, so you can watch the waves and get in some good people watching while having a few drinks outside. I will say that the room was surprisingly small, but if you don't plan on spending much time in the room then it shouldn't bother you. Although I wish there was an in-room coffee maker, they do have free coffee in the lobby. The bathroom has a small shower, the sink is kind of in your face when you're on the toilet, and there was no outlet in the bathroom for a blow dryer or anything else. Also, the walls are thin and I could hear the people in the room next to us. That being said, I would still stay at this hotel again purely for the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aaron from Phx

ocean beach

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great time for a quick getaway. Having the beach directly across the street was awesome. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Lessons Learned

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The fantastic view from our balcony and the beautiful courtyard. The beach was clean and right across the street.
Cons: Better trained staff with proper people skills and housekeepers who can speak enough English to understand what you are asking for.
Location: Everything was in walking distance. Shopping, dining, the pier, beach, Starbucks, etc.
We arrived late Wednesday night because of bad weather. We were guaranteed for late arrival, but I got a call about 9 p.m. asking if we were still coming. The first three days and nights were wonderful. The room is not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable with a great view. No coffee pot or telephone provided. Our room was on the third floor and there is no elevator. That was unexpected. The room was cleaned only once in 3 days. We had to ask for toilet paper and towels. On July 20th, around 11 a.m., the hotel called my cell phone and asked why I was not checked out yet. I told them because I had reservation through July 21st. They said I did not. They killed my key with my purse and all my belongings inside. They threatened to call the police. I said go for it. I have my confirmation from Expedia. They eventually, realized they misread the reservation and the manager apologized profusely. We were upgraded to a condo that sleeps 8, which was very nice and roomy, but I cannot recommend it as the bathroom and one bedroom started smelling like a sewer at about 8:30 that night. We had to keep spraying perfume. From the managers reaction, I gathered this is an ongoing issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jennifer from Texas

One of our favorite places

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our 4th stay and we were not disappointed. It is an older hotel that has gone through remodeling and upgrades. It has improved so much over the years. Every time we go to California, we must go to our favorite spot! It is a peaceful place directly across the street from the beach and pier. There is a lovely courtyard in the center that really evokes a calm pleasant atmosphere. There are all sorts of casual eateries, bars, and shops around the neighborhood. It is a fun getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel Review

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: How close it was to the beach, the view and the dog friendliness!
Cons: Structurally, the room was a tad small but it was worth it to be that close to the beach!
Location: Many fun restaurants with a more adult atmosphere. They were more bar like which we enjoyed. The location isn't as touristy as mission beach
Ocean Beach Hotel had an amazing view of the ocean! By far the best part of the hotel for us! The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant to talk to. They were very helpful with touristy type questions. The hotel was dog friendly, and while we did not bring our dog, we enjoyed the dogs that were there and never heard any barking or noise from them at night. There were many fun restaurants near by ( a few 21 and up) with very pleasant staff as well. The best part was being just minutes from the beach ( walking)!