Ratings based on 1,253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Knoxville, TN

Wonderful Waterfront Hotel!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Location: This hotel is in close walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. You would not even need a car to enjoy food, shopping, and the beach.
We enjoyed the location of this hotel. Our room was right on the Pacific Ocean and very picturesque. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were spacious and offered everything we needed and wanted. We will definitely use this hotel for our next San Diego visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort St John

Nice hotel in a bit of a sketchy area

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Hotel is best in neighbourhood , lots of homeless people, beach bums, etc in Pacific Beach though. If you've got lots of $$ consider LaJolla or Coronado.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

This was a wonderful waterfront Hotel in close wal

Posted Jan 23, 2015
My family had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel. The staff was very accommodating and and the room was extra comfortable. We could not have asked for a more spectacular view of the water from our room. We love that we could walk to the pier and two restaurants and shopping. The bicycle rental and bike trail was a huge plus as well. Our next trip to San Diego we will most definitely stay at the same hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Noteable employees

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Location, balcony and room set up.
Cons: Looks like you have it under control.
Location: Walking the beach and people watching.
Angela Menna, Chief Concierge very knowledgable and professional. Veronica, Guest Services very nice and helpful. Dan Thomas, Bellman helpful and caring about his job. Gu.....ia our housekeeper in 302, hard working and cares about her guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for mentioning our wonderful employees by name! We think they are the best team in town! Guillermine was your housekeeper, and is a fantastic asset, you are right, she really cares about our guests. Hope to see you again, soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First impression makes a lasting impression.

Posted Jan 16, 2015
We've been here previously, and that's why we are back. Great customer service from the time you walk thru the doors. We had the ocean view - and loved the sound, view and the smell of the ocean at night. Would highly recommend and come back here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
What a lovely compliment, that you chose to return to stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write, so many of our guests mention the great smell of the ocean at night! Hope to see you with us again, soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Amazing hotel tucked away by the edge of the beach

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Seems like you're just driving through a normal neighborhood and end up at a small boulevard filled with locally owned businesses and around the corner you find this beautiful hotel. The service is knowledgable, welcoming, appears to always be happy. Room was very clean, always kept clean as well and the entire hotel atmosphere provided a great escape, the view outside was amazing and the boardwalk is great for walks day or night. Great local places to eat within walking distance, Kono's Cafe in particular for breakfast. Side note: Everyone working the front desk was great and more than helpful, Eric in particular was amazing always friendly, happy and knowledgable, there if you needed anything or needed to know anything at all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Excellent hotel with great beach access.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Access to the beach was awesome. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, Ca

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: The view and location was perfect for a romantic getaway. They offer bikes and beach chairs and umbrellas for your use for free.
Cons: The only complaint was the air conditioning in our room was a little loud. Woke up several times when it would turn on.
Location: Plenty to do since it's right on the boardwalk. Plent of resaurants and beach front.
Had a great time at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent customer service. Hotel was close to the beach, restaurants and Boardwalk. Everything was within walking distance. Will definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
Hi Michelle - thanks for your review! We're glad you were able to enjoy the beach and boardwalk area with us. I agree with you, I think our team of employees is among the best in town! Hope to see you back with us, soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Great hotel right on the beach in Pacific Beach

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Great location, well appointed clean room, comfy beds and extra space in our suite made us feel like we had much more than a basic hotel room.
Cons: coffee shop might have been good. fix the closet door to open all the way. also the way the safe opens.
Location: many shopping locales and restaurants in abundance with local cuisine. we walked on the boardwalk when weather permitted. movie theater was a bit far
we stayed for a week in a junior suite (recommended) with a very comfortable king size bed. room included a bar with 3 bar stools, a fridge (we used to store milk, juice and cream for coffee) a microwave and a keurig coffee maker complete with pods replenished daily. bathroom well appointed with separate vanity and sink area from toilet and tub/shower. the closet door only opened on one side which was rather awkward to get at and the safe opened backwards. we got towel animals everyday from the housekeeping staff just like on some cruises. staff very friendly. pool area was fine and glass helped protect from the wind. we never availed ourselves of the buffet for breakfast choosing instead to experience the many restaurants in the neighbourhood. staff had many suggestions and coupons for restaurants nearby. our only disappointment was the weather. it was freezing. we were told this was not normal but friends who went last year also had cold weather. you just can't rely on this during the Christmas holidays. it would have been nice to have an a la carte menu for breakfast at least. otherwise lots of local choices. I was pleased we selected the partial view room as the ones over the pool might have been noisy. Room 226 is in a quiet cul de sac with no ice machine and around the corner from the elevator. also the parking attendants were friendly, prompt and appreciated our daily tips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tyler, Tx

Great hotel and beach access

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Go to JRDN restaurant . Cold in Dec. bring warm clothes