Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, Utah

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach.
Cons: Parking
Location: It is just a block away from the ocean and all the activity that goes along with a beach town.
This hotel is in a great location for getting to the beach. Parking on site is difficult but not impossible. The free "breakfast" consisted of some pastries, a fruit drink, and coffee. The first room we were assigned had tools all over the floor and the AC was dismantled. The room we ended up in faced a courtyard and had a cozy feel. The room was clean and comfortable. There is no pool on site, but there is a sister property a block away that has a pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Not a family resort
We come here every year. Excellent location only a few feet away from our favorite San Diego beach. Excellent service. Great value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Air Conditioning
Cons: Lighting and fan in the bathroom.
Location: Beach, bars, walking distance to everything.
My only complaint is that I reserved a room with a king bed and I was given a room with 2 full beds.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

OK place to sleep. Not much else.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Parking. Sound-proofing. Non-smoking courtyard.
Location: Location is good. Ocean is a block away [no views of it, though]. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
The parking is awful. The "breakfast" seems to be whatever they can buy from the 7/11 down the street. The allowed smoking in the courtyard infiltrates the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Great Value in Great Location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: It is literally one block from the descending staircase to Pacific Beach. But the restaurants and bars are all within a block or two ... Mexican,
Cons: One nitpick ... no free wifi and it was inconsistent ... sometimes easy to get on, sometimes couldn't get on. They subcontract out to a wifi provider
Location: It is literally one block from the descending staircase to Pacific Beach. But the restaurants and bars are all within a block or two ... Mexican,
I was able to check in early over the busy 2014 Labor Day weekend. The room was clean and modern, with lots of granite countertops in kitchen and room. The walk-in bathroom shower was large with a fold down seat and arm rails for the handicapped. I don't know if I was given a handicap room or if all the rooms are like that. The water water pressure was one of the strongest I had ever felt. There is no pool on premises but you have access to pool one block up on sister property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Never Again....

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Location: The location was close to the beach
We tried to check into the hotel about 4:00 and their computers were down. When we returned after dinner at about 8:30, the hotel could not find our reservation. It took us until after 10:00 pm to get checked in. The room had a horrible smell and the bed was hard and too high to easily get into. We were staying for 2 nights. When housekeeping came to clean on the second day we were there, they took all of the bath towels, but did not replace them, so we had to wait for them to bring more. The front desk would not just give us towels. I have never had such a bad experience in one hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great location!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, close to beach & restaurants.
Cons: The continental breakfast. Offer more choices & make sure the food is fresh.
Location: Great location, borders on Mission Beach & LaJolla...
If you are looking for a place to stay close to the beach & restaurants this hotel is great! The room was very comfortable and clean and it has air conditioning which is a plus. The only drawbacks were the parking (very limited) & the continental breakfast (needs some help!).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

It does the job..

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The fact that it served its purpose and had, what seemed like, newly remodeled furniture and bathroom.
Cons: Show photos of the actual room that customers are booking... You'll get better reviews that way, just simple business practice...
Location: Lots of restaurants, bars, and stores nearby. I would say it's in a great location, and only about a 3 minute walk to the beach.
Hotel does the job. Took a while to get checked in, on top of that, they charged the wrong card after we gave them a new one the moment we checked it. Be sure to confirm the card they are charging. We called the previous day and asked if parking would be an issue, they said no, however it was. Parking lot is small and cannot accommodate a pretty full occupancy. We lucked out with someone who had just left (and was experiencing an issue). They do have space somewhere else down the block, but we couldn't make out what the guy was saying with his accent. The room that we got did not look like it did in the photo, and that was our very first thought upon entering the room. It was fairly small, with two rooms, a bedroom with a closet and a bathroom. It served its purpose however, since we only got the room to sleep in at night. However, the room was very nice, it looked like it was newly remodeled. With a nice big shower and counter tops. The a/c was ok. At night it would always seems to go to a programmed mode with just the fan on. Sometimes this would be bad after we came back from a walk and just wanted a cool room, instead it was fairly warm. For what it is, it was nice. It serves its purpose and got us through the nights. Can't expect too much given the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beautiful beach.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location!
Received excellent customer service when we needed help with the refrigerator and directions to our restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Updated and close to the beach!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We stayed at PB Surf Beachside Inn and loved it! My only complaint is that our mini fridge was not working... But other than that the room was nicely updated, very modern and peaceful and extremely clean! We would definitely recommend this place to any and all in the future!