Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small Hotel on Boardwalk and Beach

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Cleanliness, appearance, amenities
Location: Great location on North end of Pacific Beach. Right on boardwalk with tons of bars and restraints within walking distance.
The Pacific View Inn has a great location for vacationers on a budget. It is located on the boardwalk right outside of the north end of Pacific Beach. It is great for people who are looking solely for a place to sleep. There are not many amenities offered. I noticed that they had a couple of bikes in the office, but you had to pay $10 just to rent one. It would be nice if they offered guests to use them as an incentive, as they do not offer much of anything. The rooms were tolerable, as we only intended to sleep there. They reminded me of dorm rooms. They were pretty dingy and desperately needed a deep cleaning and a fresh coat of paint. The walls were nasty. The shower was so tiny, I could hardly move. The room we stayed in was also extremely loud. It was on the backside that faced the alley. I was woken up on several occasions to garbage and recycling trucks. The carpets in the hallways were so stained. All I could think about was taking a shampooer to them. Come on guys, it does not take much to add new carpet. All in all, the only nice thing about this hotel was the location. The owners seemed very nice. They really need to step it up in terms of cleanliness. Add some new paint, get some new carpet, and provide your guests with more amenities. This would then be a very chill place to stay when coming to the beach. That being said, I would never pay more than $60 a night for this hotel. Anything more than that and you can find a nicer place to s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, great view

Posted Mar 21, 2015
This hotel is a great place if you want to be close to the beach. It is within walking distance of so many restaurants and bars. The staff was very good to us during our stay and fun to talk with. Although we didn't have our sheets changed our stay we were asked every morning if we needed more towels. The beds were older and you could tell. It was an overall good experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful spot to wake up looking at the ocean

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The view! We stayed in room 18, which looks out onto the boardwalk and the ocean. It was wonderful enjoying morning coffee watching the surfers.
We knew we were going to get into town late in the evening, but the staff was nice enough to leave us our key and parking pass in a secure box so we didn't have to worry about rushing our trip. The staff was very personable and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peterfrom San Diego

Already booked another stay!!

Posted Mar 3, 2015 
We are getting married on the beach in front of Pacific View Inn and wanted to stay a couple nights to do wedding planning. We liked it so much we booked a room for the 2 nights before the wedding! And you never have to drive in traffic, everything you need or want is within waking distance. Love PB!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Nicely located on the beach. bathroom felt dirty. Bed very uncomfortable. Staff were nice. It just felt outdated and rundown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marneyfrom Saint Paul, MN

Clean, inexpensive, safe, and close to goodness.

Posted Mar 3, 2015 
Great hotel for the price. Right on the beach, right by all sorts of restaurant goodness. I stayed in a double queen with my two teenage kids. We had a great time. If you're looking for a clean safe place to sleep after you're done enjoying what Pacific Beach has to offer this Inn is an excellent choice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rough nights

Posted Feb 28, 2015 
Great location and view. Walls are paper thin so i heard the drunks in other rooms all night. The staff is nice but you cant reach them after 8pm. Bed was a rock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Awesome place to stay!

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Honestly one of the best places I've stayed in San Diego. Prime location, amazing staff. Can't say enough about how helpful/friendly the staff here is! Can't wait to go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LINDAfrom Minnesota

Clean and Simple

Posted Feb 25, 2015 
We loved our time at this hotel. We are pretty low-key and we appreciated this easy-going feel at this place. Great staff. Always friendly, knowledgeable, enjoyable and personable. Bike rental here was more than reasonable and the complimentary breakfast was simple but much appreciated. We would choose this place again. If you like "fancy" or to be "doted on" maybe this would not be for you. But if you like to be treated well and live clean and simple on the beach- this one is well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by KevinM

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2015