Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Clara, CA

Perfect location with walking distance beach&food

Posted Apr 18, 2015
OK Hotel with all you need, you get what you pay for. Short walk to all the food you need, and a CVS Pharmacy down the street. Close to the Pier too and short drive to San Diego downtown or Oceanview Beach, Seaworld etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Use Expedia, get a bad room!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Available room at last minute, close to our needs at the time.
Cons: Please wait for customer to check out of room before housekeeping goes in to start cleaning room and deactivates your keys.
Location: Great quick walk to beach, but way to close to mission blvd and all of the noise!
Had choice of 2 rooms, one was in the farthest possible point of the hotel where we would have had to walk down a dark path next to storage areas facing a brick wall, or at the front of the building. We chose the front due to the creepy factor of getting to the back room. Looking back, poor choice. Our room was clean, had a king bed, but after that it went downhill fast. Told there was a fridge in all rooms, this one was missing. At our request they did have a small cubic foot fridge brought in. No coffee for the coffee pot, so I checked on it, they were out.(We did have coffee in the lobby). Went to get ready for bed, no washcloths or handtowels in room. Went to desk again to get that. Fan so loud it roared, but at least it would drown out the noise from outside. Very young crowd who came in at all hours of night from bars, yelling and screaming. Our room heard every ounce of traffic noise, every word spoken or yelled, every slam of the door going to the inner courtyard. Finally at 4am things quieted down. At 6am everyone seemed to be back in front of our room talking and getting ready for their day(staff?). TIRED!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Close to Beach - Great Location

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Clean Rooms - Great courtyard and secondary deck - Great Staff
Cons: Security to curb the after bar hours partying in the courtyard
Location: Close to beach - restaurants and transit
Our overall stay at the PB Surf was good. The only down side would we were jolted awake every morning by drunken bar patrons gathering in the open courtyard area to continue their party and conversations at obnoxiously loud levels. There is no hotel staff or security there at that time to control the situation which is disappointing. I understand that everyone is there to enjoy their stay but a handful of people waking us up EVERY morning @ 3:15 AM is a little much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Wonderful location with many stores and restaurants near by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother booking the suite

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The maid was honest. I left my wallet in the room with a few hundred dollars in it and it was left undisturbed.
Location: There is a lot of restaurant/bars in the area, and the beach is a short walk away. Only a 15 minute drive from the zoo, little Italy, and downtown.
I spent the extra money to book the suite but when I arrived there was no suite available. I never received a refund so I just wasted extra money on a room I never got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mesa, AZ

Great location & great price!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
This inn is fantastic for a short stay in pacific beach. The accommodations were far beyond what I was expecting! Clean, comfy and modern. The room had a mini fridge and microwave which is so nice to have when traveling. The location is perfect for ocean access and getting to restuarsnts and bars!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Great value for price and location if you don't need a tub, pool, or room with a view. Third floor patio deck with furniture offered glimpses of ocean either side of tall beachfront hotel. Fun area for shops, beach bars, restaurants, bike rentals. Room was clean. Muffins, juice, coffee nice. Mattress was a little too hard for us pensioners. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Room was spacious, well equipped and clean. Nice surroundings. Close to the beach. Contactless key card
Location: Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. (Low cost, lots of students.) Not Michelin dining, but quite pleasant.
My room was great, spacious and well equipped. Clean. Pleasant surroundings. Close to the beach. Contactless key card. YES! Not the stupid mag stripe cards that gets demagnetized. No parking on the facility, but they have a sister hotel one block away were I could park. I thought the hotel was better than many of the reviews I have read. Not sure why.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
pleasant and enjoyable, we were very surprised at how nice and convenient this place was
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpfull. It was very close to the beach, the rooms were clean.
Location: Pacific Beach was very close, shopping and resturants within walking distance.
The staff was friendly and very helpful. It was very close to the beach, the rooms were clean. I would stay there again.